This website uses Cookies. You will accept these by click on the button "continue". For more information read our page "Private Policy".

Beer duty

Beer that is produced in Austria or that is imported into Austria from another EU Member State or from a third country is subject to beer duty. This entails an obligation to obtain approval for the commercial production, storage, processing and/or untaxed transfer of beer and to submit a beer duty return. Movement of beer that is in free circulation with other EU Member States must be notified in advance to the customs authorities. Movements under duty suspension to or from other EU Member States or within Austria must be handled under the Excise Movement and Control System (EMCS). Beer as defined by the Beer Duty Act means beers made of malt and specific blends of non-alcoholic drinks and beer (‘shandies’, in German ‘Radler’).

Please note

For private tax free imports, attention should be paid to the relevant indicative quantities for those entering from EU Member States and the duty-free quantities from third countries.

Tax rate, basis of calculation

Beer duty is calculated from the quantity in hectolitres and the original wort content of the beer in degrees Plato. One degree Plato is defined as the original wort content of the beer in grams per 100 grams of beer.

The tax rate is EUR 2 per degree Plato for every hectolitre. For legally and economically independent small breweries, reduced tax rates (at 60 percent to 90 percent of the normal tax rate, depending on the annual production level) are applicable.

In calculating beer duty, the basis of calculation is essentially the quantity corresponding to the nominal contents of the relevant bottles or cans. For beer in calibrated transport containers with a capacity of up to one hectolitre (e.g. beer barrels), the quantity is taken to be the officially calibrated and designated capacity of the container. For beer sold direct to the consumer in other, non-calibrated transport containers, the basis is the quantity corresponding to the volume. If the beer is in none of the above-mentioned transport containers, then the tax liability arises on the quantity actually present. If the quantity in such cases is calculated from the dead weight, then one kilogram is deemed equivalent to one litre.

Exemption

If its use has been approved in advance by the customs authority responsible (from 1 January 2021, the Austrian Customs Authority), beer may be exempted from beer duty if it is used:

  • for the production of vinegar
  • in denatured form for the manufacture of products other than foodstuffs (e.g. shampoo)
  • for the production of foodstuffs, as long as the alcohol content does not exceed five litres  pure alcohol per 100 kg of product
  • for the production of medicines.

Mail order

Any business which supplies beer freely circulating in another EU Member State, in which the business has its registered office, to private persons within the tax territory, and which itself dispatches these goods to the purchasers or arranges such dispatch, is providing a mail-order service. The beer duty liability arises upon delivery of the beer to the private individual in the tax territory. The person liable for the tax is the mail-order merchant.

Anyone wishing to supply beer by mail order to the Austrian tax territory must notify the Innsbruck customs office (from 1 January 2021, the Austrian Customs Authority) of every supply. If beer is supplied by mail-order on a more than occasional basis, the customs office can, on request, issue a general permit for supplies into the tax territory. For more information on mail-order, please contact the customs office.

Obligation to submit a tax return

The beer duty return is a tax return that needs to be made on the basis of self-assessment. The person liable for the tax must submit an electronic excise duty return (EVA) by the 25th day of each calendar month to the customs authority responsible for the region in which the business is located (from 1 January 2021, the Austrian Customs Authority). This return must show the total quantities of beer, divided into their tax classes. It must state the quantity placed into free circulation, the quantity moved under duty suspension, the quantity transferred to a tax-exempt status and the quantity withdrawn for consumption. The self-assessment in the tax return can also include deductions of beer duty due for repayment or reimbursement.

The person liable for the tax must submit a specific electronic excise duty return (EVA) for each individual tax warehouse, defined by location or in terms of the permit issued. A tax return must be submitted even for months in which no movements took place in the tax warehouse (a zero return).

Responsible authority

In order to be granted approval to operate a tax warehouse (whether a production or a storage operation) or to be a registered recipient or a utilisation operation, the application including all supporting documents required must be submitted to the locally responsible customs authority (from 1 January 2021, the Austrian Customs Authority). Once approval(s) have been granted, the EMCS and EVA can be accessed using the excise duty number via FinanzOnline or USP.

Goods in free circulation

Beer is treated as being in free circulation specifically

  • if the duty suspension procedure is terminated without being succeeded by another duty suspension procedure
  • in cases of commercial production outside of a duty suspension procedure.

The purchase and dispatch of beer from other EU Member States in free circulation is subject to the purchase being for commercial purposes.

Excise Movement under duty suspension (EMCS)

Excise Movement under duty suspension may only take place using EMCS, the electronic movement and control system.

