Holiday staff/workers

General information

If school/university students are employed during holidays as regular employees with personal and economic dependence in return for remuneration, they shall as employees be subject to compulsory insurance from the Austrian General Social Security Act (ASVG).

The employee position signifies in particular that the school/university student is committed to personal work performance, follows instructions regarding working hours, place of work and work behaviour, is subject to the relevant monitoring and is integrated in the business organisation.

  • For these employees, the respective wage-influencing (collectively agreed) regulations shall apply.
  • The social security contributions at least shall be paid from the remuneration due (and from special payments).
  • The contributions shall be calculated with reference to the worker or employee group of employees. If the income earned lies below the low income threshold (2022: 485.85 Euro), then the marginal worker or marginal employee group of employees shall apply.
  • If the employment lasts longer than one month, the employer shall make payments to the company pension plan (pension contributions).

Registration/De-registration

Every employed person (fully and partially insured) shall be registered by the employer before starting work with the appropriate health insurance provider. If an on-site registration has been submitted, then an electronic registration shall be completed within seven days of the start date of the compulsory insurance.

A deregistration shall be submitted within seven days of the compulsory insurance lapsing.

Further links

Translated by the European Commission, altered by certified translator
Last update: 18 July 2022
Responsible for the content:
  • Association of Austrian Social Insurance Institutions
  • Federal Ministry of Labour and Economy

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Ferialangestellte/Ferialarbeiter

Allgemeines

Werden Schülerinnen/Schüler sowie Studierende in der Ferienzeit wie herkömmliche Dienstnehmerinnen/Dienstnehmer in persönlicher und wirtschaftlicher Abhängigkeit gegen Entgelt beschäftigt, unterliegen sie als Dienstnehmerinnen/Dienstnehmer der Pflichtversicherung des Allgemeinen Sozialversicherungsgesetzes (ASVG).

Die Dienstnehmerstellung kommt insbesondere dadurch zum Ausdruck, dass die Schülerin/der Schüler oder die/der Studierende zur persönlichen Arbeitsleistung verpflichtet ist, Weisungen bezüglich Arbeitszeit, Arbeitsort und ihr/sein arbeitsbezogenes Verhalten erhält, einer diesbezüglichen Kontrolle unterliegt sowie organisatorisch in den Betrieb eingegliedert ist.

  • Für derart Beschäftigte gelten die jeweiligen lohngestaltenden (kollektivvertraglichen) Vorschriften.
  • Die Sozialversicherungsbeiträge sind zumindest vom gebührenden Entgelt (auch von Sonderzahlungen) zu entrichten.
  • Die Beitragsabrechnung erfolgt in der Beschäftigtengruppe Arbeiterin/Arbeiter bzw. Angestellte/Angestellter. Liegt der Arbeitsverdienst unter der Geringfügigkeitsgrenze (2022: 485,85 Euro), ist die Beschäftigtengruppe geringfügiger Arbeiterinnen/geringfügiger Arbeiter bzw. geringfügiger Angestellter anzuwenden.
  • Wenn die Beschäftigung länger als einen Monat dauert, sind von der Dienstgeberin/vom Dienstgeber Beiträge zur Betrieblichen Vorsorge (BV-Beiträge) zu entrichten.

An-/Abmeldung

Jede beschäftigte Person (Voll- und Teilversicherte) ist durch die Dienstgeberin/den Dienstgeber vor Arbeitsantritt beim zuständigen Krankenversicherungsträger anzumelden. Wurde eine Vor-Ort-Anmeldung erstattet, ist eine elektronische Anmeldung binnen sieben Tagen ab dem Beginn der Pflichtversicherung nachzuholen.

Die Abmeldung ist binnen sieben Tagen nach dem Ende der Pflichtversicherung zu erstatten.

Weiterführende Links

Letzte Aktualisierung: 3. Februar 2022
Für den Inhalt verantwortlich:
  • Bundesministerium für Arbeit
  • Dachverband der Sozialversicherungsträger

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.