This website uses Cookies. You will accept these by click on the button "continue". For more information read our page "Private Policy".

Emergency Preparedness and Response for Practices

General Information

In the new Strahlenschutzgesetz 2020 (Radiation Protection Act 2020) and the new Allgemeine Strahlenschutzverordnung 2020 (General Radiation Protection Ordinance 2020), the requirements for emergency preparednessn and response for practices follow a graded approach. This means that the respective official regulations for certain practices take into account the different radiation risks associated with the respective practice. Accordingly, companies that carry out practices with a higher risk potential must take more extensive precautionary measures than those that carry out practicess with a lower risk potential. This also applies to the application documents for the licensing procedure. In the case of practices with a higher hazard potential, the application for a licence for  a practice must be accompanied by a safety analysis and an emergency plan (section 10 paragraphs 2 and 5 of the Allgemeine Strahlenschutzverordnung 2020). This is always required for practices involving dangerous radioactive sources.

Please note

Much more extensive requirements apply to emergency preparedness and response for the operation of research reactors and disposal facilities for the treatment of radioactive waste. Therefore, these are not considered here.

A distinction must be made between emergency preparedness and emergency response for practices. Emergency preparedness is used to prepare for a possible radiological emergency. If a radiological emergency occurs in connection with the practice being performed, the emergency response must be carried out immediately by the company or its workers.

Each licence holder is obliged to carry out the emergency response immediately in the event of an incident (§ 57 of the Radiation Protection Act 2020). The emergency response must, in any case, include:

  1. notifying the competent authority;
  2. taking all appropriate measures to reduce the consequences;
  3. perform an initial provisional assessment of the circumstances and an estimation of the consequences of the radiological emergency as well as
  4. assisting with the implementation of protective measures.

The obligation for emergency preparedness is found in § 59 of the Strahlenschutzgesetz 2020: "For the operation of nuclear installations and waste management facilities and for practices involving dangerous radioactive sources, the licensee shall make arrangements to protect workers in the event of a radiological emergency related to the practice performed." By preparing a safety analysis, the respective company is enabled to prepare for relevant emergency scenarios. The safety analysis must take into account the areas listed in Appendix 17 of the Allgemeine Strahlenschutzverordnung 2020.

Preparation for relevant emergency scenarios is carried out, among other things, by drawing up an emergency plan taking into account Appendix 11 of the Allgemeine Strahlenschutzverordnung 2020 and by conducting emergency drills. Further specifications for reviewing and updating the safety analysis and the emergency plan can be found in § 78 of the Allgemeine Strahlenschutzverordnung 2020.

Enterprises Affected

  • Emergency response: all licence holders
  • Emergency precautions:
    • Companies that carry out practices involving dangerous radioactive sources (section 10 paragraph 2 of the  Allgemeine Strahlenschutzverordnung 2020)
    • Companies where the authority is of the opinion that the nature of the intended practice and the associated radiation risk require emergency preparedness (section 10 paragraph 5 of the Allgemeine Strahlenschutzverordnung 2020)

Deadline

See "Activities Involving Radiation Sources Subject to Authorisation".

Competent Authority

See "Activities Involving Radiation Sources Subject to Authorisation".

Procedure

See "Activities Involving Radiation Sources Subject to Authorisation".

Expenses

See "Activities Involving Radiation Sources Subject to Authorisation".

Additional Information

Further Links

Legal Basis

Expert Information

There is no expert information available.

last update: 9 February 2021

responsible for content: Federal Ministry for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology

Notfallvorsorge und -reaktion bei Tätigkeiten

Allgemeine Informationen

Die Anforderungen an die Notfallvorsorge und -reaktion bei Tätigkeiten folgen in den Neufassungen des Strahlenschutzgesetzes 2020 und der Allgemeinen Strahlenschutzverordnung 2020 einem abgestuften Zugang. Das bedeutet, dass die jeweiligen behördlichen Vorgaben für bestimmte Tätigkeiten dem unterschiedlichen Strahlenrisiko, das mit der jeweiligen Tätigkeit verbunden ist, Rechnung tragen. Demnach haben Unternehmen, die Tätigkeiten mit höherem Gefahrenpotential ausüben, umfangreichere Vorkehrungen zu treffen als jene, die Tätigkeiten mit geringerem Gefahrenpotential ausüben. Dies betrifft auch die Antragsunterlagen für das Bewilligungsverfahren. Bei Tätigkeiten mit höherem Gefahrenpotential ist dem Antrag auf Bewilligung einer Tätigkeit eine Sicherheitsanalyse und ein Notfallplan anzuschließen (§ 10 Abs 2 und 5 Allgemeine Strahlenschutzverordnung 2020). Für Tätigkeiten mit gefährlichen radioaktiven Quellen ist dies immer erforderlich.

