Legal status of members of the Works Council

Members of the Works Council act in an honorary capacity and shall not be bound by any instructions. They are accountable solely to the works/group meeting. They enjoy special legal protection and are subject to certain commitments:

Prohibition of restrictions and discrimination

When performing their duties, Works Council members shall not be restricted or disadvantaged. This applies in particular with regard to remuneration, career progression opportunities and occupational training and retraining programmes, but also with regard to possible transfers.

Duty of secrecy

Members of the Works Council are obligated to keep all commercial and trade secrets learned during the performance of duties. These are primarily secrets about technical equipment, procedures and peculiarities of the business which have been identified as confidential.

Granting time off and releasing from duties

Members of the Works Council must be granted the time off they need for Works Council activities – this is separate from educational leave. They shall continue to receive full remuneration for this period. If requested by the Works Council, and depending on the size of the company, a certain number of Works Council members in companies shall be released from duties but continue to receive remuneraton.

Educational leave

Each member of the Works Council shall be entitled to a paid release from duties to participate in training and educational events. During a term of office, it is possible to take a maximum of three weeks and three days as educational leave (up to five weeks in exceptional cases). The training and educational events shall focus on imparting knowledge which is relevant for performing Works Council activities.

In small companies (fewer than 20 employees), no remuneration is required from the employer during this release from duties.

The Works Council shall inform the owner of the company at least four weeks before the training starts and together they shall agree on the date of the training. 

In companies with over 200 employees, it is possible to take an extended period of educational leave.

Protection against dismissal and termination of employment

A member of the Works Council may only be terminated or dismissed if the court has granted prior consent. Exceptions are made for certain serious grounds for dismissal; in these cases, subsequent consent from the court shall suffice.

In making its decision, the court shall ensure protection of the Works Council members. This special protection for Works Council members starts with acceptance of the vote and ends three months after Works Council membership expires. This protection shall also apply for replacement members, who have represented an incapacitated Works Council member for at least two weeks. The protection shall last for three months after these representative duties have ended. A prerequisite for this is that the owner of the company shall be informed immediately.

The protection against dismissal and termination of employment shall also benefit members of election boards and candidates until the period for contesting an election has expired. The protection starts when his/her intention to stand as a candidate became apparent after appointment of the election board.

Termination of a Works Council member

In the event of a permanent cessation of business or operational restrictions, the court shall only agree to a termination if the company owner can prove that he/she cannot continue to employ the Works Council member in question – despite his protests – without significant damage.

In addition, the court may only agree to a termination if the Works Council member is rendered incapable of performing the services agreed in the employment contract, is not expected to be capable of working again in the foreseeable future and the company owner cannot be expected to continue to offer employment.

If a Works Council member persistently violates his/her obligations specified in his employment contract and the company owner cannot be expected to continue to offer employment due to work discipline issues, the court is also entitled to agree to the termination.

Please note

In the event of a persistent dereliction of duties, the court shall dismiss an action for consent to terminate, if it is based on the conduct of the Works Council member who was in keeping with the mandate and was excusable in consideration of all circumstances ("mandate safeguard clause").

Dismissal of a Works Council member

The court shall only agree to the dismissal of the Works Council member if:    

  • he/she has intentionally misled the company owner about significant circumstances with regard to concluding his/her employment contract;                                     
  • he/she was found guilty of a premeditated criminal offence, punishable by imprisonment of a term of more than one year or committed with a view to personal enrichment, provided that prosecution will follow ex officio or upon application of the company owner;                                        
  • he/she is disloyal to his/her work or receives undue benefits in his/her work from a third party without the company owner's knowledge;         
  • he/she has revealed a business or trade secret or is operating a side business which is detrimental to the company without consent from the company owner; 
  • he/she is guilty of assaults or significant defamation against the company owner, the owner's relatives who either work at or even just visit the company or employees at the company, and a reasonable cooperation can no longer be expected as a result of this behaviour.

In the second and latter example, the dismissal can be granted if consent is obtained from the court at a later date.

