GO toll for motor vehicles weighing over 3.5 t

General Information

Vehicles with a maximum gross vehicle weight of over 3.5 tonnes, including lorries, buses and large motorhomes, are subject to a general distance-based toll (GO toll) on motorways and express roads in Austria. These motor vehicles must be equipped with a certified on-board unit (e.g. GO box) before using any motorways or express roads. Such a vehicle device communicates with the toll portals using microwave technology.

Enterprises Affected

Drivers of motor vehicles with a maximum gross vehicle weight of over 3.5 tonnes.

Caution

These rules apply to all persons participating in road traffic in Austria.

Requirements

The prescribed toll charge can only be paid if a registered motor vehicle is equipped with a functioning and properly installed on-board unit (e.g. GO box).

Deadlines

Not applicable

Competent authority

Motorway and Express Road Financing Corporation (→ ASFINAG) with the operative tasks carried out by the company ASFINAG Maut Service GmbH.

Procedure

GO boxes can be purchased from numerous GO sales points (→ ASFINAG).

Required documents

  • Vehicle registration certificate as a minimum
  • Evidence of the characteristics relevant to the tariff of EURO emissions class or drive system (for fully electric vehicles or fully hydrogen fuel cell-powered vehicles, „E/H2“)
  • Authorised means of payment (cash, credit card, fuel card, GO-Direkt (→ ASFINAG)

Costs and fees

The rates depend on various factors, including the number of axles, mileage and EURO emissions class and drive system (for fully electric vehicles or fully hydrogen fuel cell-powered vehicles). The "cleaner" you are on the road, the cheaper the toll rate.

Payment can be made either in advance (pre-pay) or afterwards (post-pay), for example by making payment directly to ASFINAG via → GO Direkt.

Higher rates

On the following Alpine crossings with high maintenance costs, higher rates apply on route toll sections for vehicles with a maximum gross weight of more than 3.5 t:

  • A9 Pyhrn motorway on the section between the Spital/Pyhrn junction and the Ardning (Bosruck Tunnel) junction, and the section between the St. Michael junction and the Übelbach (Gleinalm Tunnel) junction
  • A10 Tauern motorway on the section between the Flachau junction and the Rennweg (Tauern-/Katschberg Tunnel) junction
  • A11 Karawanken motorway on the section between the St. Jakob im Rosental junction and the state border in the Karawanken Tunnel
  • A13 Brenner motorway
  • S16 Arlberg express road on the section between the St. Anton am Arlberg junction and the Langen am Arlberg (Arlberg Tunnel) junction

On the A13 Brenner motorway and the A12 on the Unterinntal section (state border at Kufstein up to Innsbruck/Amras junction), an additional charge of 25 per cent of the base rate is added to finance the maintenance of the Brennerbasis Tunnel.

The → current rates for 2022 can be found on the ASFINAG website.

Further information

The toll in Austria can be paid with the GO-Box or with on-board units that allow toll payment in several countries. 

The European Electronic Toll Service (EETS) simplifies the payment of tolls within the European Union. Some on-board units of various EETS providers are approved for toll payment in Austria (List of approved EETS providers (→ BMK)German text.

In addition, the German on-board unit can be used via the ‘Toll2Go’ application or via the Swiss on-board unit "Emotach". The "EasyGo+" service can be used to pay the toll in Austria, Denmark, Sweden and Norway (GO-toll works internationally (→ ASFINAG)).

Toll replacement fees and administrative penalties

If your motor vehicle is properly registered on the toll system and is fitted with a suitable toll device, you may be able make a subsequent payment in the following circumstances:

  • If you fail to pay the toll via the system (e.g., if you have insufficient GO-box credit in your account or your GO-box has been locked), or if you pay only part of the toll due (as can happen if the number of axles on your vehicle or its EURO emissions class has been entered incorrectly), you can make a subsequent payment within 5 hours and 100 km of the original fee becoming due. To do so, go to a GO point of sale or the office of any body charged with overseeing the toll system.
  • If you have made a partial payment towards the toll due (because the number of axles on your vehicle or its EURO emission class has been entered incorrectly), you can make a subsequent payment within 96 hours by telephoning the ASFINAG Service Center, via ASFINAG's 'SelfCare-Porta'" or using ASFINAG's App 'Unterwegs' (En route).

