This website uses Cookies. You will accept these by click on the button "continue". For more information read our page "Private Policy".

Removal from the companies register

General Information

Companies and other entities entered in the companies register, as well as Austrian branch offices of foreign entities, must have themselves removed from the companies register when they cease to trade. 

Enterprises Affected

Especially companies that cease to trade. 

Requirements

Ceasing to trade. 

Deadline

Changes to the information registered in the companies register must be reported immediately. 

Competent Authority

The competent regional court (→ BMJ)German text of the place where the business has its registered office. 

Procedure

There are two steps as detailed below to closing a company: 

Winding up 

  • A reason for winding up must be provided: An entity is wound up based on a decision taken by the partners (decision of the general shareholders' meeting in the case of a public limited company (AG); however, it can also be wound up on legal grounds (e.g. in case of insolvency). In the case of winding up by resolution of the partners in a limited liability company [GmbH] (decision of the general shareholders' meeting in the case of a public limited company [AG]), the decision to wind up the company must be made in the general shareholders' meeting, at which point the company enters the liquidation/winding-up stage. 

Liquidation for a GmbH/winding up for an AG 

  • The company changes its purpose and changes into a winding-up company. Liquidation is defined as the winding up of businesses with the goal of an orderly economic wind-down and deletion from the companies register after winding up, provided that an insolvency proceeding is not opened with regard to the company’s assets. The decision to wind up the company must be reported to the companies register. Liquidation is not a substitute for insolvency proceedings in the event of a business having excess debt or illiquidity. 
     
  • Generally, liquidators are appointed by: 
    • Resolution of the partners (in the case of an AG, by resolution of the general shareholders' meeting) 
    • The memorandum of association (the statutes in the case of an AG
       
  • Otherwise, liquidation (winding up in the case of an AG) is performed by the following persons: 
    • by all partners of a partnership; 
    • by the directors of a private limited company; 
    • by the members of the board of a public limited company. 

Full closure and removal from the register 

  • The final closure of the company must also be reported to the companies register along with the name of the person appointed to keep the books and records. 

The winding up of the company in bankruptcy proceedings is registered officially in the companies register. The company must then be liquidated, in other words its assets must be distributed. 

Please note

Under the Firmenbuchgesetz (Companies Register Act), fines of up to 3,600 Euro are imposed on those who fail to comply with their reporting obligations. The fine may be up to 3,600 Euro. Failure to comply with the reporting obligation within two months of date on which the decision to impose the fine takes legal effect may result in further fines of up to 3,600 Euro.

If the representatives of a corporation still fail to comply with their reporting obligations after the imposition of a second fine, the fine will increase to up to 10,800 Euro for a medium-sized corporation and up to 21,600 Euro for a large corporation. 

Partnerships (general partnerships and limited partnerships) 

The dissolution of a 

is reported to the companies register by all of the partners. The liquidators must report the end of liquidation and their signatures on the companies register submissions must be certified. (The partners also continue to be liable to the creditors.) 

When they have ceased to trade, partnerships can also be removed from the companies register without liquidation, if the partners have agreed on a method of dividing the assets and explain it in the application, indicating how the assets have been distributed. 

Corporations (private and public limited companies) 

Private limited company (GmbH)

Dissolution as a result of bankruptcy: 

Private limited companies are dissolved on the opening of bankruptcy proceedings and when a petition for bankruptcy is rejected due to lack of assets to cover the cost. The bankruptcy court informs the companies register, which must register the dissolution. 

Dissolution by resolution of the shareholders: 

The minutes of the general meeting of shareholders in which the resolution to dissolve and liquidate the company was passed must be certified by a notary. The indicator '... in liquidation' is added to the company name. 

The directors act as liquidators unless one or more other persons are appointed as liquidators under the articles of association or by resolution of the shareholders. The names of the liquidators must be registered in the companies register. A notice to creditors must then be published in the official gazette of the Wiener ZeitungGerman text and in any other publications specified in the articles of association. 

The notice invites the company's creditors to report to the liquidator. Known creditors must be informed immediately. 

The dissolved company cannot be removed from the companies register until three months after publication of the notice to creditors. 

The evidence of publication must be presented to the court keeping the companies register with the final petition. 

