VAT registration number

General Information

The VAT registration (UID) number is an individual identification number for companies that are registered for VAT. Every company receives only one Austrian VAT registration number, even if it has multiple establishments or performs multiple activities.

The VAT registration number only applies to businesses. When a company references their VAT registration number, this indicates that they are receiving services as a company (and not as a consumer) and also provides information on where their company operates. Both intra-Community purchases of goods and cross-border services are generally liable for taxation in the state in which the purchaser operates their business. In addition to the VAT registration number, the business partner should always specify their company details. These should be clearly indicated on the VAT registration notice or on each communication with the competent VAT office. It is not necessary to indicate a VAT registration number when goods or services are purchased privately or for private purposes. An EU-wide VAT registration number verification procedure is available that can be used to check the validity of the VAT registration number provided by a business partner. In addition, for invoices over Euro 10,000 the VAT registration number of the recipient of the service must be stated whenever this person is in receipt of the service on behalf of their company (Section 11, paragraph 1, third indent of the Umsatzsteuergesetz).

Sales with a foreign dimension

The VAT registration number is particularly relevant when a company enters into a business relationship with companies in other EU Member States. Where a company carries out deliveries to a company in another Member State, the purchaser must provide their VAT registration number and their company details (name and address). This documents the fact that the purchaser is purchasing the goods for their company and that the company can make the delivery of goods without incurring tax in Austria, provided that the additional requirements for tax-free intra-Community supply are met.

In the case of intra-Community supplies of goods and cross-border services where the tax debt is transferred under the reverse charge system (Article 196 of the Umsatzsteuerrichtlinie), the company also requires the VAT registration number for the purpose of submitting their recapitulative statement.

Issue of a VAT registration number

Companies that deliver goods or provide other services in Austria which entitle them to deduct input tax and companies that carry out intra-Community purchases in Austria will automatically be assigned an Austrian VAT registration number. If a VAT registration number is not issued automatically, an application can be submitted to the Austrian tax office. It is usually only possible for a VAT registration number to be issued to companies and legal persons (even if they are non-traders). Companies that only export tax-free goods that do not entitle them to input tax deduction (e.g. SMEs) as well as farmers and foresters subject to flat-rate taxation are only entitled to be issued a VAT registration number where this is necessary in order for them to pursue business relationships with companies in other EU Member States.

Where the VAT registration number has not been issued automatically by the tax office (in the case of the forms to be filled out for public limited companies/limited liability companies (Procedure 15), companies (Procedure 16), and natural persons (Procedure 24), it must be requested upon issue of the tax number), this must be applied for using the form "VAT registration number – Application for issue – U15".

Any changes to the registered person's name, company name or address must be communicated to the tax office. Should the conditions which resulted in the assignment of the VAT registration number no longer apply, notice of this must be given within one month.

Further information

The VAT registration confirmation procedure  was introduced throughout the European Union to allow traders to check the validity of the VAT registration numbers of their EU business partners. Every trader is obliged to perform a VAT registration number search using FinanzOnline. When submitting a confirmation request using FinanzOnline, the response is communicated electronically. The searching party prints the document themselves. The printed confirmation serves as proof and must be retained pursuant to Section 132 of the Bundesabgabenordnung (BAO).

The searching party can also perform an electronic enquiry themselves via the EU Server (→ EC).

Only in cases where this is infeasible due to a lack of the necessary technology (e.g. no internet access) can confirmation requests be directed towards the entrepreneur’s competent tax office (→ BMF)German text.

Legal bases

Expert Information

Link to form

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 1 January 2021

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.

Umsatzsteuer-Identifikationsnummer

Allgemeine Informationen

Die UID-Nummer ist eine individuelle Identifikationsnummer für Unternehmen, die zur Umsatzsteuer registriert sind. Jedes Unternehmen erhält nur eine österreichische UID, auch wenn es mehrere Betriebe hat bzw. mehrere Tätigkeiten ausübt.

Die UID-Nummer gilt nur für den unternehmerischen Bereich. Mit der Angabe der UID-Nummer geben Unternehmen zu erkennen, dass sie Leistungen als Unternehmen (und nicht als Konsumentin/Konsument) beziehen und wo sie ihr Unternehmen betreiben. Sowohl der innergemeinschaftliche Erwerb von Waren als auch grenzüberschreitende Dienstleistungen unterliegen nämlich grundsätzlich der Besteuerung in jenem Staat, in dem die Erwerberin/der Erwerber ihr/sein Unternehmen betreibt. Neben der UID-Nummer sollten der Geschäftspartnerin/dem Geschäftspartner auch immer die Firmendaten (ersichtlich auf dem UID-Vergabebescheid bzw. auf jeder Mitteilung des zuständigen Umsatzsteuerfinanzamtes) genannt werden. Werden Waren oder Dienstleistungen privat erworben bzw für private Zwecke, darf keine UID-Nummer vorgewiesen werden. Für die Überprüfung der Gültigkeit der UID-Nummer einer Geschäftspartnerin/eines Geschäftspartner steht ein EU-weites UID-Bestätigungsverfahren zur Verfügung. Bei Rechnungen über 10.000 Euro ist die UID-Nummer der Leistungsempfängerin/des Leistungsempfängers anzuführen, wenn die Leistung für ihr/sein Unternehmen erfolgt (§ 11 Abs. 1 Z 3 UStG).

