This website uses Cookies. You will accept these by click on the button "continue". For more information read our page "Private Policy".

Radiation Protection Registers

General Information

The central radiation protection registers have been in operation since the Allgemeine Strahlenschutzverordnung 2006 (General Radiation Protection Ordinance 2006) came into force. This has made it possible to comply with the reporting obligations under radiation protection law online. The radiation protection registers can be accessed both by those obliged to report and by authorities within the scope of their jurisdiction.

The database is operated by the Federal Ministry for Climate Protection, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology.

Access to the central radiation protection registers is provided at strahlenregister.gv.at (→ BMK)German text (Central Dose Register) and edm.gv.at (→ BMK)German text (Central Source Register). After registration of the person responsible for registration/reporting, the access authorisation is checked and access is activated.

The Central Register of Radiation Sources

Holders of a radiation protection licence are required to register. This also includes holders of type approval. The notification obligations also extend to users of type-approved equipment.

Notification is required for sealed radioactive substances, abandoned (i.e. found) sources, radioactively contaminated material and type-approved equipment.

Innovations with the entry into force of the new radiation protection law on 1 August 2020

Sealed radioactive sources must continue to be administered in the Central Source Register (→ BMK)German text, although the import notification must now also be submitted using the forms provided in the application. This does not mean any additional work for the user but makes it easier to allocate the imported sources and prevents duplicates in the database.

Holders of a type approval continue to have the obligation to give notification about the placing on the market of such devices. However, this notification must now be made immediately and covers not only equipment containing radioactive substances but also pure X-ray equipment.

Also, new is the obligation of the user of a type-approved device to administer it in the Central Source Register (→ BMK)German text. This includes reports of a transfer, if radioactive materials are contained, also of the shipment, the disposal as radioactive waste and a loss or theft.

The obligation to draw up an annual activity balance is no longer applicable. However, the Central Source Register (→ BMK)German text will continue to provide this function and thus offer those obliged to report the data the opportunity to clearly compare the receipt and transfer with reports from foreign transporters in accordance with Council Regulation 1493/93/Euratom.

The Central Dose Registry

The Central Dose Register (→ BMK)German text stores the results of physical and medical checks on exposed workers.

Data from physical monitoring are transferred from the approved dosimetric service to the Central Dose Register (BMK)German text. These are, for example, results of personal dosimetry, incorporation monitoring or dose determination for flying personnel. A prerequisite is that the holder of the radiation protection licence has passed on the complete data for the company and the exposed worker to the dosimetric service.

Approved physicians, occupational health services and hospitals that perform examinations according to the Allgemeine Strahlenschutzverordnung 2020 (General Radiation Protection Ordinance 2020) will transfer the results of the health assessment to the database.

Holders of a licence for the employment of external personnel will have access to the Central Dose Registry. This is required to apply for and administer radiation protection passports online (for example, registration of the monthly dose balance).

Innovations with the entry into force of the new radiation protection law on 1 August 2020

Significant changes concern the radiation protection passport. This is now only obligatory for external workers working abroad and can now also be issued for category B exposed workers. This removes administrative hurdles, which for example, affected students in foreign research institutions. The radiation protection passport fee for issuing radiation protection passports is no longer applicable.

Further facilitation is the omission of the final examinations for category A exposed workers.

In connection with natural radiation, new exposure situations have been defined and included in the list of "fields of activity" to be reported to the approved dosimetric service.

Enterprises Affected

Holders of radiation protection licences who employ exposed workers must arrange for the determination of the personal dose and (for exposed persons in Category A) for the assessment of their health suitability. This also applies to companies that are obliged to determine doses due to increased radiation exposure during work with natural radioactive substances or due to radon at the workplace. The transfer of the data to the Central Dose Register (→ BMK)German text is carried out by the approved dosimetric service.

If a licence holder intends to use workers in foreign-controlled or monitored areas abroad, a radiation protection passport must be applied for.

Each licence holder who holds sealed radioactive substances is obliged to report to the Central Source Register (→ BMK)German text. Anyone who intends to transport sealed radioactive substances from abroad to Austria or from Austria to another country is also required to notify the Central Source Register (see Shipment of Radioactive Substances).

The marketing of type-approved equipment (now also pure X-ray equipment) must be recorded immediately in the Central Source Register (→ BMK)German text by the holder of the type-approval. The user must be registered in the system in order to administer the equipment (and, if applicable, the radioactive source) in the Central Source Register. A notification obligation exists in the case of purchase, transfer, return to the manufacturer or the holder of the type approval, shipment, disposal as radioactive waste, loss or theft.

Requirements

Registration in the Central Source Register

  • as a holder of a radiation protection licence
  • as a holder of a type approval
  • as a user of a type-approved device

Registration in the Central Dose Registry

  • as a holder of a licence for work carried out by external workers, provided that this work is carried out abroad and the external workers require radiation protection passports
  • as an approved dosimetric service
  • as an approved physician

Competent Authority

The radiation protection registers are kept by the Federal Ministry for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology (→ BMK).