The liquidators must prepare an opening balance sheet at the start of liquidation. After realising the assets and satisfying the claims of creditors, a closing balance sheet must be prepared and presented to the competent tax office. If there are no tax-related issues with removal from the register, a clearance certificate will be issued by the office of the tax inspector responsible for collecting corporate taxes; this must be submitted for the company to be removed from the companies register

Public limited company (AG)

 A public limited company is also closed by winding up. The board is replaced by liquidators who are appointed by the general meeting of shareholders. If the meeting of shareholders does not pass a resolution to this effect and there are no provisions for liquidators in the statutes, the members of the board act as liquidators. A clearance certificate must also be presented to the companies register to remove the company. 

The assets cannot be distributed to the shareholders until a year after the notice to creditors has been published three times in the official gazette of the Wiener ZeitungGerman text.

The people charged with winding up the company must report the completion of the process to the companies register. 

Documents Required

Written application with certified signature, which must among other things include the reason for the removal. 

Expenses

Submission fee per tariff item 10 (I) (a) of the Gerichtsgebührengesetz (Austrian Court Proceedings Act):  The level of submission fees when removing a legal entity from the companies register depends on the type of legal entity and ranges from 18 Euro for sole proprietors to 206 Euro for private foundations or European Economic Interest Grouping (EEIG). If the submission and all certifications are not sent using the electronic legal mail system, the submission fee is 18 Euro higher. 
The cost of certifying the signature must be added to this. 

Additional Information

Your lawyer, tax advisor or accountant can provide further information. 

Further links 

Legal Basis

Expert Information

There is no expert information available.

To Form

There is no form available. 

Authentication and Signature

Not applicable

Remedies

Caution

The Companies Register Court can remove a corporation (GmbH or AG), a cooperative, or a private foundation on its own initiative if there are no assets. However, only the Chamber of Commerce (or other bodies legally empowered to represent interests or, for cooperatives, the competent auditors’ association) and the tax office are authorised to request the initiation of the process of removal due to a lack of assets. The shareholders or directors are not entitled to demand the initiation of a procedure of this type and have no right of appeal against a refusal by the court. 

Auxiliary and Problemsolving Services

There are no assistance or problem-solving services available. 

Translated by the European Commission
last update: 12 November 2020

responsible for content: Federal Ministry of Justice

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Löschung aus dem Firmenbuch

Allgemeine Informationen

Gesellschaften und andere im Firmenbuch eingetragene Rechtsträger sowie inländische Zweigniederlassungen ausländischer Rechtsträger müssen sich bei Beendigung ihrer Tätigkeit aus dem Firmenbuch löschen lassen.

Betroffene Unternehmen

Insbesondere Gesellschaften, die die betriebliche Tätigkeit beenden

Achtung

Diese Regelungen gelten grundsätzlich auch für Unternehmerinnen/Unternehmer aus EU-Mitgliedstaaten in Österreich.

Voraussetzungen

Beendigung der betrieblichen Tätigkeit

Fristen

Änderungen von Tatsachen, die im Firmenbuch eingetragen sind, müssen unverzüglich angemeldet werden.

Zuständige Stelle

Das Landesgericht (→ BMJ), in dessen Sprengel sich der Sitz des Unternehmens befindet

Verfahrensablauf

Die Beendigung einer Gesellschaft zerfällt in folgende Schritte:

Auflösung

  • Es muss ein Auflösungsgrund vorliegen: Die Auflösung wird durch Gesellschafterbeschluss (Beschluss der Hauptversammlung bei der AG) beschlossen, sie kann aber auch von Gesetzes wegen (z.B. bei Insolvenz) eintreten. Bei der Auflösung durch Gesellschafterbeschluss bei der GmbH (Beschluss der Hauptversammlung bei der AG) ist in der Generalversammlung die Auflösung der Gesellschaft zu beschließen, womit diese in das Stadium der Liquidation/Abwicklung tritt.

Liquidation bei der GmbH/Abwicklung bei der AG

  • Die Gesellschaft ändert ihren Zweck und verwandelt sich eine Abwicklungsgesellschaft. Unter Liquidation versteht man die Abwicklung der Geschäfte mit dem Ziel der geordneten wirtschaftlichen Abwicklung und der Löschung aus dem Firmenbuch nach Auflösung, sofern nicht ein Insolvenzverfahren über das Vermögen der Gesellschaft eröffnet ist. Der Beschluss der Auflösung ist beim Firmenbuch anzumelden. Die Liquidation ist kein Ersatz für ein Insolvenzverfahren im Falle der Überschuldung und/oder Zahlungsunfähigkeit des Unternehmens.
  • Grundsätzlich werden Liquidatorinnen/Liquidatoren bestellt durch:
    • Beschluss der Gesellschafterinnen/Gesellschafter (bei der AG durch Beschluss der Hauptversammlung)
    • den Gesellschaftsvertrag (bei der AG durch die Satzung)
  • Andernfalls erfolgt die Liquidation (bei der AG die Abwicklung) durch folgende Personen:
    • Bei Personengesellschaften: durch sämtliche Gesellschafterinnen/Gesellschafter
    • Bei der GmbH: durch die Geschäftsführerinnen/Geschäftsführer
    • Bei der Aktiengesellschaft: durch die Vorstandsmitglieder

