This website uses Cookies. You will accept these by click on the button "continue". For more information read our page "Private Policy".

.

Cross-border merger in the EU

A simple overview is provided below of the merger procedure according to the EU Mergers Act. This overview is not exhaustive.

In the case of cross-border mergers of corporations in the EU (in Austria stock corporation (AG), limited liability company (GmbH), European Company (SE)), the EU Mergers Directive, which was transposed into national law in Austria by way of the EU Mergers Directives, shall apply (this does not apply to mergers to start up an SE). In accordance with this directive, the company law of the respective State of residence of an undertaking concerned, i.e. the law of different countries, shall apply.

In the case of matters of form, draft terms of the merger, etc.., all the national merger regulations of the States in which the undertakings concerned have their registered offices must be taken into consideration. The key aspects of the provisions of the Austrian Stock Corporation Act (AktG) and the Limited Liability Companies Act (GmbH-Gesetz) that apply to mergers of Austrian corporations must also be applied to cross-border mergers.

In order for the merger to become effective, the law of the acquiring and/or newly founded company shall be decisive.

In the case of an outbound merger (e.g. of an Austrian limited liability company, GmbH,  to a German limited liability company, GmbH), the rights of shareholders and creditors are specifically protected by a redemption fee (indicating the shares for cash compensation) and/or security for existing receivables.

Among other things, the following must be drawn up (incorporating additional requirements compared with non-cross-border mergers)

  • common draft terms of merger (correspond essentially to the Merger Agreement)
    The merger plan must include, inter alia, additional information regarding anticipated impact of the merger on employed workers, the employment situation and conditions of employment.
  • a merger report
    This must contain additional information on the impact of the merger on employees (e.g. on their compensation claims/severance claims and pension entitlements) and the creditors of the company in question. A common merger report for both companies is permitted in accordance with Austrian law.

One special feature of this is that the merger report must be sent to the Works Council and/or to all the affected employees of the Austrian company at least one month prior to the Shareholders’ Meeting.

Where an Austrian stock corporation (AG) is involved, its Supervisory Board must audit the merger on the basis of the merger report and the audit report. This usually also includes the reasonableness of the cash settlement paid to exiting shareholders. Austrian law allows the appointment of a common merger auditor.

Where a limited liability company (GmbH) is involved, the shareholders may forego the merger audit under certain circumstances. The declaration of renunciation should be incorporated into the common notarial draft terms of merger.

The intended merger shall be registered with the court that is competent for the transferring company. A preliminary certificate from this court, which confirms the proper performance of the merger, must be submitted with the registration of the cross-border merger with the court for the acquiring company.

In the case of a cross-border merger, extensive co-determination rights of the employees must also be taken into account.

Additional information on the regulations that apply to mergers in Austria can also be found at USP.gv.at.

Further links

Merging Businesses (→ Your Europe)

Legal basis

Translated by the European Commission
last update: 18 November 2020

responsible for content: Federal Ministry of Justice

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Der Gebrauch von Cookies erlaubt uns Ihre Erfahrungen auf dieser Website zu optimieren. Wir verwenden Cookies zu Statistikzwecken und zur Qualitätssicherung. Durch Fortfahren auf unserer Website stimmen Sie dieser Verwendung zu. Erfahren Sie mehr

.

Grenzüberschreitende Verschmelzung in der EU

Im Folgenden wird bloß ein Überblick über das Verschmelzungsverfahren nach dem EU-Verschmelzungsgesetz gegeben, der nicht abschließend ist.

Bei in der EU grenzüberschreitenden Verschmelzungen von Kapitalgesellschaften (in Österreich AG, GmbH, SE) gilt die EU-Verschmelzungsrichtlinie, die in Österreich durch das EU-Verschmelzungsgesetz umgesetzt wurde (gilt nicht für die Verschmelzung zur Neugründung einer SE). Danach gilt das Gesellschaftsrecht des jeweiligen Sitzstaates eines beteiligten Unternehmens, d.h. das Recht verschiedener Staaten.

