This website uses Cookies. You will accept these by click on the button "continue". For more information read our page "Private Policy".

Return deadline

Income tax returns are to be filed no later than 30 April of the following year or no later than 30 June of the following year for returns filed electronically via FinanzOnline (section 134 paragraph 1 of the Bundesabgabenordnung – BAO). In individual cases, the deadline for submission of tax returns can be extended upon reasoned request (section 134 paragraph 2 BAO). Such a request can also be submitted via FinanzOnline under Input/Applications/Extension of deadline. If you are represented by a ‘tax representative’ you will generally be given longer to submit the tax return.

Caution

These regulations also apply to traders from EU Member States in Austria.

If you disagree with the income tax assessment (e.g. if the assessment differs from your return or it includes items that had not yet been precisely determined), you can, within one month of its being issued, submit an appeal against the assessment to the competent tax office, by providing a declaration and justification of the amendments you would like.

Traders registered on USP are able to make use of FinanzOnline and many other online procedures with a single sign-in to the USP. More detailed information about registering with the USP can be obtained from the online advisor for USP registrationGerman text.

For more information on FinanzOnline, see ‘Electronic tax returns’.

Further links

FinanzOnline (→ BMF)German text

Legal basis

sections 134 and 245 of the Bundesabgabenordnung (BAO)

Translated by the European Commission
last update: 5 November 2020

responsible for content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Der Gebrauch von Cookies erlaubt uns Ihre Erfahrungen auf dieser Website zu optimieren. Wir verwenden Cookies zu Statistikzwecken und zur Qualitätssicherung. Durch Fortfahren auf unserer Website stimmen Sie dieser Verwendung zu. Erfahren Sie mehr

Erklärungsfrist

Die Einkommensteuererklärung ist bis 30. April des Folgejahres bzw. bei elektronischer Übermittlung über FinanzOnline bis 30. Juni des Folgejahres einzureichen (§ 134 Abs 1 Bundesabgabenordnung – BAO). Im Einzelfall kann auf begründeten Antrag die Frist zur Abgabe der Steuererklärung verlängert werden (§ 134 Abs 2 BAO). Dieser Antrag kann auch über FinanzOnline unter Eingaben/Anträge/Fristverlängerung elektronisch eingebracht werden. Wenn Sie von einer "steuerlichen Vertreterin"/einem "steuerlichen Vertreter" vertreten werden, haben Sie für die Einreichung der Steuererklärung in der Regel länger Zeit.

Achtung

Diese Regelungen gelten auch für Unternehmerinnen/Unternehmer aus EU-Mitgliedstaaten in Österreich.

Wer mit dem Einkommensteuerbescheid nicht einverstanden ist (z.B. Abweichung des Bescheides von der Erklärung oder Anrechnung noch nicht erklärter Positionen), kann beim zuständigen Finanzamt unter Bekanntgabe und Begründung der gewünschten Änderungen gegen den Bescheid innerhalb eines Monats ab Zustellung Beschwerde einlegen.

Im USP registrierte Unternehmerinnen/Unternehmer haben die Möglichkeit, Finanz Online und viele weitere Online-Verfahren mit einem einzigen Einloggen im USP zu nutzen. Nähere Informationen zur Registrierung im USP finden sich im Online Ratgeber zur USP-Registrierung.

Nähere Informationen zu FinanzOnline finden sich unter "Elektronische Steuererklärungen".

Weiterführende Links

FinanzOnline (→ BMF)

Rechtsgrundlagen

§ 134 und 245 Bundesabgabenordnung (BAO)

Letzte Aktualisierung: 5. November 2020

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.