Vollbeendigung und Löschung

  • Die endgültige Beendigung der Gesellschaft ist nochmals beim Firmenbuch anzumelden. Dabei sollte die Person bekannt gegeben werden, die zur Verwahrerin/zum Verwahrer der Schriften und Bücher bestellt wurde.

Die Auflösung der Gesellschaft in einem Konkursverfahren wird von Amts wegen im Firmenbuch eingetragen. Sodann ist die Gesellschaft zu liquidieren, d.h. das Gesellschaftsvermögen ist zu verteilen.

Hinweis

Das Firmenbuchgesetz ordnet die Verhängung von Zwangsstrafen über jene an, die ihren Verpflichtungen zur Anmeldung nicht nachkommen. Die Höhe der Zwangsstrafe kann bis zu 3.600 Euro betragen. Wenn die Anmeldung nicht innerhalb von zwei Monaten ab Rechtskraft des Strafbeschlusses nachgeholt wird, kann eine weitere Zwangsstrafe von bis zu 3.600 Euro verhängt werden.

Kommen die Vertreterinnen/Vertreter einer Kapitalgesellschaft ihren Anmeldeverpflichtungen auch nach der Verhängung einer zweiten Zwangsstrafe nicht nach, beträgt die Zwangsstrafe bei mittelgroßen Kapitalgesellschaften bis zu 10.800 Euro bzw. bei großen Kapitalgesellschaften bis zu 21.600 Euro.

Personengesellschaften (OGKG)

Die Anmeldung der Auflösung einer

beim Firmenbuch erfolgt durch alle Gesellschafterinnen/Gesellschafter. Die Beendigung der Liquidation ist durch die Liquidatorinnen/Liquidatoren anzumelden, deren Unterschriften auf den Firmenbucheingaben jeweils zu beglaubigen sind (die Gesellschafterinnen/Gesellschafter haften den Gläubigerinnen/Gläubigern gegenüber auch weiterhin).

Personengesellschaften können nach Einstellung des Unternehmens auch ohne Liquidation im Firmenbuch gelöscht werden, wenn sich die Gesellschafterinnen/Gesellschafter auf eine Art der Auseinandersetzung geeinigt haben, dies im Gesuch erklären und die Verteilung des Vermögens der Gesellschaft anzeigen.

Kapitalgesellschaften (GmbHAG)

Gesellschaft mit beschränkter Haftung (GmbH)

Auflösung durch Konkurs:
Durch die Eröffnung des Konkursverfahrens wird die Gesellschaft mit beschränkter Haftung (GmbH) aufgelöst, ebenso wenn der Antrag auf Konkurseröffnung mangels kostendeckenden Vermögens rechtskräftig abgewiesen wird. Das Konkursgericht verständigt das Firmenbuch, welches die Auflösung einzutragen hat.

Auflösung durch Gesellschafterbeschluss:
Der Beschluss auf Auflösung der Gesellschaft und Einleitung der Liquidation ist durch ein notarielles Generalversammlungsprotokoll zu beurkunden. Die Firma der Gesellschaft erhält den Zusatz "... in Liquidation".

Die Geschäftsführerinnen/Geschäftsführer treten als Liquidatorinnen/Liquidatoren ein, sofern nicht durch den Gesellschaftsvertrag oder einen Beschluss der Gesellschafterinnen/Gesellschafter eine oder mehrere andere Personen dazu bestellt wurden. Die Liquidatorinnen/Liquidatoren werden jedenfalls im Firmenbuch eingetragen. In der Folge ist der Gläubigeraufruf von der Gesellschaft im Amtsblatt zur Wiener Zeitung sowie – falls im Gesellschaftsvertrag vorgesehen – in allfälligen anderen Veröffentlichungsblättern zu verlautbaren.

Dabei sind die Gläubigerinnen/Gläubiger der Gesellschaft aufzufordern, sich bei der Liquidatorin/beim Liquidator zu melden. Bekannte Gläubigerinnen/Gläubiger sind unmittelbar zu benachrichtigen.