Movement to or from other EU Member States of goods in free circulation

If beer is purchased from another EU Member State for commercial purposes, the tax liability arises from the fact that the purchaser receives the beer within the tax territory or brings or causes to be brought into the tax territory beer that was received outside the tax territory. Prior notification to the customs authority responsible is required. Purchase for commercial purposes must be notified to the customs authority on the appropriate form before the goods are dispatched. Once the tax liability has been settled in the tax territory, the excise duty in the dispatching EU Member State can be repaid on application. Movements from or to other EU Member States must be made using a simplified accompanying document or a comparable trade document compliant with Regulation No 3649/92.

Legal basis

Formulare

Translated by the European Commission
last update: 4 November 2020

responsible for content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Biersteuer

Allgemeines

Bier, das in Österreich hergestellt wird oder das aus einem anderen EU-Mitgliedstaat bzw. aus einem Drittland nach Österreich eingebracht wird, unterliegt der Biersteuer. Damit verbunden ist grundsätzlich die Pflicht, eine Bewilligung für die gewerbliche Herstellung, Lagerung, Bearbeitung und/oder unversteuerte Verbringung einzuholen und eine Biersteueranmeldung abzugeben. Die Beförderung von Bier im steuerrechtlich freien Verkehr mit anderen EU-Mitgliedstaaten ist dem Zollamt vorweg anzuzeigen. Beförderungen unter Steueraussetzung mit anderen EU-Mitgliedstaaten oder innerhalb Österreichs haben im „Excise Movement and Control System" (EMCS) zu erfolgen. Als Bier im Sinne des Biersteuergesetzes gelten Biere aus Malz und bestimmte Mischungen von nichtalkoholischen Getränken mit Bier (sogenannte "Radler").

Hinweis

Für die private steuerfreie Einfuhr sind die entsprechenden Richtmengen für die Einreise aus EU-Mitgliedstaaten sowie die Freimengen aus Drittländern zu beachten.

Steuersatz, Bemessungsgrundlage

Die Biersteuer wird aus der Menge in Hektolitern und dem Stammwürzegehalt des Bieres in Grad Plato berechnet. Als Grad Plato wird der Stammwürzegehalt des Bieres in Gramm je 100 Gramm Bier bezeichnet.

Der Steuersatz beträgt je Hektoliter 2 Euro je Grad Plato. Für rechtlich und wirtschaftlich unabhängige Kleinbrauereien gelten, abhängig von deren Gesamtjahreserzeugung, ermäßigte Steuersätze in Höhe von 60% bis 90% des Normalsteuersatzes.

Für die Berechnung der Biersteuer gilt als Bemessungsgrundlage grundsätzlich jene Menge, die bei den entsprechenden Flaschen oder Dosen den angegebenen Nenninhalten entspricht. Für Bier in geeichten Transportbehältnissen mit einem Fassungsvermögen von bis zu einem Hektoliter (z.B. Bierfässer) gilt das eichbehördlich bezeichnete Fassungsvermögen als Menge. Für Bier, das in anderen nicht geeichten Transportbehältern direkt an Verbraucherinnen/Verbraucher verkauft wird, wird die dem Volumen entsprechende Menge als Grundlage herangezogen. Befindet sich Bier in keinem der bisher genannten Transportbehältnisse, dann entsteht die Steuerschuld für die tatsächlich vorhandene Menge. Wird in diesem Fall die Menge aus dem Eigengewicht ermittelt, so ist ein Kilogramm einem Liter gleichzusetzen.

Befreiung

Wenn die Verwendung vorher vom zuständigen Zollamt (ab 1.1.2021 Zollamt Österreich) bewilligt bewilligt wurde, kann Bier von der Biersteuer befreit sein, wenn es

  • zur Herstellung von Essig
  • vergällt zur Herstellung von anderen Erzeugnissen als Lebensmitteln (z.B. Shampoo)
  • für die Herstellung von Lebensmitteln, wenn der Alkoholgehalt von 5 Liter reinen Alkohol je 100 kg des Erzeugnisses nicht überschritten wird
  • zur Herstellung von Arzneimitteln

verwendet wird.

Versandhandel

Wenn ein Unternehmen Bier aus dem freien Verkehr eines anderen EU-Mitgliedstaates, in dem es seinen Geschäftssitz hat, an Privatpersonen im Steuergebiet liefert und den Versand an die Erwerberin/den Erwerber selbst durchführt oder durchführen lässt, betreibt das Unternehmen einen Versandhandel. Die Biersteuerschuld entsteht mit Auslieferung des Bieres an die Privatperson im Steuergebiet. Steuerschuldnerin/Steuerschuldner ist die Versandhändlerin/der Versandhändler.