Further links

Legal status of the Works Council (→ AK)German text

Legal basis

Arbeitsverfassungsgesetz (ArbVG)

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 28 February 2022

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Labour

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Rechtsstellung der Betriebsratsmitglieder

Betriebsratsmitglieder sind in dieser Funktion ehrenamtlich tätig und an keine Weisungen gebunden. Sie sind nur der Betriebs- bzw. Gruppenversammlung verantwortlich. Sie genießen einen besonderen rechtlichen Schutz und unterliegen gewissen Verpflichtungen:

Beschränkungs- und Benachteiligungsverbot

Bei der Ausübung ihrer Tätigkeit dürfen Betriebsratsmitglieder weder be­schränkt noch benachteiligt werden. Das gilt insbesondere hinsichtlich des Entgelts, beruflicher Auf­stiegs­mög­lich­keit­en und betrieblicher Schulungs- und Umschulungsmaßnahmen, aber auch im Hinblick auf eine mögliche Versetzung.

Verschwiegenheitspflicht

Die Mitglieder des Betriebsrates sind verpflichtet, über alle in Ausübung ihres Amtes bekannt gewordene Geschäfts- und Betriebsgeheimnisse Verschwiegenheit zu bewahren. Dazu gehören vor allem die ihnen gegenüber als geheim bezeichneten technischen Einrichtungen, Verfahren und Eigentümlichkeiten des Betriebes.

Freizeitgewährung und Freistellung

Den Mitgliedern des Betriebsrates ist – unabhängig von einer Bildungsfreistellung – die Freizeit zu gewähren, die sie für die Betriebsratstätigkeit benötigen. Während dies­er Zeit erhalten sie ihr Entgelt in voller Höhe weiter. Wenn es der Betriebsrat beantragt, muss in Betrieben je nach Betriebsgröße eine bestimmte Anzahl von Be­triebs­rats­mit­glied­ern unter Fortzahlung des Entgelts freigestellt werden.

Bildungsfreistellung

Jedes Betriebsratsmitglied hat Anspruch darauf, bezahlt für die Teil­nahme an Schulungs- und Bildungsveranstaltungen freigestellt zu werden. Innerhalb einer Funktionsperiode sind maximal drei Wochen und drei Tage als Bildungsfreistellung möglich (in Ausnahmefällen bis zu fünf Wochen). Die Schulungs- und Bildungsveranstaltungen müssen überwiegend Kenntnisse vermitteln, die für die Ausübung der Betriebsratsfunktion von Be­deutung sind.

In Kleinbetrieben (weniger als 20 Arbeitnehmerinnen/Arbeitnehmer) ist während einer solchen Frei­stellung keine Entgeltzahlung von Arbeitgeberseite vorgeschrieben.

Der Betriebsrat muss die Betriebsinhaberin/ den Betriebsinhaber mindestens vier Wochen vor Be­ginn der Schulung informieren und mit ihr/ihm den Zeitpunkt der Schulung ver­ein­bar­en. 

In Betrieben mit mehr als 200 Arbeitnehmerinnen/Arbeitnehmer gibt es die Möglichkeit einer erweiterten Bildungsfreistellung.

Kündigungs- und Entlassungsschutz

Ein Mitglied des Betriebsrates darf nur gekündigt oder entlassen werden, wenn das Gericht vorab zugestimmt hat. Davon ausgenommen sind be­stimmte schwerwiegende Entlassungsgründe; in diesen Fällen genügt eine nachträgliche ge­richt­liche Zustimmung.

Bei seiner Entscheidung hat das Gericht den Schutz der Betriebsratsmitglieder wahrzunehmen. Der besondere Schutz für Be­triebs­rats­mit­glieder beginnt mit der Annahme der Wahl und endet drei Monate nach Erlöschen der Mitgliedschaft zum Betriebsrat. Dieser Schutz gilt sinn­ge­mäß auch für Ersatzmitglieder, die ein ver­hind­ertes Betriebsratsmitglied durch mindestens zwei Wochen vertreten hab­en. Der Schutz währt bis zum Ablauf von drei Monaten nach Beendigung dieser Ver­tret­ungs­funk­tion. Voraussetzung ist jedoch, dass die Betriebsinhaberin/der Betriebsinhaber darüber un­ver­züg­lich informiert wurde.

