This website uses Cookies. You will accept these by click on the button "continue". For more information read our page "Private Policy".

Excise duty on mineral oils

General Information

Mineral oils, motor fuels and heating fuels produced in Austria or imported into Austria are subject to mineral oil excise duty. This also entails an obligation to obtain approval for the production, storage, processing and/or untaxed transfer ("under duty suspension") of certain mineral oils (and in particular to obtain a "tax warehouse approval") and to submit a mineral oil duty return. Movements under duty suspension to or from other EU Member States or within Austria must be handled under the Excise Movement and Control System (EMCS). Production outside of a tax warehouse and movement of certain mineral oils in free circulation with other EU Member States must be notified in advance to the customs authorities and in certain cases a mineral oil duty return must be submitted.

Motor fuels and heating fuels are mineral oil substitutes which, if used for (tax-relevant) energy purposes, are also subject to excise duty on mineral oils, for which a simplified procedure is applicable.

Enterprises Affected

  • Businesses that produce, store or transfer mineral oils (tax warehouses, registered recipients and registered dispatchers)
  • Utilisation operations that purchase mineral oils free of tax and make tax-exempt use of them on the basis of an exemption certificate
  • Other businesses (e.g. fuel companies) that supply or make tax-exempt use of products subject to excise duty on mineral oils.

Caution

 In general, these rules also apply to businesses from EU Member States in Austria.

Requirements

Approvals are required for intended activities. These are obtained from the customs office responsible (from 1 January 2021, the Austrian Customs Authority). The conditions vary according to the nature of the activity for which the application is made but will generally include a good tax record, correct and proper bookkeeping, a payment bond and, where applicable, a minimum annual turnover. Businesses are subject to official oversight and must meet – again depending on the nature of the activity – different record-keeping requirements.

Excise duty applications in FinanzOnline
Through FinanzOnline, the following applications are available: → SEED-on-Europa (SEED system for exchange of excise data)German text, → EMCS (Excise Movement and Control System)German text and → EVA (Electronic Excise Duty Return)German text.

EMCS
The Excise Movement and Control System (EMCS) is an IT-based procedure for monitoring the movement of excise goods under duty suspension over the entire territory of the European Union. Electronic administrative documents and other information are exchanged between operating businesses and customs authorities.

EVA
When a tax liability arises, mineral oil excise duty must be notified via an EVA, in accordance with the deadlines. In addition, the EVA can also be used to apply for refunds and reimbursements.

SEED
SEED lies at the heart of a system that functions in all EU Member States. It ensures that national records of traders authorised to use the duty suspension procedures (tax warehouses and approved recipients) can be exchanged with other Member States of the EU and with the European Commission. Using SEED-on-Europa, businesses can check the validity of an Excise Duty number (with a summary of the goods permitted to be traded under this Excise Duty number and the role of the trader).

Deadline

Mineral oil excise duty must be reported in writing by the 25th of each month. Specifically, the quantities removed from the tax warehouse in the preceding month, or withdrawn for consumption from the tax warehouse (that is, released for free circulation), must be stated. Furthermore, the Mineral Oil Duty Act prescribes additional factual information regarding tax liabilities incurred (in particular with regard to motor fuels and heating fuels and to improper use) and tax benefits that (may) also need to be entered on the tax return.

The tax due must generally be paid by the reporting deadline. Deadlines may be shorter in cases where irregularities are found.

Competent Authority

The customs authority (→ BMF)German text in whose territory the business is located; from 1 January 2021, the Austrian Customs Authority for the entire tax territory.

Procedure

The mineral oil customs duty return must be submitted via EVA and FinanzOnline.

The transfer of mineral oils under duty suspension is conditional on registration via EMCS and FinanzOnline.

The application for operating approval to be granted must be made in writing at the customs authority (→ BMF) responsible (from 1 January 2021, the Austrian Customs Authority).

Documents Required

  • Name and address of the business
  • Location and territorial scope
  • A description of the operation, including a site plan
  • A description of the production and warehousing process

Expenses

A fee may be charged for all official activity that is undertaken at a specific time requested by the applicant.

In addition, costs will be incurred for certain specific monitoring and for expert reports.

Additional Information

Further information and manuals for SEED, EVA and EMCS are available on the VIP (Excise Duty Internet Platform) under "Help".

Legal Basis

Expert Information

There is no expert information available.

To Form

Translated by the European Commission
last update: 1 January 2021

responsible for content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Mineralölsteuer

Allgemeine Informationen

Mineralöl, Kraftstoffe und Heizstoffe, die in Österreich hergestellt oder nach Österreich eingebracht werden, unterliegen der Mineralölsteuer. Damit verbunden ist die Pflicht, eine Bewilligung für die Herstellung, Lagerung, Bearbeitung und/oder unversteuerte Verbringung ("unter Steueraussetzung") von bestimmtem Mineralöl einzuholen (insb. sog. "Steuerlagerbewilligung") und eine Mineralölsteueranmeldung abzugeben. Beförderungen unter Steueraussetzung mit anderen EU-Mitgliedstaaten oder innerhalb Österreichs haben im "Excise Movement and Control System" (EMCS) zu erfolgen. Die Herstellung außerhalb eines Steuerlagers und die Beförderung von bestimmtem Mineralöl im steuerrechtlich freien Verkehr mit anderen EU-Mitgliedstaaten sind dem Zollamt vorweg anzuzeigen und in bestimmten Fällen ist eine Mineralölsteueranmeldung abzugeben.