However, if you fail to pay the full toll in either of these situations, you will be deemed not to have paid the mileage-based toll due. For more information on subsequent payments visit GO-maut (→ ASFINAG).

The tariff-relevant characteristics of the EURO emission class or the type of drive (for vehicles with a pure electric drive or with a pure hydrogen fuel cell drive, "E/H2") must always be proven to ASFINAG by means of suitable verification documents. You must send ASFINAG evidence for these tariff-relevant characteristics: for the EURO emission classes EURO IV, EURO V, EEV and EURO VI, for a hydrogen fuel cell drive and for pure electric drive. No proof is required for EURO emission classes I, II and III. Proof of tariff-relevant characteristics must be received by ASFINAG within 28 calendar days after saving on the GO-Box.

If you make use of roads subject to tolls and the supporting evidence fails to reach ASFINAG on time, you will be deemed not to have paid the toll due. For more information on supporting documents, go to go-maut's website.

If you fail to pay the toll due in the required manner, ASFINAG will ask you to pay a replacement toll. If this replacement fee is not paid, offenders will be liable to administrative penalties as set out in the Bundesstrassen-Mautgesetz 2002. These penalties range from 300 Euro to 3,000 Euro.

You can find out more about toll replacement fees and administrative penalties on the Service and Control page of ASFINAG's website.

Further links

GO-maut (→ ASFINAG)

Legal bases

Expert Information

There is no expert information available.

Link to form

Not applicable

Authentication and signature

Not applicable

Means of redress or appeal

Not applicable

Assistance and problem-solving services

There are no assistance or problem-solving services.

Further Service Points

If you have any queries or complaints regarding toll motorways and express roads in Austria, you can contact the ASFINAG Service Center:

ASFINAG Maut Service GmbH:
Phone: 0800 400 12 400 (free of charge from Austria and Germany)
Phone: +43 95 51 266
Fax: +43 95 51 277
E-mail: info@asfinag.at
Postal adress: Alpenstraße 99, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 11 February 2022

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology

Rate this page and help us to improve.

GO-Maut für Kraftfahrzeuge über 3,5 t

Allgemeine Informationen

Für Kraftfahrzeuge über 3,5 Tonnen höchsten zulässigen Gesamtgewichts (hzG) – dazu zählen beispielsweise Lkw, Busse und schwere Wohnmobile – gilt auf Österreichs Autobahnen und Schnellstraßen grundsätzlich eine fahrleistungsabhängige Maut (GO-Maut). Für diese Kraftfahrzeuge muss vor der Auffahrt auf eine Autobahn oder Schnellstraße ein zugelassenes Fahrzeuggerät (z.B. GO-Box) im Fahrzeug montiert werden. Ein solches Fahrzeuggerät kommuniziert mittels Mikrowellentechnik mit den Mautportalen.

Betroffene Unternehmen

Lenkerinnen/Lenker von Kraftfahrzeugen über 3,5 Tonnen höchsten zulässigen Gesamtgewichts (hzG)

Achtung

Diese Regelungen gelten für alle Personen, die in Österreich am Straßenverkehr teilnehmen.

Voraussetzungen

Nur mit einem zugelassenen, funktionstüchtigen und ordnungsgemäß im Kraftfahrzeug angebrachten Fahrzeuggerät (z.B. GO-Box) kann die vorgeschriebene Maut entrichtet werden.

Fristen

Keine Angaben

Zuständige Stelle

Autobahnen- und Schnellstraßen-Finanzierungs-Aktiengesellschaft (→ ASFINAG). Einhebung der Maut und Durchführung der operativen Aufgaben erfolgen durch die ASFINAG Maut Service GmbH

Verfahrensablauf

Die GO-Box ist an zahlreichen GO-Vertriebsstellen (→ ASFINAG) erhältlich.

