This website uses Cookies. You will accept these by click on the button "continue". For more information read our page "Private Policy".

Movement of excise goods

Excise goods can be procured or dispatched for commercial purposes under duty suspension (i.e. without incurring a tax liability) or as goods in free circulation (in the case of goods on which duty has already been incurred) but will require certain approvals and accompanying documents. The decision over the particular procedure to be followed is in some cases prescribed in law, while in other cases it may be a matter of free choice between the operators involved, depending for example on the size of the business, frequency of deliveries, etc. In all cases, however, it is important that the operators make prior contact with the customs authority responsible (→ BMF)German text (from 1 January 2021, the Austrian Customs Authority for the entire fiscal territory).

Caution

In general, these regulations also apply to traders from EU Member States in Austria.

Excise goods include the following:

  • alcohol and goods containing alcohol,
  • beer,
  • sparkling wine, still wine and intermediate goods,
  • mineral oils, motor fuels and heating fuels,
  • tobacco products.

Movement of excise goods under duty suspension

Since 1 April 2010, the previous – solely paper-based – procedure has been replaced in Austria by the EMCS (Excise Movement and Control System). In the EU since 1 January 2011, all businesses supplying excise goods under duty suspension are required to manage the dispatch of the goods through EMCS, i.e. using an electronic administrative document (e-AD). This administrative document must meet the requirements specified in Regulation (EC) No 684/2009, implementing Directive 2008/118/EC in relation to the e-AD based procedure for the supply of excise goods under duty suspension. Participation in the procedure requires a corresponding authorisation from the competent customs authority (→ BMF)German text (from 1 January 2021: Customs Office Austria), it is reserved for holders of tax warehouses, registered consignors, registered consignees and certain privileged recipients (e.g. diplomatic missions, international institutions).

An administrative reference code (ARC) will be issued as evidence that the necessary administrative data have been recorded and an e-AD issued under the EMCS system. The goods must be accompanied by the e-AD or a document showing the ARC.

Movement of excise goods in free circulation

The system for commercial movement of goods in free circulation continues to be paper-based, using a simplified accompanying document. The content of this document must meet the requirements of Regulation (EEC) No 3649/92 and the excise goods must be accompanied by this document during movement. In place of the administrative document, a commercial document (business documents such as invoices, delivery notes, bills of lading) of comparable layout and content may be used.

Proper use of the procedure is conditional on appropriate registration with the customs authority (→ BMF)German text responsible and is coupled with certain obligatory notifications (notification of intended procurement; notification of first transfer to other Member States).

Links

Translated by the European Commission
last update: 1 January 2021

responsible for content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Der Gebrauch von Cookies erlaubt uns Ihre Erfahrungen auf dieser Website zu optimieren. Wir verwenden Cookies zu Statistikzwecken und zur Qualitätssicherung. Durch Fortfahren auf unserer Website stimmen Sie dieser Verwendung zu. Erfahren Sie mehr

Beförderung verbrauchsteuerpflichtiger Waren

Der Bezug oder Versand verbrauchsteuerpflichtiger Waren zu gewerblichen Zwecken kann unter Steueraussetzung (d.h. ohne dass die Steuerschuld entsteht) oder im steuerrechtlich freien Verkehr (mit Waren, für die bereits einmal die Steuerschuld entstanden ist) erfolgen, bedarf jedoch bestimmter Bewilligungen und Begleitdokumente. Die Entscheidung für ein bestimmtes Verfahren gibt teilweise das Gesetz vor, teilweise kann sie von den Wirtschaftsbeteiligten frei getroffen werden und hängt z.B. von der Größe des Unternehmens, der Häufigkeit der Beförderungen etc. ab. Wichtig in allen Fällen ist jedoch die vorherige Kontaktaufnahme des Wirtschaftsbeteiligten mit dem zuständigen Zollamt (→ BMF) (ab 1. Jänner 2021: Zollamt Österreich für das gesamte Steuergebiet).

Achtung

Diese Regelungen gelten auch für alle Unternehmerinnen/Unternehmer aus EU-Mitgliedstaaten in Österreich.

Als verbrauchsteuerpflichtige Waren gelten:

  • Alkohol und alkoholhaltige Waren
  • Bier
  • Schaumwein, Wein und Zwischenerzeugnisse
  • Mineralöl, Kraftstoffe und Heizstoffe
  • Tabakwaren

Beförderung verbrauchsteuerpflichtiger Waren unter Steueraussetzung

Seit 1. April 2010 ersetzt das EMCS (Excise Movement and Control System) in Österreich das bisherige – ausschließlich papiergestützte – Verfahren. Seit 1. Jänner 2011 sind in der EU alle Unternehmen, die verbrauchsteuerpflichtige Waren unter Steueraussetzung befördern, verpflichtet, den Versand über EMCS, d.h. mit einem elektronischen Verwaltungsdokument (e-VD), abzuwickeln. Dieses Verwaltungsdokument muss den in der Verordnung (EG) Nr. 684/2009 zur Durchführung der Richtlinie 2008/118/EG in Bezug auf die EDV-gestützten Verfahren für die Beförderung verbrauchsteuerpflichtiger Waren unter Steueraussetzung genannten Anforderungen entsprechen. Die Teilnahme am Verfahren setzt eine entsprechende Bewilligung des zuständigen Zollamtes (→ BMF) (ab 1. Jänner 2021: Zollamt Österreich) voraus, sie ist Inhaber von Steuerlagern, registrierten Versendern, registrierten Empfängern und bestimmten privilegierten Empfängern (z.B. diplomatische Missionen, internationale Einrichtungen) vorbehalten.

Durch die Erfassung der beförderungsrelevanten Daten und Erstellung eines e-VD in der Anwendung EMCS wird diesem ein administrativer Referenzcode (ARC) zugewiesen. Das e-VD oder ein Dokument, in dem der ARC angegeben ist, muss die Ware begleiten.

Beförderung verbrauchsteuerpflichtiger Waren im steuerrechtlich freien Verkehr

Die gewerbliche Beförderung von Waren des verbrauchsteuerrechtlich freien Verkehrs erfolgt weiterhin papiergestützt unter Verwendung eines vereinfachten Begleitdokuments. Dieses muss inhaltlich den Erfordernissen der VO (EWG) Nr. 3649/92 entsprechen und die verbrauchsteuerpflichtigen Waren bei der Beförderung begleiten. An Stelle des Verwaltungsdokuments darf ein Handelsdokument (kaufmännische Unterlagen, z.B. Rechnungen, Lieferscheine, Frachtbriefe) mit vergleichbarem Aufbau und Inhalt verwendet werden.

Die ordnungsgemäße Teilnahme am Verfahren setzt eine entsprechende Registrierung beim zuständigen Zollamt (→ BMF) voraus und ist an Anzeigepflichten (Anzeige des beabsichtigten Bezugs; Anzeige des erstmaligen Verbringens in andere Mitgliedstaaten) geknüpft.

Links

Letzte Aktualisierung: 6. November 2020

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.