Kraftstoffe und Heizstoffe sind Mineralölsubstitute, die im Falle ihrer – steuerrelevanten - energetischen Verwendung auch der Mineralölsteuer unterliegen, wobei vereinfachte Verfahren zur Anwendung gelangen.

Betroffene Unternehmen

  • Unternehmen, die Mineralöl herstellen, lagern oder verbringen (Steuerlager, registrierte Empfänger oder registrierte Versender)
  • Verwendungsbetriebe, die Mineralöl auf Basis eines Freischeins unversteuert beziehen und steuerfrei verwenden
  • Sonstige Unternehmen (z.B. Kraftstoffbetriebe), die mineralölsteuerpflichtige Produkte abgeben oder steuerfrei verwenden

Achtung

Diese Regelungen gelten grundsätzlich auch für Unternehmerinnen/Unternehmer aus EU-Mitgliedstaaten in Österreich.

Voraussetzungen

Für die angestrebten Tätigkeiten sind Bewilligungen des zuständigen Zollamts (ab 1. Jänner 2021 Zollamt Österreich) erforderlich. Die Voraussetzungen variieren je nach Art der beantragten Tätigkeit; erforderlich sind im Regelfall steuerliche Zuverlässigkeit, ordnungsgemäße Buchführung, eine Sicherheitsleistung, gegebenenfalls auch ein jährlicher Mindestumsatz. Die Unternehmen unterliegen der amtlichen Aufsicht und haben – gleichfalls nach Art der Tätigkeit unterschiedliche – Aufzeichnungspflichten zu erfüllen.

Verbrauchsteueranwendungen in FinanzOnline

Über FinanzOnline sind die Anwendungen → SEED-on-Europa (SEED-System for Exchange of Excise Data), → EMCS (Excise Movement and Control System) und → EVA (Elektronische Verbrauchsteueranmeldung) verfügbar.

EMCS

Das "Excise Movement and Control System" (EMCS) ist ein IT-gestütztes Verfahren zur Überwachung der Beförderung verbrauchsteuerpflichtiger Waren unter Steueraussetzung im gesamten Gebiet der Europäischen Union. Elektronische Verwaltungsdokumente und weitere Nachrichten werden zwischen Wirtschaftsbeteiligten und Zollbehörden ausgetauscht.

EVA

Über die EVA ist nach Entstehen der Steuerschuld fristgerecht die Mineralölsteuer anzumelden. Weiters steht EVA für Erstattungs- oder Vergütungsanträge zur Verfügung.

SEED

SEED ist Dreh- und Angelpunkt für ein in allen EU-Mitgliedstaaten funktionierendes System. Damit wird der Austausch der nationalen Verzeichnisse der für das Steueraussetzungsverfahren zugelassenen Wirtschaftsbeteiligten (Steuerlagerinhaberinnen/Steuerlagerinhaber und berechtigte Empfängerinnen/Empfänger) mit den übrigen Mitgliedstaaten der EU und der Europäischen Kommission gewährleistet. Über SEED-on-Europa können Unternehmen die Gültigkeit einer Verbrauchsteuernummer prüfen (Aufstellung der für diese Verbrauchsteuernummer zugelassenen Waren und die Rolle des Wirtschaftsbeteiligten).

Fristen

Die Mineralölsteuer muss bis zum 25. eines jeden Monats schriftlich angemeldet werden. Es müssen dabei insbesondere jene Mengen, die im vorangegangenen Monat aus dem Steuerlager weggebracht, oder im Steuerlager zum Verbrauch (also in den steuerrechtlich freien Verkehr) entnommen wurden, angegeben werden. Zudem sieht das Mineralölsteuergesetz weitere Steuerschuldentstehungstatbestände (insbesondere auch im Zusammenhang mit Kraft- und Heizstoffen oder bestimmungswidriger Verwendung) und Steuerbegünstigungen vor, die auch in die Steueranmeldung einfließen (können).

Der Steuerbetrag muss im Regelfall bis spätestens zum Ablauf der Anmeldefrist bezahlt werden. Im Falle von Unregelmäßigkeiten gelten verkürzte Fristen.

Zuständige Stelle

Das Zollamt (→ BMF), in dessen Bereich sich der Betrieb befindet; ab 1.1.2021 das Zollamt Österreich für das gesamte Steuergebiet.

Verfahrensablauf

Die Mineralölsteueranmeldung muss über EVA und FinanzOnline erfolgen.

Voraussetzung für die Verbringung von Mineralöl unter Steueraussetzung ist die Registrierung über EMCS und FinanzOnline.

Der Antrag auf die Erteilung einer Betriebsbewilligung ist schriftlich beim zuständigen Zollamt (→ BMF) (ab 1.1.2021 beim Zollamt Österreich) zu stellen.

Erforderliche Unterlagen

  • Name und Anschrift der Firma
  • Standort und örtliche Begrenzung
  • Eine mit Grundriss versehene Beschreibung des Betriebes
  • Eine Beschreibung des Herstellungsverfahrens und der Lagerbehandlung

Kosten

Kostenpflicht besteht für alle Amtshandlungen, die auf Antrag zu einer von der Antragstellerin/dem Antragsteller gewünschten bestimmten Zeit vorgenommen werden.

Weiters entstehen Kosten für besondere Überwachungsmaßnahmen sowie für Sachverständigengutachten.

Zusätzliche Informationen

In der VIP (Verbrauchsteuer Internet Plattform) sind unter "Hilfe" weitere Informationen und die Handbücher für SEED, EVA und EMCS verfügbar.

Rechtsgrundlagen

Experteninformation

Es steht keine Experteninformation zur Verfügung.

Zum Formular

Letzte Aktualisierung: 1. Januar 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.