General information on contract law in Austria

Austrian contract law is primarily governed by the General Civil Code (ABGB). For contracts between traders, the rules in the Austrian Commercial Code (UGB) in particular must also be taken into account. Specific provisions for transactions between traders and consumers can be found in the Consumer Protection Act (KSchG).

If one of the contracting parties breaches or fails to fulfil the obligations agreed in the contract, this constitutes a breach of contract. Depending on the particular circumstances, the other party can insist on the contract being fulfilled, or, under certain conditions, withdraw from the contract and/or claim compensation.

Statutory right of withdrawal

Generally, if the other party defaults on the performance of the contract, a reasonable deadline must be set before withdrawal – during which time the contractual obligation can still be fulfilled. If the other party fails to fulfil its obligation even within this period, withdrawal from the contract is then possible. Payments already made etc. can be reclaimed.

Statutory rules on compensation

In the event of a breach of contractual obligations, in principle compensation may also be claimed (as an alternative to the right of withdrawal) if the damage would not have occurred without the culpable conduct of the other party.

Legal basis

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 25 January 2021

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Justice

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Allgemeines zum Vertragsrecht in Österreich

Das österreichische Vertragsrecht ist vor allem im Allgemeinen bürgerlichen Gesetzbuch (ABGB) geregelt. Für Verträge zwischen Unternehmen sind insbesondere auch die Regelungen im Unternehmensgesetzbuch (UGB) zu berücksichtigen. Besondere Bestimmungen für Geschäfte zwischen Unternehmen und Konsumentinnen/Konsumenten finden sich u.a. im Konsumentenschutzgesetz (KSchG).

Verstößt eine der vertragsschließenden Parteien gegen die im Vertrag vereinbarten Pflichten oder erfüllt diese nicht, so handelt es sich um eine Vertragsverletzung. Abhängig von den Umständen des jeweiligen Falles kann die andere Partei auf die Erfüllung des Vertrages bestehen oder unter gewissen Voraussetzungen vom Vertrag zurücktreten und/oder Schadenersatz geltend machen.

Gesetzliches Rücktrittsrecht

Gerät die andere Partei mit der Erfüllung des Vertrages in Verzug, so muss vor einem Rücktritt in der Regel eine angemessene Frist gesetzt werden, in der die Vertragspflicht noch erfüllt werden kann. Erfüllt die andere Partei ihre Pflicht auch innerhalb dieser Frist nicht, so ist ein Rücktritt vom Vertrag möglich. Bereits geleistete Zahlungen etc. können zurückgefordert werden.

Gesetzliche Regeln zum Schadenersatz

Bei einem Verstoß gegen vertragliche Pflichten kann alternativ zum Rücktrittsrecht grundsätzlich auch Schadenersatz gefordert werden, wenn ein Schaden ohne das schuldhafte Verhalten der anderen Partei nicht entstanden wäre.

Rechtsgrundlagen

Letzte Aktualisierung: 25. Januar 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Justiz

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.