Unfair business practices – General

The following business practices give rise to a right to seek an injunction and, in case of culpability, to compensation in accordance with the Austrian Act Against Unfair Competition (UWG):

  • Offences listed in the annex to the UWG as examples of unfair practices: these include false claims by a trader that they are party to a code of conduct and the use of trust marks, quality labels or similar without the corresponding authorisation.

If an offence is not explicitly listed in the annex, it is necessary to examine whether the business practice in question can be deemed aggressive or misleading.

  • Aggressive business practices: aggressive business practices are practices that significantly impair the freedom of market participants to act or make decisions in relation to a product as a result of harassment, coercion or undue influence, and that may cause such participants to make a commercial decision that they would not have otherwise made.
  • Misleading business practices: misleading business practices include providing untrue information and practices otherwise intended to mislead a market participant about one or several aspects of a product with the aim of causing them to make a commercial decision that they would not have otherwise made. This applies to both goods and services. Misleading information may be provided, for example, about the primary features or availability of a product, or the person or attributes of the trader such as their identity, competence or distinctions.

If none of the offences listed in the annex have been committed, and if the business practice is neither aggressive nor misleading, it is necessary to examine whether it may nonetheless be unfair:

  • Anyone who applies any other kind of unfair business practice or other unfair practice in commercial trade with the intention of having a non-negligible influence on competition to the detriment of other traders, or who applies an unfair business practice that does not meet professional diligence requirements and, with respect to the relevant product, is intended to significantly influence the economic behaviour of the average consumer who is being affected or targeted, may be subject to an injunction and, in case of culpability, liable to pay compensation.

Please note

These regulations also apply to all traders from EU Member States in Austria. Information on the special regulations applicable in certain sectors and industries can be obtained from the Austrian Economic Chambers (WKO).


Legal basis

Further links

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 5 February 2021

Responsible for the content: Austrian Federal Competition Authority

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.

Unlautere Geschäftspraktiken - Allgemeines

Bei folgenden Geschäftspraktiken ist eine Klage auf Unterlassung und bei Verschulden auf Schadenersatz nach dem UWG möglich:

  • Im Anhang des UWG als unlauter aufgelistete Tatbestände: Dazu gehören beispielsweise die unrichtige Behauptung einer Unternehmerin/eines Unternehmers, zu den Unterzeichnern eines Verhaltenskodex zu gehören und die Verwendung von Gütezeichen, Qualitätskennzeichen oder Ähnlichem ohne die erforderliche Genehmigung.

Ist ein Tatbestand im Anhang nicht ausdrücklich aufgelistet, ist zu prüfen, ob die Geschäftspraktik als aggressiv oder irreführend einzustufen ist:

  • Aggressive Geschäftspraktiken: Aggressive Geschäftspraktiken beeinträchtigen die Entscheidungs- oder Verhaltensfreiheit der Marktteilnehmerin/des Marktteilnehmers in Bezug auf das Produkt durch Belästigung, Nötigung oder durch unzulässige Beeinflussung wesentlich und können sie/ihn dazu veranlassen, eine geschäftliche Entscheidung zu treffen, die sie/er andernfalls nicht getroffen hätte.
  • Irreführende Geschäftspraktiken: Irreführende Geschäftspraktiken enthalten unrichtige Angaben oder sind sonst geeignet, einen Marktteilnehmer in Bezug auf das Produkt über einen oder mehrere Punkte derart zu täuschen, dass dieser dazu veranlasst wird, eine geschäftliche Entscheidung zu treffen, die er andernfalls nicht getroffen hätte. Beim Produkt kann es sich um eine Ware oder eine Dienstleistung handeln. Eine Täuschung ist beispielsweise im Hinblick auf die wesentlichen Merkmale oder das Vorhandensein des Produktes die Person und Eigenschaften der Unternehmerin/des Unternehmers wie Identität, Befähigung oder Auszeichnungen denkbar.

Liegt weder ein Tatbestand des Anhangs vor und ist die Geschäftspraktik weder aggressiv noch irreführend, ist zu prüfen, ob sie eventuell dennoch unlauter ist:

  • Auch wer im geschäftlichen Verkehr auf eine andere Weise eine unlautere Geschäftspraktik oder sonstige unlautere Handlung anwendet, die geeignet ist, den Wettbewerb zum Nachteil von Unternehmen nicht nur unerheblich zu beeinflussen, oder eine unlautere Geschäftspraktik anwendet, die den Erfordernissen der beruflichen Sorgfalt widerspricht und in Bezug auf das jeweilige Produkt geeignet ist, das wirtschaftliche Verhalten des Durchschnittsverbrauchers, den sie erreicht oder an den sie sich richtet, wesentlich zu beeinflussen, kann auf Unterlassung und bei Verschulden auf Schadenersatz in Anspruch genommen werden.

Hinweis

Diese Regelungen gelten auch für alle Unternehmerinnen/Unternehmer aus EU-Mitgliedstaaten in Österreich. Informationen zu speziellen Vorschriften für einzelne Sektoren und Branchen erteilen die Wirtschaftskammern Österreichs.


Rechtsgrundlagen

Weiterführende Links

Letzte Aktualisierung: 5. Februar 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundeswettbewerbsbehörde

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.