Hinweis

Für die Notfallvorsorge und -reaktion für den Betrieb von Forschungsreaktoren und Entsorgungsanlagen zur Behandlung von radioaktiven Abfällen gelten weitaus umfangreichere Anforderungen. Daher werden diese hier nicht berücksichtigt.

Zu unterscheiden sind die Notfallvorsorge und die Notfallreaktion bei Tätigkeiten. Die Notfallvorsorge dient der Vorbereitung auf einen eventuellen radiologischen Notfall. Tritt ein radiologischer Notfall in Zusammenhang mit der ausgeübten Tätigkeit ein, muss unmittelbar die Notfallreaktion durch das Unternehmen beziehungsweise seine Arbeitskräfte erfolgen.

Jede Bewilligungsinhaberin/jeder Bewilligungsinhaber ist verpflichtet, die Notfallreaktion im Anlassfall unverzüglich durchzuführen. Die Notfallreaktion hat jedenfalls zu umfassen:

  1. der zuständigen Behörde Meldung zu erstatten,
  2. alle angemessenen Maßnahmen zur Verringerung der Folgen zu treffen,
  3. eine vorläufige erste Bewertung der Umstände und Abschätzung der Folgen des radiologischen Notfalls vorzunehmen sowie
  4. bei der Durchführung von Schutzmaßnahmen Hilfe zu leisten.

Die Verpflichtung zur Notfallvorsorge findet sich in § 59 Strahlenschutzgesetz 2020: "Die Bewilligungsinhaberin/der Bewilligungsinhaber hat für den Betrieb von kerntechnischen Anlagen und Entsorgungsanlagen sowie für Tätigkeiten mit gefährlichen radioaktiven Quellen Vorsorge zum Schutz der Arbeitskräfte bei einem radiologischen Notfall im Zusammenhang mit der ausgeübten Tätigkeit zu treffen." Durch die Erstellung einer Sicherheitsanalyse wird das jeweilige Unternehmen in die Lage versetzt, sich auf relevante Notfallszenarien vorzubereiten. Die Sicherheitsanalyse hat die in Anlage 17 Allgemeine Strahlenschutzverordnung 2020 genannten Bereiche zu berücksichtigen.

Die Vorbereitung auf relevante Notfallszenarien geschieht unter anderem durch die Erstellung eines Notfallplans unter Berücksichtigung von Anlage 11 Allgemeine Strahlenschutzverordnung 2020 und die Durchführung von Notfallübungen. Weitere Festlegungen zur Überprüfung und Aktualisierung der Sicherheitsanalyse und des Notfallplans finden sich in § 78 Allgemeine Strahlenschutzverordnung 2020.

Betroffene Unternehmen

  • Notfallreaktion: alle Bewilligungsinhaberinnen/Bewilligungsinhaber
  • Notfallvorsorge:
    • Unternehmen, die Tätigkeiten mit gefährlichen radioaktiven Quellen ausüben (§ 10 Abs 2 Allgemeine Strahlenschutzverordnung 2020)
    • Unternehmen, bei denen die Behörde der Ansicht ist, dass die Art der beabsichtigten Tätigkeit und das damit verbundene Strahlenrisiko eine Notfallvorsorge erfordern (§ 10 Abs 5 Allgemeine Strahlenschutzverordnung 2020)

Fristen

Siehe "Bewilligungspflichtige Tätigkeiten mit Strahlenquellen".

Zuständige Stelle

Siehe "Bewilligungspflichtige Tätigkeiten mit Strahlenquellen".

Verfahrensablauf

Siehe "Bewilligungspflichtige Tätigkeiten mit Strahlenquellen".

Kosten

Siehe "Bewilligungspflichtige Tätigkeiten mit Strahlenquellen".

Zusätzliche Informationen

Weiterführende Links

Rechtsgrundlagen

Experteninformation

Es steht keine Experteninformation zur Verfügung.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 9. Februar 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Energie, Mobilität, Innovation und Technologie