Radiation Protection in the Case of Radon

General Information

In some areas in which people are present for occupational reasons, naturally occurring radioactive substances can lead to increased radiation exposure. One of those substances is the radioactive gas radon.

Increased exposure to radon can have different causes. On the one hand, there are work areas where increased radon concentrations may occur irrespective of the location of the establishment. These are underground areas of mines, shafts, tunnels and caves as well as water supply companies or radon health resorts, where radon escapes from the water into the indoor air.

On the other hand, due to the characteristics of the soil, there are geographical areas in Austria where high indoor radon concentrations occur in a comparatively large number of buildings. In Annex 1 of the Radon Protection Ordinance, these areas are established as radon protection areas at municipal level. In radon protection areas, all workplaces on the ground floor or cellar floors are affected.

Specifications for this can be found in § 98 of the Strahlenschutzgesetz 2020 and in the Radonschutzverordnung.

In order to comply with the protection of workers, the person responsible for the workplace must arrange for the determination of the radon concentration at the place of work. For this purpose, the person responsible shall commission a certified monitoring service. Any further obligations will depend on the radon concentration determined. A list of certified monitoring servicesGerman text can be found on the website of the Federal Ministry for Climate Protection, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology.

When commissioning the certified monitoring service, a unique identification number must be given. In EDM (Electronic Data Management of the Federal Government; edm.gv.atGerman text), the BMK provides the technical requirements for generating this unique identification of the location:

When registering, the company details are given and the activity profile “Owner of a location with the obligation to record radon exposure at the workplace” is selected. After receiving the login details and logging in, the locations affected by the measurement obligation are recorded under the menu item “ZAReg master data maintenance” (Stammdatenpflege). Each location is now displayed with a "Global Location Number" (GLN), which has to be transmitted to the certified monitoring service as a unique location identification in the course of commissioning a measurement.

Instructions for registering and recording locationsGerman text in EDM are available at edm.gv.atGerman text.
 

Please note

There are exceptions to the obligation to determine radon concentrations (Section 6 of the Radonschutzverordnung). If at least one of the conditions mentioned there applies to all workplaces, a measurement of the radon concentration does not need to be commissioned. In the case of workstations on the ground floor and basement in radon protection areas, this fact must be brought to the attention of the competent authority in writing, stating the identification number of the location.

Further obligations depend on the result of the measurement of the radon concentration. If the radon concentration determined is below the reference level at all workplaces, no further action is required.

If at least at one workplace the radon concentration determined is above the reference level, it should first be attempted to apply constructional measures to reduce the radon exposure at the workplace concerned. In most cases, it will be possible to achieve a permanent reduction of the radon concentration with relatively little effort, if expert procedures are followed. A control measurement is necessary to check the effectiveness of the measures taken.  

If the radon concentration determined during the control measurement is below the reference level at all workplaces, no further action is required. If the radon concentration determined during the control measurement is still above the reference level and if further constructional measures are not economically justifiable, a dose estimate must be initiated by a certified monitoring service.

As soon as the results of the dose estimate are available, information on the radon measurement, the dose estimate and the measures taken must be reported to the competent radiation protection authority. If necessary, a statement can be made explaining why further optimisation measures are unacceptable.

Further obligations will depend on the result of the dose estimation and the assessment of the reported information by the competent authority (Section 100 (5)–(8) of the Strahlenschutzgesetz 2020).

Please note

After relevant structural changes to the building or organisational changes, a radon measurement must be carried out again. The relevant changes are defined in the Radonschutzverordnung.

Enterprises Affected

Companies with places of work in water supply companies, underground areas of mines, shafts, tunnels and caves, in show mines and show caves and radon health resorts

Companies in radon protection areas with workplaces on ground floor or cellar floors

Deadlines

Initiation of a radon measurement by a certified monitoring service within six months after commencement of work in accordance with Section 100 of the Strahlenschutzgesetz 2020.

