Property tax

The property tax is an object tax on property in Austria. It is collected by the municipalities in accordance with federal law (Grundsteuergesetz 1955), who keep the revenue from this tax in its entirety.

These rules apply to all entrepreneurs from EU Member States in Austria.

Property tax distinguishes between

  • A: for agricultural and forestry assets and
  • B: for real estate.

Under the Finanzausgleichsgesetz, the municipalities are entitled to apply a uniform assessment rate of up to 500 per cent on the property tax base when determining the tax.

Where it exceeds 75 Euro per year, the property tax is collected in four instalments on 15 February, 15 May, 15 August and 15 November respectively. Amounts up to 75 Euro must be paid once a year on 15 May.

Please note

A property tax base of 50 Euro times a 500 per cent assessment rate gives a property tax of 250 Euro a year, which must be paid in four instalments.

The owner of the property is liable for the property tax. The property tax can however be charged (pro rata) to renters as part of the running costs of a house.

Property tax exemptions

Long-term property tax exemptions

The competent tax office (see above) makes decisions about long-term property tax exemptions. Exemptions within the meaning of sections 2 to 8 of the Grundsteuergesetz are, for example, provided for public transport routes, watercourses and for properties belonging to public authorities which are for public service or public use.

Temporary property tax exemptions

In some provinces, temporary property tax exemptions can be granted by the municipalities on the basis of provincial law, especially for newly created (subsidised) residential properties. The respective application must be made to the relevant municipality. More information is available from the municipal authorities.

Further links

Real estate and property (→ BMF)German text

Legal basis

Grundsteuergesetz (GrStG)

Up-to-date information on property tax, property tax exemptions, long-term property tax exemptions, temporary property tax exemptions etc.

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 1 January 2021

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Rate this page and help us to improve.