Erforderliche Unterlagen

  • zumindest Zulassungsbescheinigung
  • Nachweise über die die tarifrelevanten Merkmale der EURO-Emissionsklasse bzw. der Antriebsart (bei Fahrzeugen mit reinem Elektroantrieb oder mit reinem Wasserstoff-Brennstoffzellenantrieb, "E/H2")
  • zugelassenes Zahlungsmittel (bar, Kreditkarten, Tankkarten, GO-Direkt (→ ASFINAG )

Kosten

Die Tarife hängen unter anderem ab von der Anzahl der Achsen, den zurückgelegten Kilometern und der EURO-Emissionsklasse bzw. Antriebsart (bei Fahrzeugen mit reinem Elektroantrieb oder mit reinem Wasserstoff-Brennstoffzellenantrieb) der Fahrzeuge. Je "sauberer" Sie unterwegs sind, desto günstiger ist der Mauttarif.

Die Bezahlung erfolgt entweder im Vorhinein (Pre-Pay) oder im Nachhinein (Post-Pay) und wird zum Beispiel direkt mit der ASFINAG via → GO Direkt verrechnet.

Erhöhte Tarife

Auf den folgenden, besonders kostenintensiven alpenüberquerenden Streckenmaut-Abschnitten gelten für Kraftfahrzeuge über 3,5 t höchsten zulässigen Gesamtgewichts erhöhte Tarife:

  • A 9 Pyhrn Autobahn zwischen der Anschlussstelle Spital/Pyhrn und der Anschlussstelle Ardning (Bosrucktunnel) sowie zwischen der Anschlussstelle St. Michael und der Anschlussstelle Übelbach (Gleinalmtunnel),
  • A 10 Tauern Autobahn zwischen der Anschlussstelle Flachau und der Anschlussstelle Rennweg (Tauern-/Katschbergtunnel),
  • A 11 Karawanken Autobahn zwischen der Anschlussstelle St. Jakob im Rosental und der Staatsgrenze im Karawankentunnel,
  • A 13 Brenner Autobahn,
  • S 16 Arlberg Schnellstraße zwischen der Anschlussstelle St. Anton am Arlberg und der Anschlussstelle Langen am Arlberg (Arlbergtunnel).

Auf der A 13 Brenner Autobahn und der A 12 auf der Unterinntalstrecke (Staatsgrenze bei Kufstein bis Knoten Innsbruck/Amras) wird zur Finanzierung des Brennerbasistunnels ein Zuschlag von 25 Prozent auf den Tarif eingehoben.

Die → aktuellen Tarife 2022 finden sich auf den Seiten der ASFINAG.

Zusätzliche Informationen

Die Maut in Österreich kann mit der GO-Box oder mit Fahrzeuggeräten entrichtet werden, die eine Mautentrichtung in mehreren Ländern ermöglichen. 

Der Europäische Elektronische Mautdienst – kurz EETS (European Electronic Toll Service)  – vereinfacht die Entrichtung von Mautgebühren innerhalb der Europäischen Union. Einige Fahrzeuggeräte diverser EETS-Anbieter sind zur Mautentrichtung in Österreich zugelassen. Die Liste der zugelassenen EETS-Anbieter ist auf der Website des → BMK abrufbar.

Darüber hinaus kann das deutsche Fahrzeuggerät über die Anwendung "Toll2Go" oder über das Schweizer Fahrzeuggerät "Emotach" genutzt werden. Mit dem Service "EasyGo+" kann die Maut in Österreich, Dänemark, Schweden und Norwegen entrichtet werden. Nähere Details finden Sie unter GO-Maut international (→ ASFINAG).