If the establishment in question was already in existence when the Strahlenschutzgesetz 2020 came into force (1 August 2020), radon measurements by a certified monitoring service must be initiated by 31 July 2022 at the latest (transitional period).

Depending on the result of the radon measurement, the following deadlines have to be met according to Section 100 of the Strahlenschutzgesetz 2020:

  • If the radon concentration at the time of the initial measurement exceeds the reference level: 18 months from the date the results are available for taking measures, initiating a control measurement and initiating a dose estimate if the result of the control measurement still exceeds the reference level
  • Four weeks from the date the results of the dose estimation are available for reporting to the competent authority

Further deadlines will depend on the result of the dose estimate and the assessment of the reported information by the competent authority (Section 100 (5)–(8) of the Strahlenschutzgesetz 2020).

Please note

In order to benefit from an exemption from the measurement obligation, the authority must be notified thereof. There is no explicit deadline for this. However, failure to initiate the radon measurement is an administrative offence. Therefore, it is advisable to give notification of an applicable exemption within the time limits that apply to initiate the measurement.

Competent authority

The governor, represented by the respective office of the provincial government. If the establishment is subject to the Mineral Raw Materials Act, the competent authority in accordance with the Mineralrohstoffgesetz is also responsible for radon protection.

Procedure

For “increased radon exposure at the workplace”, no radiation protection licence is required. However, if the company fails to comply with reporting obligations and/or fails to take adequate radiation protection measures, the authority will initiate radiation protection proceedings ex officio.

There is an obligation to report to the competent authority as soon as the results of the dose estimation are available. With this notification, information on the radon measurement, the dose estimation and the measures taken shall be transmitted to the competent radiation protection authority (Section 100 (4) of the Strahlenschutzgesetz 2020). If necessary, a statement can justify why further optimisation measures are unacceptable.

Please note

The "user area EBB" in EDM can be used as a communication platform between the person obliged to measure and the authority and thus shorten the processing time of documents or simplify the processing.

Further information

Further links

Legal bases

Expert Information

No expert information is available.

Last update: 18 May 2021

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology

Strahlenschutz bei Radon

Allgemeine Informationen

In einigen Bereichen oder Räumen, in denen sich Personen berufsbedingt aufhalten, kann es durch natürlich vorkommende radioaktive Stoffe zu einer erhöhten Strahlenbelastung kommen. Einer dieser Stoffe ist das radioaktive Gas Radon.

Die erhöhte Strahlenexposition durch Radon kann unterschiedliche Ursachen haben. Einerseits gibt es Arbeitsbereiche, die unabhängig von ihrer geografischen Lage eine erhöhte Radonbelastung aufweisen. Das sind unterirdische Arbeitsbereiche (z.B. Stollen, Schauhöhlen) oder Bereiche in Wasserversorgungsanlagen und Radon-Kuranstalten, wo Radon aus dem Wasser in die Raumluft entweicht.

Andererseits gibt es geografische Gebiete in Österreich, in denen es wegen der Eigenschaften des Bodens bei vergleichsweise vielen Gebäuden zu hohen Radonkonzentrationen in Innenräumen kommt. In Anlage 1 der Radonschutzverordnung werden diese auf Gemeindeebene als Radonschutzgebiete ausgewiesen. Betroffen sind hier Arbeitsplätze im Erd- und Kellergeschoß.

Festlegungen dazu finden Sie in § 98 Strahlenschutzgesetz 2020 und der Radonschutzverordnung.

Um dem Schutz der Arbeitskräfte nachzukommen, muss jene Person, die für die Arbeitsplätze verantwortlich ist, die Ermittlung der Radonkonzentration an jedem dieser Arbeitsplätze veranlassen. Dafür muss sie eine ermächtigte Überwachungsstelle beauftragen. Eine Liste der ermächtigten Überwachungsstellen findet sich auf den Seiten des Bundesministeriums für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Energie, Innovation, Mobilität und Technologie (BMK).