Die aufgelöste Gesellschaft kann erst nach einer Sperrfrist von drei Monaten nach dem Gläubigeraufruf im Firmenbuch gelöscht werden.

Die Belegblätter über die Veröffentlichung sind dem Firmenbuchgericht mit der Schlusseingabe vorzulegen.

Bei Beginn der Liquidation haben die Liquidatorinnen/Liquidatoren eine Liquidationseröffnungsbilanz zu erstellen. Nach Realisierung des Vermögens und Befriedigung der Gläubigerinnen/Gläubiger ist eine Liquidationsschlussbilanz zu erstellen und dem zuständigen Finanzamt vorzulegen. Nach Bezahlung der Körperschaftsteuer wird vom Finanzamt eine Unbedenklichkeitsbescheinigung ausgestellt, die zur Löschung der Gesellschaft dem Firmenbuch vorgelegt werden muss.

Aktiengesellschaft (AG)

Auch die Beendigung einer Aktiengesellschaft erfolgt in einem Abwicklungsverfahren. Anstelle des Vorstandes treten Abwicklerinnen/Abwickler. Die Bestellung dieser Personen erfolgt durch die Hauptversammlung. Gibt es keinen diesbezüglichen Beschluss der Hauptversammlung und enthält auch die Satzung keine Bestimmungen über die Liquidatorinnen/Liquidatoren, so treten die Vorstandsmitglieder als Liquidatorinnen/Liquidatoren auf. Zur Löschung der Aktiengesellschaft muss dem Firmenbuch ebenfalls eine Unbedenklichkeitsbescheinigung vorgelegt werden.

Erst nach Ablauf eines Sperrjahres nach erfolgter dreimaliger Veröffentlichung eines Gläubigeraufrufs im Amtsblatt zur Wiener Zeitung (→ WZ) darf mit der Verteilung des Vermögens an die Aktionärinnen/Aktionäre begonnen werden.

Die mit der Abwicklung betrauten Personen haben den Abschluss der Abwicklung zum Firmenbuch anzumelden.

Erforderliche Unterlagen

Schriftlicher Antrag mit beglaubigter Unterschrift, in dem unter anderem der Grund für die Löschung genannt werden muss.

Kosten

Die Höhe der Eingabengebühren bei Löschung eines Rechtsträgers aus dem Firmenbuch hängt von der Art des Rechtsträgers ab und variiert zwischen 19 Euro bei Einzelunternehmen und 220 Euro bei Privatstiftungen oder Europäischen wirtschaftlichen Interessenvereinigungen (EWIV). Wenn nicht die Eingabe und sämtliche Urkunden im elektronischen Rechtsverkehr übermittelt werden, erhöht sich die Eingabengebühr um 19 Euro. Hinzu kommen die Kosten für die Beglaubigung der Unterschrift.

Zusätzliche Informationen

Für nähere Informationen stehen Ihnen Ihre Rechtsanwältinnen/Rechtsanwälte, Steuerberaterinnen/Steuerberater, Wirtschaftstreuhänderinnen/Wirtschaftstreuhänder zur Verfügung.

Weiterführende Links

Rechtsgrundlagen

Experteninformation

Es steht keine Experteninformation zur Verfügung.

Zum Formular

Es steht kein Formular zur Verfügung.

Authentifizierung und Signatur

Keine Angaben

Rechtsbehelfe

Hinweis

Das Firmenbuchgericht kann eine Kapitalgesellschaft (GmbH oder AG), eine Genossenschaft oder eine Privatstiftung von sich aus löschen, wenn kein Vermögen vorhanden ist. Es sind jedoch nur die Wirtschaftskammer (oder die sonstige gesetzliche Interessenvertretung bzw. bei Genossenschaften der zuständige Revisionsverband) und das Finanzamt berechtigt, die Einleitung eines Löschungsverfahrens wegen Vermögenslosigkeit zu beantragen. Die Gesellschafterinnen/Gesellschafter bzw. die Geschäftsführerinnen/Geschäftsführer etc. haben kein Recht, die Einleitung eines derartigen Verfahrens zu verlangen. Sie haben auch kein Rekursrecht gegen ein ablehnendes Verhalten des Gerichts.

Hilfs- und Problemlösungsdienste

Es sind keine Hilfs- und Problemlösungsdienste vorhanden.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 1. Mai 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Justiz

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.