Umsätze mit Auslandsbezug

Die UID-Nummer ist insbesondere von Bedeutung, wenn ein Unternehmen in Geschäftsbeziehung mit Unternehmen in anderen EU Mitgliedstaaten tritt. Tätigt ein Unternehmen Lieferungen an ein Unternehmen in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat, so muss die Erwerberin/der Erwerber ihre/seine UID-Nummer und die Firmendaten (Name und Adresse) mitteilen. Damit wird dokumentiert, dass die Erwerberin/der Erwerber die Waren für ihr/sein Unternehmen anschafft und das liefernde Unternehmen kann die Lieferung – unter Erfüllung der weiteren Voraussetzungen für eine steuerfreie innergemeinschaftliche Lieferung – in Österreich steuerfrei belassen.

Bei innergemeinschaftlichen Lieferungen  sowie bei grenzüberschreitenden Dienstleistungen, bei denen die Steuerschuld im Rahmen des Reverse Charge übergeht (Art 196 der Mehrwertsteuersystemrichtlinie), benötigt das Unternehmen die UID-Nummer überdies für die Abgabe der Zusammenfassende Meldung.

Vergabe der UID-Nummer

Unternehmern, die Lieferungen und sonstige Leistungen in Österreich erbringen, die sie zum Vorsteuerabzug berechtigen, oder innergemeinschaftliche Erwerbe in Österreich bewirken bekommen von Amtswegen eine österreichische UID-Nummer. Wird eine UID-Nummer nicht bereits von Amtswegen vergeben, kann die Vergabe einer UID-Nummer beim Finanzamt beantragt werden. Grundsätzlich kann eine UID-Nummer nur für Unternehmen und juristischen Personen (selbst wenn diese Nichtunternehmer sind) vergeben werden. Unternehmen, die ausschließlich steuerfreie Umsätze ausführen, die nicht zum Vorsteuerabzug berechtigen (z.B. Kleinunternehmen), sowie pauschalierte Land- und Forstwirte, haben nur dann einen Anspruch auf Erteilung einer UID-Nummer, wenn sie diese für Geschäftsbeziehungen mit Unternehmen in anderen EU-Mitgliedstaaten benötigen.

Wird die UID-Nummer nicht bereits von Amts wegen vom Finanzamt erteilt (beim Ausfüllen von Fragebogen für Aktiengesellschaften/Gesellschaften mit beschränkter Haftung – Verf15, Fragebogen für Gesellschaften – Verf16, Fragebogen für natürliche Personen – Verf24; im Zuge der Vergabe der Steuernummer zu beantragen), ist sie bei diesem mit dem Formular "Umsatzsteuer-Identifikationsnummer – Antrag auf Vergabe – U15" zu beantragen.

Änderungen im Namen, Firmenwortlaut oder in der Anschrift sind dem Finanzamt bekannt zu geben. Falls die Voraussetzungen, die zur Vergabe der UID-Nummer geführt haben, wegfallen, ist dies innerhalb eines Monats zu melden.

Zusätzliche Informationen

Damit sich eine Unternehmerin/ein Unternehmer von der Gültigkeit der UID-Nummer seiner EU-Geschäftspartner überzeugen kann, wurde EU-weit das sogenannte "UID-Bestätigungsverfahren" eingeführt. Jede Unternehmerin/jeder Unternehmer muss die UID-Nummern-Abfrage verpflichtend über FinanzOnline durchführen. Bei einer Bestätigungsanfrage im Rahmen von FinanzOnline wird die Antwort elektronisch mitgeteilt. Der Ausdruck erfolgt durch die Abfragende/den Abfragenden selbst. Die ausgedruckte Bestätigung gilt als Beleg und ist gemäß § 132 Bundesabgabenordnung (BAO) aufzubewahren.

Darüber hinaus besteht auch die Möglichkeit einer elektronischen Selbstabfrage über den EU-Server (→ EK).

Nur soweit dies mangels technischer Voraussetzungen (z.B. kein Internetzugang) unzumutbar ist, können Bestätigungsanfragen an das zuständige Finanzamt (→ BMF) gerichtet werden.

Rechtsgrundlagen

Experteninformation

Zum Formular

Letzte Aktualisierung: 1. Januar 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.