Bei der Beauftragung der Überwachungsstelle ist eine eindeutige Identifizierungsnummer anzugeben. Das BMK stellt in EDM (Elektronisches Datenmanagement des Bundes – edm.gv.at) die technischen Voraussetzungen zur Generierung dieser eindeutigen Standort-Identifizierung zur Verfügung:

Bei der Registrierung werden die Unternehmensdaten angegeben und als Tätigkeitsprofil "Inhaber eines Standortes mit der Verpflichtung zur Erhebung der Radonexposition am Arbeitsplatz" ausgewählt. Nach Erhalt der Zugangsdaten und dem Login werden unter dem Menüpunkt "ZAReg Stammdatenpflege" die von der Messverpflichtung betroffenen Standorte angelegt. Es wird nun jeder Standort mit einer "Global Location Number" (GLN) angezeigt, die im Zuge der Beauftragung einer Messung als eindeutige Standort-Identifizierung an die Überwachungsstelle zu übermitteln ist.

Eine Anleitung zur Registrierung und zum Anlegen der Standorte in EDM steht unter edm.gv.at zur Verfügung.

Hinweis

Es gibt Ausnahmen von der Verpflichtung zur Erhebung der Radonkonzentration (§ 6 Radonschutzverordnung). Trifft an allen Arbeitsplätzen mindestens eine der dort genannten Voraussetzungen zu, muss keine Erhebung der Radonkonzentration beauftragt werden. Bei Arbeitsplätzen im Erd- und Kellergeschoß in Radonschutzgebieten ist dieser Sachverhalt der zuständigen Behörde unter Angabe der Identifizierungsnummer des Standortes schriftlich zur Kenntnis zu bringen.

Die weiteren Verpflichtungen hängen von der erhobenen Radonkonzentration ab. Liegt die erhobene Radonkonzentration an allen Arbeitsplätzen unterhalb des Referenzwerts, sind keine weiteren Veranlassungen notwendig.

Liegt die erhobene Radonkonzentration an mindestens einem Arbeitsplatz über dem Referenzwert, so sollte zunächst versucht werden, durch bauliche Maßnahmen die Radonbelastung an den betreffenden Arbeitsplätzen zu verringern. In den meisten Fällen wird es bei fachkundiger Vorgangsweise möglich sein, mit relativ geringem Aufwand eine dauerhafte Senkung der Radonkonzentration zu erzielen. Zur Überprüfung der Wirksamkeit der gesetzten Maßnahmen ist eine Kontrollmessung notwendig.

Liegt die erhobene Radonkonzentration bei der Kontrollmessung an allen Arbeitsplätzen unterhalb des Referenzwerts, sind keine weiteren Veranlassungen notwendig. Liegt die erhobene Radonkonzentration bei der Kontrollmessung weiterhin über dem Referenzwert und sind weitere bauliche Maßnahmen ökonomisch nicht vertretbar, muss eine Dosisabschätzung durch eine ermächtigte Überwachungsstelle veranlasst werden.

Sobald die Ergebnisse der Dosisabschätzung vorliegen, sind Informationen zu der Radonmessung, der Dosisabschätzung und den durchgeführten Maßnahmen an die zuständige Strahlenschutzbehörde zu melden. Gegebenenfalls kann in einer Stellungnahme begründet werden, warum weitere Maßnahmen unzumutbar sind.

Weitere Verpflichtungen sind abhängig vom Ergebnis der Dosisabschätzung und von der Beurteilung der gemeldeten Informationen durch die zuständige Behörde (§ 100 Abs 5 bis 8 Strahlenschutzgesetz 2020).

Hinweis

Nach relevanten Veränderungen muss neuerlich eine Radonmessung durchgeführt werden. In der Radonschutzverordnung sind die relevanten Änderungen definiert.

