Organs of a Limited Liability Company

A Limited Liability Company (GmbH) is a legal entity. As such, it has legal capacity, i.e. it is itself the bearer of rights and obligations. In order to be able to act, it requires natural persons to act on its behalf. Therefore, a Limited Liability Company needs organs that form the will of the company and act on its behalf. Without these organs, a Limited Liability Company would be incapable of acting.

The organs of a Limited Liability Company are:

In addition, an auditor must be appointed under certain conditions.

General Meeting

The General Meeting is the highest decision-making body of a Limited Liability Company and consists of all shareholders. It must take place at least once a year as an ordinary General Meeting. It is generally convened by the company management.

Certain decisions must be made exclusively by the General Meeting. These include, among others, auditing and approving the annual financial statements, distributing the balance sheet profit if such distribution is specified in the Articles of association to be subject to a special annual resolution, amending the Articles of association, changing the share capital, the appointing and dismissing of the managing director and discharging him/her.

In contrast to the General Meeting of a Stock Corporation, the General Meeting of a Limited Liabilities Company has a comprehensive right to issue instructions to the managing director.

Managing Director

The managing director represents the Limited Liability Company externally and conducts the company's business internally. Only physical persons who are fully capable of acting can be appointed as managing directors; they can, but do not have to be shareholders. The appointment is made by the General Meeting; if it is a shareholder, the appointment may also be made by the Articles of association.

The managing director's power of representation in external relations cannot be limited, neither by the articles of association nor by a shareholders' resolution.

A Limited Liability Company may have one or more managing directors. It is possible to have an individual power of representation or a joint power of representation by which at least two or all managing directors jointly represent the company externally. It can therefore be regulated that the Limited Liability Company shall only be effectively represented to the outside if at least two managing directors act jointly.

A distinction must be made between the position of the managing director under company law as an officer of the Limited Liability Company and the employment relationship of the managing director with the Limited Liability Company. This becomes particularly clear if, for example, the managing director is dismissed by a shareholders' resolution, but his/her employment relationship continues.

Unlike a member of the Executive Board of a Stock Corporation, the managing director of a Limited Liability Company may be given instructions by the General Meeting or by the Supervisory Board if such a Board exists and is authorised to do so.

Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board exercises particular control functions over the company management. The managing director is obliged to provide the Supervisory Board with regular reports on the development of the business.

In principle, a Supervisory Board does not have to be established in a Limited Liability Company. However, the shareholders may voluntarily appoint a Supervisory Board. If certain conditions are met (e.g. share capital amounting to 70.000 euros or more and the number of shareholders exceeding 50, or there are more than 300 employees), a Supervisory Board is mandatory.

Unlike the General Meeting of a Limited Liabilities Company, which has comprehensive rights to issue instructions to the management at any time, the Supervisory Board of a Limited Liability Company is only entitled to issue instructions to the management if it is authorised to do so by the Articles of association or a shareholders' resolution.

Advisory board

An Advisory Board may be appointed by the shareholders as an additional advisory body. The Advisory Board may also be empowered by the General Meeting to exercise certain competencies of the General Meeting.

Statutory Auditor

The obligation to audit the financial statements of a Limited Liability Company is based on the size categories of Section 221 Companies Code. Accordingly, small Limited Liability Companies that are not required by law to have a Supervisory Board are not obliged to have their financial statements audited. The auditor is elected by the shareholders; if a Supervisory Board exists, it must submit a proposal for such selection.

Legal basis

Translated by the Federal Ministry of Justice
Last update: 1 January 2022

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Justice

Organe der GmbH

Die Gesellschaft mit beschränkter Haftung (GmbH) ist eine juristische Person. Als solche ist sie rechtsfähig, also selbst Trägerin von Rechten und Pflichten. Um handeln zu können, bedarf sie natürlicher Personen, die für sie tätig werden. Die GmbH benötigt daher Organe, die den Willen der Gesellschaft bilden und für sie handeln. Ohne diese Organe wäre die GmbH handlungsunfähig.

Die Organe einer GmbH sind: 

Darüber hinaus ist unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen eine Abschlussprüferin/ein Abschlussprüfer zu bestellen.

Generalversammlung

Die Generalversammlung ist das oberste Willensbildungsorgan der GmbH und besteht aus der Gesamtheit aller Gesellschafterinnen/Gesellschafter. Sie muss mindestens einmal jährlich als ordentliche Generalversammlung stattfinden. Sie wird grundsätzlich von der Geschäftsführung einberufen.

Bestimmte Entscheidungen sind ausschließlich von der Generalversammlung zu treffen. Dazu zählen u.a. die Prüfung und Feststellung des Jahresabschlusses, die Verteilung des Bilanzgewinns, falls dieser im Gesellschaftsvertrag einer besonderen jährlichen Beschlussfassung vorbehalten ist, Änderungen des Gesellschaftsvertrages, die Änderung des Stammkapitals, die Bestellung und die Abberufung der Geschäftsführerin/des Geschäftsführers sowie deren/dessen Entlastung.