Der Kündigungs- und Entlassungsschutz kommt auch Mitgliedern von Wahl­vor­ständ­en und Wahlwerberinnen/Wahlwerbern bis zum Ablauf der Frist der Wahl­an­fecht­ung zugute. Deren Schutz beginnt mit dem Zeitpunkt, in dem nach der Bestellung des Wahlvorstandes ihre/seine Absicht zu kandidieren, offenkundig wurde.

Kündigung eines Betriebsratsmitglieds

Das Gericht darf einer Kündigung nur dann zustimmen, wenn die Betriebsinhaberin/der Betriebsinhaber nachweist, dass sie/er im Falle einer dauernden Ein­stell­ung oder Einschränkung des Betriebs das betroffene Betriebsratsmitglied – trotz dessen Verlangens – nicht ohne erheblichen Schaden weiterbeschäftigen kann.

Darüber hinaus darf das Gericht einer Kündigung nur dann zustimmen, wenn das Betriebsratsmitglied unfähig wird, die im Arbeitsvertrag vereinbarte Leist­ung zu erbringen, eine Wiederherstellung seiner Arbeitsfähigkeit in ab­seh­bar­er Zeit nicht zu erwarten ist und der Betriebsinhaberin/dem Betriebsinhaber die Weiterbeschäftigung nicht zugemutet werden kann.

Wenn ein Betriebsratsmitglied die ihm auf Grund des Arbeitsverhältnisses ob­lieg­end­en Pflichten beharrlich verletzt und die Betriebsinhaberin/dem Betriebsinhaber die Weiter­be­schäft­ig­ung aus Gründen der Arbeitsdisziplin nicht zugemutet werden kann, ist das Gericht ebenfalls berechtigt, der Kündigung zuzustimmen.

Hinweis

Im Fall der beharrlichen Pflichtenvernachlässigung hat das Gericht die Klage auf Zustimmung zur Kündigung abzuweisen, wenn sie sich auf ein Verhalten des Betriebsratsmitgliedes stützt, das von diesem in Ausübung des Mandates gesetzt wurde und unter Abwägung aller Umstände entschuldbar war ("Mandatsschutzklausel“).

Entlassung eines Betriebsratsmitglieds

Das Gericht darf der Entlassung eines Betriebsratsmitglieds nur zustimmen, wenn dieses:    

  • absichtlich die Betriebsinhaberin/den Betriebsinhaber über wesentliche Umstände in Bezug auf den Abschluss seines Arbeitsvertrages in einen Irrtum versetzt hat;                                     
  • sich einer mit Vorsatz begangenen, mit mehr als einjähriger Freiheitsstrafe bedrohten oder einer mit Bereicherungsabsicht begangenen, gerichtlich straf­baren Handlung schuldig machte, sofern die Verfolgung von Amts wegen oder auf Antrag der Betriebsinhaberin/des Betriebsinhabers zu erfolgen hat;                                        
  • im Dienst untreu ist oder sich in seiner Tätigkeit ohne Wissen der Betriebsinhaberin/des Be­triebs­in­hab­ers von dritten Personen unberechtigt Vorteile zuwenden lässt;         
  • ein Geschäfts- oder Betriebsgeheimnis verrät oder ohne Einwilligung der Betriebsinhaberin/des Be­triebs­in­habers ein der Verwendung im Betrieb abträgliches Nebengeschäft betreibt; 
  • sich Tätlichkeiten oder erhebliche Ehrverletzungen gegen die Betriebsinhaberin/den Be­triebs­in­hab­er, deren/dessen im Betrieb tätige oder auch nur anwesende Verwandte oder Ar­beit­nehmerinnen/Ar­beit­nehmer des Betriebes zuschulden kommen lässt, sofern durch dieses Verhalten eine sinnvolle Zusammenarbeit nicht mehr zu erwarten ist.

Im zweiten und letzten Fall kann die Entlassung gegen nachträgliche Ein­hol­ung der Zustimmung des Gerichts ausgesprochen werden.

Weiterführende Links

Rechtsstellung des Betriebsrats (→ AK)

Rechtsgrundlagen

Arbeitsverfassungsgesetz (ArbVG)

Letzte Aktualisierung: 18. Juli 2022

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Wirtschaft

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.