Betroffene Unternehmen

Unternehmen mit Arbeitsplätzen in Wasserversorgungsunternehmen, untertägigen Bereichen von Bergwerken, Schächten, Stollen, Tunneln und Höhlen, in Schaubergwerken und Schauhöhlen sowie in Radon-Kureinrichtungen

Unternehmen in Radonschutzgebieten mit Arbeitsplätzen in Erd- oder Kellergeschoßen

Fristen

Veranlassung einer Radonmessung durch eine ermächtigte Überwachungsstelle innerhalb von sechs Monaten nach Aufnahme der Arbeit gemäß § 100 Strahlenschutzgesetz 2020.

Bestand die betreffende Betriebsstätte bereits beim Inkrafttreten des Strahlenschutzgesetzes 2020 (1. August 2020), so ist die Radonmessung durch eine ermächtigte Überwachungsstelle bis spätestens 31. Juli 2022 zu veranlassen (Übergangsfrist).

Abhängig vom Ergebnis der Radonmessung sind folgende Fristen gemäß § 100 Strahlenschutzgesetz 2020 einzuhalten:

  • Überschreitet die Radonkonzentration bei der Erstmessung den Referenzwert: 18 Monate ab Vorliegen des Ergebnisses zum Setzen von Maßnahmen, Veranlassen einer Kontrollmessung und Veranlassen einer Dosisabschätzung, falls der Referenzwert bei der Kontrollmessung weiterhin überschritten wird
  • Ab Vorliegen des Ergebnisses der Dosisabschätzung: vier Wochen für Meldung an die zuständige Behörde

Weitere Fristen sind abhängig vom Ergebnis der Dosisabschätzung von der Beurteilung der übermittelten Informationen durch die zuständige Behörde (§ 100 Abs 5 bis 8 Strahlenschutzgesetz 2020).

Hinweis

Um eine Ausnahme von der Messverpflichtung in Anspruch zu nehmen, muss diese der Behörde gemeldet werden. Hierfür ist keine explizite Frist vorgesehen. Allerdings ist das Unterlassen der Veranlassung der Radonmessung eine Verwaltungsstraftat. Daher ist es ratsam, eine zutreffende Ausnahme innerhalb jener Fristen zu melden, die für die Veranlassung der Messung gelten.

Zuständige Stelle

Der Landeshauptmann beziehungsweise die Landeshauptfrau, vertreten durch das jeweilige Amt der Landesregierung. Unterliegt der Betrieb dem Mineralrohstoffgesetz, ist die gemäß Mineralrohstoffgesetz zuständige Behörde auch für den Radonschutz zuständig.

Verfahrensablauf

Für "erhöhte Radonexposition am Arbeitsplatz" ist keine strahlenschutzrechtliche Bewilligung erforderlich. Die Behörde wird aber, wenn vom Unternehmen Meldepflichten nicht eingehalten und/oder keine adäquaten Strahlenschutzmaßnahmen gesetzt werden, von Amts wegen ein Strahlenschutzverfahren eröffnen.

Es besteht eine Meldepflicht an die zuständige Behörde, sobald die Ergebnisse der Dosisabschätzung vorliegen. Mit dieser Meldung sind Informationen zu der Radonmessung, der Dosisabschätzung und den durchgeführten Maßnahmen an die zuständige Strahlenschutzbehörde zu übermitteln (§ 100 Abs 4 Strahlenschutzgesetz 2020). Gegebenenfalls kann in einer Stellungnahme begründet werden, warum weitere Optimierungsmaßnahmen unzumutbar sind.

Hinweis

Der "Benutzerbereich – EBB" in EDM kann als Kommunikationsplattform zwischen Messverpflichteter/Messverpflichtetem und Behörde genutzt werden und so die Bearbeitungszeit von Dokumenten verkürzen beziehungsweise die Bearbeitung vereinfachen.

Zusätzliche Informationen

Weiterführende Links

Rechtsgrundlagen

Experteninformation

Es steht keine Experteninformation zur Verfügung.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 18. Mai 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Energie, Mobilität, Innovation und Technologie