Im Gegensatz zur Hauptversammlung bei der Aktiengesellschaft hat die Generalversammlung der GmbH gegenüber der Geschäftsführerin/dem Geschäftsführer ein umfassendes Weisungsrecht.

Geschäftsführerin/Geschäftsführer

Die Geschäftsführerin/der Geschäftsführer vertritt die GmbH im Außenverhältnis und führt im Innenverhältnis die Geschäfte der Gesellschaft. Nur physische, voll handlungsfähige Personen können zur Geschäftsführerin/zum Geschäftsführer bestellt werden; sie können, müssen aber nicht Gesellschafterinnen/Gesellschafter sein. Die Bestellung erfolgt durch die Generalversammlung; wenn es sich um eine Gesellschafterin/einen Gesellschafter handelt, kann die Bestellung auch im Gesellschaftsvertrag vorgenommen werden.

Die Vertretungsmacht der Geschäftsführerin/des Geschäftsführers im Außenverhältnis kann nicht beschränkt werden, und zwar weder im Gesellschaftsvertrag noch durch einen Gesellschafterbeschluss.

Die GmbH kann eine oder mehrere Geschäftsführerinnen/Geschäftsführer haben. Möglich ist eine Einzelvertretungs- oder eine Gesamtvertretungsbefugnis, bei der zumindest zwei oder alle Geschäftsführerinnen/Geschäftsführer die Gesellschaft gemeinsam nach außen vertreten. Es kann also geregelt sein, dass die Vertretung der GmbH nach außen nur dann wirksam ist, wenn mindestens zwei Geschäftsführerinnen/Geschäftsführer gemeinsam handeln.

Zu unterscheiden ist die unternehmensrechtliche Stellung der Geschäftsführerin/des Geschäftsführers als Organ der GmbH vom Arbeitsverhältnis der Geschäftsführerin/des Geschäftsführers mit der GmbH (Anstellung). Das wird dann besonders deutlich, wenn z.B. die Geschäftsführerin/der Geschäftsführer mit Gesellschafterbeschluss abberufen wird, ihr/sein Arbeitsverhältnis aber weiterhin besteht.

Anders als dem Vorstand der Aktiengesellschaft können der Geschäftsführerin/dem Geschäftsführer der GmbH von der Generalversammlung bzw. vom Aufsichtsrat, falls ein solcher besteht und er dazu befugt ist, Weisungen erteilt werden.

Aufsichtsrat

Der Aufsichtsrat übt insbesondere Kontrollfunktionen über die Geschäftsführung aus. Die Geschäftsführerin/der Geschäftsführer ist verpflichtet, dem Aufsichtsrat regelmäßig Berichte über die Geschäftsentwicklung zu liefern.

In einer GmbH muss grundsätzlich kein Aufsichtsrat eingerichtet werden. Die Gesellschafterinnen/Gesellschafter können jedoch freiwillig einen Aufsichtsrat berufen. Bei Vorliegen bestimmter Voraussetzungen (z.B. Stammkapital 70.000 Euro und die Anzahl der Gesellschafterinnen/Gesellschafter übersteigt 50 oder mehr als 300 Arbeitnehmerinnen/Arbeitnehmer) ist ein Aufsichtsrat verpflichtend einzurichten.

Anders als die Generalversammlung der GmbH, die gegenüber der Geschäftsführung ein jederzeitiges und umfassendes Weisungsrecht besitzt, ist der Aufsichtsrat der GmbH gegenüber der Geschäftsführung nur dann weisungsberechtigt, wenn er durch den Gesellschaftsvertrag oder einen Gesellschafterbeschluss dazu ermächtigt ist.

Beirat

Als zusätzliches Beratungsgremium kann von den Gesellschafterinnen/Gesellschaftern ein Beirat berufen werden. Dem Beirat können von der Generalversammlung auch bestimmte Kompetenzen der Generalversammlung übertragen werden.

Abschlussprüferin/Abschlussprüfer

Die Abschlussprüfungspflicht einer GmbH richtet sich nach den Größenklassen des § 221 UGB. Demnach sind kleine GmbHs, die nicht aufgrund gesetzlicher Vorschriften einen Aufsichtsrat haben müssen, nicht zur Abschlussprüfung verpflichtet. Die Abschlussprüferin/der Abschlussprüfer wird von den Gesellschafterinnen/Gesellschaftern gewählt; besteht ein Aufsichtsrat, hat dieser einen Vorschlag für die Wahl zu unterbreiten.

Rechtsgrundlagen

Letzte Aktualisierung: 18. Juni 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Justiz