Contact: strahlenregister@bmk.gv.at

Procedure

The use of the Central Radiation Protection Register does not require any official procedure – apart from the one-time registration and activation by the competent authority.

Registration is carried out at strahlenregister.gv.at (→ BMK)German text (Central Dose Registry) or edm.gv.at (→ BMK)German text (Central Source Registry).

Expenses

The use of the central radiation protection registers is free of charge.

Additional Information

Further links

Legal Basis

Expert Information

last update: 9 February 2021

responsible for content: Federal Ministry for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology

Der Gebrauch von Cookies erlaubt uns Ihre Erfahrungen auf dieser Website zu optimieren. Wir verwenden Cookies zu Statistikzwecken und zur Qualitätssicherung. Durch Fortfahren auf unserer Website stimmen Sie dieser Verwendung zu. Erfahren Sie mehr

Strahlenschutzregister

Allgemeine Informationen

Die Zentralen Strahlenschutzregister sind seit Inkrafttreten der Allgemeinen Strahlenschutzverordnung 2006 in Betrieb. Es wurde damit die Möglichkeit geschaffen, den strahlenschutzrechtlichen Meldeverpflichtungen online nachzukommen. Auf die Strahlenschutzregister haben sowohl die Meldeverpflichteten als auch Behörden im Rahmen ihrer Zuständigkeit Zugriff.

Datenbankbetreiber ist das Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Energie, Mobilität, Innovation und Technologie.

Der Zugang zu den Zentralen Strahlenschutzregistern erfolgt unter www.strahlenregister.gv.at (→ BMK) (Zentrales Dosisregister) und www.edm.gv.at (→ BMK) (Zentrales Quellenregister). Nach Registrierung der Meldeverantwortlichen/des Meldeverantwortlichen wird die Zugangsberechtigung geprüft und der Zugang freigeschaltet.

Das Zentrale Quellenregister

Meldepflichtig sind Inhaberinnen/Inhaber einer strahlenschutzrechtlichen Bewilligung. Dazu zählen auch Inhaberinnen/Inhaber einer Bauartzulassung. Die Meldepflichten erstrecken sich auch auf die Verwenderinnen/die Verwender von bauartzugelassenen Geräten.

Zu melden sind umschlossene radioaktive Stoffe, herrenlose (also aufgefundene) Strahlenquellen, radioaktiv kontaminiertes Material sowie bauartzugelassene Geräte.

Neuerungen mit Inkrafttreten des neuen Strahlenschutzrechts am 1. August 2020

Umschlossene radioaktive Stoffe sind weiterhin im Zentralen Quellenregister zu administrieren, wobei nun auch schon die Meldung der Einfuhr über die in der Anwendung zur Verfügung gestellten Formulare zu erfolgen hat. Dies bedeutet für den Anwender keinen Mehraufwand, erleichtert aber die Zuordnung der eingeführten Quellen und verhindert Duplikate in der Datenbank.

Inhaberinnen/Inhaber einer Bauartzulassung haben weiterhin die Pflicht, das Inverkehrbringen der Geräte zu melden. Diese Meldung hat jedoch nunmehr unverzüglich zu erfolgen und umfasst nicht nur Geräte, die radioaktive Stoffe enthalten, sondern auch reine Röntgengeräte.

Neu ist auch die Pflicht der Verwenderin/des Verwenders eines bauartzugelassenen Gerätes, dieses im Zentralen Quellenregister zu administrieren. Dazu gehören die Meldungen über eine Weitergabe, wenn radioaktive Stoffe enthalten sind auch über die Verbringung, die Abgabe als radioaktiver Abfall sowie einen Verlust oder Diebstahl.

Die Pflicht zur Erstellung einer jährlichen Aktivitätsbilanz entfällt. Das Zentrale Quellenregister stellt die Funktion jedoch weiterhin zur Verfügung und bietet Meldeverpflichteten damit die Möglichkeit, Bezug und Abgabe den Meldungen ausländischer Verbringer gemäß 1493/93/Euratom übersichtlich gegenüber zu stellen.

Das Zentrale Dosisregister

Im Zentralen Dosisregister werden die Ergebnisse der physikalischen und ärztlichen Kontrolle strahlenexponierter Arbeitskräfte gespeichert.

Daten aus der physikalischen Überwachung werden von den ermächtigten Dosismessstellen in das Zentrale Dosisregister übertragen. Dabei handelt es sich beispielsweise um Ergebnisse der Personendosimetrie, Inkorporationsüberwachung oder Dosisermittlung für fliegendes Personal. Voraussetzung ist, dass die Inhaberin/der Inhaber der strahlenschutzrechtlichen Bewilligung die Angaben zum Unternehmen und zur strahlenexponierten Arbeitskraft vollständig an die Messstelle weitergegeben hat.

Ermächtigte Ärztinnen und Ärzte, arbeitsmedizinische Dienste und Krankenanstalten die Untersuchungen gemäß Allgemeine Strahlenschutzverordnung 2020 durchführen, übertragen die gesundheitliche Beurteilung in die Datenbank.