Bei Formfragen, Verschmelzungsplan etc. sind sämtliche nationale Verschmelzungsvorschriften der Staaten, in denen die beteiligten Unternehmen ihren Sitz haben, zu berücksichtigen. Die für die Verschmelzung österreichischer Kapitalgesellschaften geltenden Bestimmungen des österreichischen Aktiengesetzes und des GmbH-Gesetzes sind auch auf grenzüberschreitende Verschmelzungen in wesentlichen Teilen anzuwenden.

Für das Wirksamwerden der Verschmelzung ist das Recht der übernehmenden bzw. neu gegründeten Gesellschaft maßgeblich.

Bei einer Hinausverschmelzung (z.B. einer österreichischen GmbH auf eine deutsche GmbH) werden die Rechte der Gesellschafter und Gläubiger im Besonderen geschützt durch ein Austrittsrecht (Hingabe der Anteile gegen Barabfindung) bzw. Sicherheitsleistung bei bestehenden Forderungen.

Zu erstellen sind u.a. (mit zum Teil zusätzlichen Anforderungen im Vergleich zu nicht grenzüberschreitenden Verschmelzungen)

  • ein gemeinsamer Verschmelzungsplan (entspricht im Wesentlichen dem Verschmelzungsvertrag)
    Der Verschmelzungsplan muss u.a. zusätzlich Informationen zu voraussichtlichen Auswirkungen der Verschmelzung auf beschäftigten Arbeitnehmerinnen/Arbeitnehmer, Beschäftigungslage und Beschäftigungsbedingungen beinhalten.
  • ein Verschmelzungsbericht
    Dieser muss zwingend zusätzliche Informationen zu den Auswirkungen der Verschmelzung auf die Arbeitnehmerinnen/Arbeitnehmer (z.B. auf ihre Abfindungs-/Abfertigungs- und Pensionsansprüche) und die Gläubiger der jeweiligen Gesellschaft zu enthalten. Nach österreichischem Recht ist ein gemeinsamer Verschmelzungsbericht beider Gesellschaften zulässig.

Eine Besonderheit ist, dass der Verschmelzungsbericht an den Betriebsrat bzw. alle betroffenen Arbeitnehmerinnen/Arbeitnehmern der österreichischen Gesellschaft mindestens einen Monat vor der Gesellschafterversammlung zugestellt werden muss.

Wenn eine österreichische AG beteiligt ist, hat ihr Aufsichtsrat die Verschmelzung auf Grundlage des Verschmelzungsberichts und des Prüfungsberichts zu prüfen. Dazu gehört in der Regel auch die Angemessenheit der Barabfindung austretender Gesellschafter. Die Bestellung eines gemeinsamen Verschmelzungsprüfers ist nach österreichischem Recht zulässig.

Im Fall der Beteiligung einer GmbH können die Gesellschafter unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen auf die Verschmelzungsprüfung verzichten. Die Verzichtserklärung sollte in den gemeinsamen notariellen Verschmelzungsplan aufgenommen werden.

Die beabsichtigte Verschmelzung ist bei dem für die übertragende Gesellschaft zuständigen Gericht anzumelden. Eine Vorabbescheinigung von diesem Gericht, die die ordnungsgemäße Durchführung bestätigt, ist mit der Anmeldung der grenzüberschreitenden Verschmelzung bei dem Gericht für die übernehmenden Gesellschaft vorzulegen.

Bei grenzüberschreitender Verschmelzung sind auch umfangreiche Mitbestimmungsrechte der Arbeitnehmerinnen/Arbeitnehmer zu berücksichtigen.

Weitere Informationen zu den in Österreich für Verschmelzungen geltenden Bestimmungen finden sich ebenfalls auf USP.gv.at

Weiterführende Links

Fusionen von Unternehmen (→ Your Europe)

Rechtsgrundlagen

Letzte Aktualisierung: 18. November 2020

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Justiz

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.