Wer Bier als Versandhändlerin/Versandhändler in das Steuergebiet liefern will, hat dies für jede Lieferung dem Zollamt Innsbruck (ab 1.1.2021: Zollamt Österreich) anzuzeigen. Soll Bier nicht nur gelegentlich im Versandhandel geliefert werden, kann das Zollamt auf Antrag die Zulassung zu Lieferungen in das Steuergebiet allgemein erteilen. Für nähere Auskünfte zum Versandhandel wenden Sie sich bitte an das Zollamt.

Abgabenerklärungspflicht

Die Biersteuererklärung ist eine im Rahmen der Selbstberechnung zu erstellende Abgabenerklärung. Die Steuerschuldnerin/der Steuerschuldner hat spätestens bis zum 25. eines jeden Kalendermonats beim zuständigen Zollamt, in dessen Bereich sich der Betrieb befindet, (ab 1.1.2021 beim Zollamt Österreich) eine elektronische Verbrauchsteueranmeldung (EVA) abzugeben. In dieser Anmeldung sind die gesamten Mengen an Bier, getrennt nach Steuerklassen anzugeben. Anzumelden sind die Entnahme in den freien Verkehr, die Wegbringung unter Steueraussetzung, die Mengen, die einem Befreiungstatbestand zugeführt wurden, sowie die zum Verbrauch entnommenen Mengen. In der Steueranmeldung können bei der Selbstberechnung auch Biersteuerbeträge abgezogen werden, die zu erstatten oder zu vergüten sind.

Die Steuerschuldnerin/der Steuerschuldner hat für jedes (örtlich und bewilligungsmäßig getrennte) Steuerlager eine gesonderte elektronische Verbrauchsteueranmeldung (EVA) zu übermitteln. Für Monate, in denen keine Bewegung im Steuerlager stattgefunden hat, ist ebenfalls eine Steueranmeldung abzugeben (Leermeldung).

Zuständige Stellen

Für die Erteilung der Bewilligung zum Betrieb eines Steuerlagers (Herstellungsbetrieb oder Lagerbetrieb), als registrierte Empfängerin/registrierter Empfänger oder Verwendungsbetrieb ist der Antrag inklusive aller für die Bewilligungserteilung erforderlichen Unterlagen dem örtlich zuständigen Zollamt (ab 1.1.2021 dem Zollamt Österreich) zu übermitteln. Nach Erteilung der Bewilligung/Bewilligungen ist der Zugang mit der Verbrauchsteuernummer zu EMCS und EVA über FinanzOnline oder USP möglich.

Steuerrechtlich freier Verkehr

Im steuerrechtlich freien Verkehr befindet sich das Bier insbesondere

  • wenn das Steueraussetzungsverfahren beendet ist, ohne dass sich ein weiteres Steueraussetzungsverfahren anschließt
  • mit der gewerblichen Herstellung außerhalb eines Steueraussetzungsverfahrens.

Der Bezug und Versand von im verbrauchsteuerrechtlich freien Verkehr befindlichem Bier aus anderen/in andere EU-Mitgliedstaaten unterliegt den Auflagen des Bezuges zu gewerblichen Zwecken.

Beförderung unter Steueraussetzung (EMCS)

Die Beförderung unter Steueraussetzung kann ausschließlich mittels EMCS, dem elektronischen Beförderungs- und Kontrollsystem, stattfinden.

Beförderung mit anderen EU-Mitgliedstaaten im steuerrechtlich freien Verkehr

Wird Bier aus einem anderen EU-Mitgliedstaat zu gewerblichen Zwecken bezogen, entsteht die Steuerschuld dadurch, dass die Bezieherin/der Bezieher das Bier im Steuergebiet in Empfang nimmt oder das außerhalb des Steuergebietes in Empfang genommene Bier in das Steuergebiet verbringt oder verbringen lässt. Eine vorherige Anzeige beim zuständigen Zollamt ist erforderlich. Der Bezug zu gewerblichen Zwecken ist mit dem entsprechenden Formular dem Zollamt vor Versendung der Ware anzuzeigen. Mit Entrichtung der Steuer im Steuergebiet kann die Verbrauchsteuer im EU-Mitgliedstaat der Versendung auf Antrag erstattet werden. Die Beförderung aus anderen bzw. in andere EU-Mitgliedstaaten hat unter Verwendung eines vereinfachten Begleitdokuments oder eines vergleichbaren Handelsdokuments, entsprechend Verordnung Nr. 3649/92 zu erfolgen.

Rechtsgrundlagen

Formulare

Letzte Aktualisierung: 4. November 2020

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.