Ersatzmaut und Verwaltungsstrafen

Für ordnungsgemäß zum Mautsystem angemeldete und ausgestattete Kraftfahrzeuge besteht in folgenden Fällen die Möglichkeit der Nachzahlung nicht entrichteter Maut:

  • Bei einer Nichtentrichtung der Maut (z.B. bei zu geringem GO-Box-Guthaben oder einer gesperrten GO-Box) oder Teilentrichtung der Maut (Achsanzahl oder EURO-Emissionsklasse falsch eingestellt) kann die Nachzahlung innerhalb von 5 Stunden und 100 km an einer GO-Vertriebsstelle oder bei Betretung (Anhaltung) bei einem Mautaufsichtsorgan erfolgen.
  • Bei einer Teilentrichtung der Maut (Achsanzahl oder EURO-Emissionsklasse falsch eingestellt) kann die Nachzahlung innerhalb von 96 Stunden telefonisch auch über das ASFINAG Service Center, im SelfCare-Portal der ASFINAG oder über die ASFINAG- App "Unterwegs" erfolgen.

Erfolgt in diesen Fällen jedoch keine Nachzahlung der Maut, gilt die fahrleistungsabhängige Maut als nicht ordnungsgemäß entrichtet. Nähere Informationen zur Nachzahlung finden sich auf go-maut.at (→ ASFINAG).

Die tarifrelevanten Merkmale der EURO-Emissionsklasse bzw. der Antriebsart (bei Fahrzeugen mit reinem Elektroantrieb oder mit reinem Wasserstoff-Brennstoffzellenantrieb, "E/H2") müssen der ASFINAG grundsätzlich durch geeignete Nachweisdokumente nachgewiesen werden. Für diese tarifrelevanten Merkmale müssen Sie der ASFINAG Nachweise zusenden: für die EURO-Emissionsklassen EURO IV, EURO V, EEV und EURO VI, für einen Wasserstoff-Brennstoffzellenantrieb und für reinen Elektroantrieb. Keine Nachweispflicht besteht für die EURO-Emissionsklassen I, II und III. Nachweise zu tarifrelevanten Merkmalen müssen innerhalb von 28 Kalendertagen nach dem Speichern auf der GO-Box bei der ASFINAG einlangen.

Sofern das mautpflichtige Straßennetz innerhalb der Nachweisfrist befahren wird und die Nachweisdokumente nicht fristgerecht bei der ASFINAG einlangen, gilt die Maut ebenfalls als nicht ordnungsgemäß entrichtet. Nähere Informationen über den Nachweis finden sich auf go-maut.at (→ ASFINAG).

Bei nicht ordnungsgemäßer Entrichtung der fahrleistungsabhängigen Maut (GO-Maut) kommt es zur Aufforderung zur Zahlung einer Ersatzmaut durch die ASFINAG. Durch Bezahlung der Ersatzmaut kann ein sonst im Bundesstraßen-Mautgesetz 2002 vorgesehenes Verwaltungsstrafverfahren vermieden werden, in dem Strafen in der Höhe zwischen 300 Euro und 3.000 Euro verhängt werden können.

Weitere Informationen zu Ersatzmaut und Verwaltungsstrafen finden sich ebenfalls auf go-maut.at (→ ASFINAG).

Weiterführende Links

Rechtsgrundlagen

Experteninformation

Es steht keine Experteninformation zur Verfügung.

Zum Formular

Keine Angaben

Authentifizierung und Signatur

Keine Angaben

Rechtsbehelfe

Keine Angaben

Hilfs- und Problemlösungsdienste

Es sind keine Hilfs- und Problemlösungsdienste vorhanden.

Weitere Servicestellen

Für Anfragen oder Beschwerden im Bereich der österreichischen mautpflichtigen Autobahnen und Schnellstraßen steht das ASFINAG Service Center zur Verfügung:

ASFINAG Maut Service GmbH:
Telefon: 0800 400 12 400 (kostenlos aus Österreich und Deutschland)
Telefon: +43 95 51 266 
Fax: +43 95 51 277
E-Mail: info@asfinag.at
Postanschrift: Alpenstraße 99, 5020 Salzburg, Österreich

Letzte Aktualisierung: 11. Februar 2022

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Energie, Mobilität, Innovation und Technologie

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.