Inhaberinnen/Inhaber einer Genehmigung für die Beschäftigung externer Arbeitskräfte erhalten Zugang zum Zentralen Dosisregister. Dieser wird benötigt, um Strahlenschutzpässe online zu beantragen und zu administrieren (z.B. Eintragung der monatlichen Dosisbilanzierung).

Neuerungen mit Inkrafttreten des neuen Strahlenschutzrechts am 1. August 2020

Wesentliche Änderungen betreffen den Strahlenschutzpass. Dieser ist nur mehr für im Ausland tätige externe Arbeitskräfte verpflichtend und kann nun auch für strahlenexponierte Arbeitskräfte der Kategorie B ausgestellt werden. Damit werden administrative Hürden beseitigt, die beispielsweise Studierende in ausländischen Forschungseinrichtungen betrafen. Die Strahlenschutzpass-Gebühr für die Ausstellung der Strahlenschutzpässe entfällt.

Eine weitere Erleichterung ist der Wegfall der Enduntersuchungen bei strahlenexponierten Arbeitskräften der Kategorie A.

Im Zusammenhang mit natürlicher Strahlung wurden neue Expositionssituationen definiert und in die Liste der "Tätigkeitsfelder" aufgenommen, die an die ermächtigte Dosismessstelle zu melden sind.

Betroffene Unternehmen

Inhaberinnen/Inhaber strahlenschutzrechtlicher Bewilligungen die strahlenexponierte Arbeitskräfte beschäftigen, haben die Ermittlung der Personendosis und – für beruflich strahlenexponierte Personen der Kategorie A − die Beurteilung der gesundheitlichen Eignung zu veranlassen. Dies gilt auch für Unternehmen, die aufgrund einer erhöhten Strahlenexposition bei Arbeiten mit natürlichen radioaktiven Stoffen oder durch Radon am Arbeitsplatz zur Dosisermittlung verpflichtet sind. Die Übertragung der Daten in das Zentrale Dosisregister erfolgt durch die ermächtigten Dosismessstellen.

Beabsichtigt eine Genehmigungsinhaberin/ein Genehmigungsinhaber, Arbeitskräfte in fremden Kontroll- oder Überwachungsbereichen im Ausland einzusetzen, so ist für diese ein Strahlenschutzpass zu beantragen.

Dem Zentralen Quellenregister gegenüber meldepflichtig ist jede Bewilligungsinhaberin/jeder Bewilligungsinhaber, die/der umschlossene radioaktive Stoffe besitzt. Meldepflichtig ist auch, wer beabsichtigt umschlossene radioaktive Stoffe aus dem Ausland in das Inland oder vom Inland in das Ausland zu verbringen (siehe Verbringung radioaktiver Stoffe).

Das Inverkehrbringen bauartzugelassener Geräte − nun auch reiner Röntgengeräte − ist durch die Zulassungsinhaberin/den Zulassungsinhaber unverzüglich im Zentralen Quellenregister zu erfassen. Die Verwenderin/der Verwender muss im System registriert sein, um das Gerät (und gegebenenfalls die radioaktive Quelle) im Zentralen Quellenregister zu administrieren. Eine Meldepflicht besteht beim Bezug, bei einer Weitergabe, der Rückgabe an die Herstellerin/den Hersteller oder die Inhaberin/den Inhaber der Bauartzulassung, Verbringung, der Abgabe als radioaktiver Abfall sowie bei Verlust oder Diebstahl.

Voraussetzungen

Registrierung im Zentralen Quellenregister

  • als Inhaberin/Inhaber einer strahlenschutzrechtlichen Bewilligung
  • als Inhaberin/Inhaber einer Bauartzulassung
  • als Verwenderin/Verwender eines bauartzugelassenen Gerätes

Registrierung im Zentralen Dosisregister

  • als Genehmigungsinhaberin/Genehmigungsinhaber für Arbeiten externer Arbeitskräfte, sofern diese Arbeiten im Ausland durchgeführt werden und die externen Arbeitskräfte Strahlenschutzpässe benötigen
  • als ermächtigte Dosismessstelle
  • als ermächtigte Ärztin/ermächtigter Arzt

Zuständige Stelle

Die Strahlenschutzregister werden vom Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Energie, Mobilität, Innovation und Technologie (→ BMK) geführt.

Kontakt: strahlenregister@bmk.gv.at

Verfahrensablauf

Die Nutzung der Zentralen Strahlenschutzregister bedarf – außer der einmaligen Registrierung und Freischaltung durch die zuständige Stelle – keines behördlichen Verfahrens.

Die Registrierung erfolgt unter www.strahlenregister.gv.at (→ BMK) (Zentrales Dosisregister) bzw. www.edm.gv.at (→ BMK) (Zentrales Quellenregister).

Kosten

Die Nutzung der Zentralen Strahlenschutzregister ist gebührenfrei.

Zusätzliche Informationen

Weiterführende Links

Rechtsgrundlagen

Experteninformation

Letzte Aktualisierung: 1. August 2020

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Energie, Mobilität, Innovation und Technologie