This website uses Cookies. You will accept these by click on the button "continue". For more information read our page "Private Policy".

Citizens of EU/ EEA countries

Employment of citizens of EU/EEA Member States

Citizens of the EU Member States and EEA Member StatesGerman text of Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein have free access to the Austrian labour market and therefore do not require authorisation to start workGerman text from the labour market authorities (they enjoy freedom of movement for workers).

Their

  • spouses or registered partners,
  • own direct relatives and the direct relatives of their spouses or registered partners in the descending line below the age of 21 (children, grandchildren) and above that age if they are dependants, and
  • own direct relatives and the direct relatives of their spouses or registered partners in the ascending line if they are dependants (parents, grandparents)

who accompany or join them also have free access to the Austrian labour market – irrespective of nationality – and they can have this confirmed by the AMS. In order to apply for confirmation, use the form "Confirmation of exception pursuant to section 3 paragraph 8German text".

With regard to access to the Austrian labour market, Swiss nationals are also treated as EU/EEA citizens from the older Member States.

Please note

EU/EEA citizens and Swiss nationals must apply for the issuance of a "registration certificateGerman text" from the competent Austrian immigration authority within three months of settling in Austria.

Information on the right to settle under EU law can be found on the website → oesterreich.gv.atGerman text in the section "Residence in Austria (→ oesterreich.gv.at)German text".

When implementing transitional arrangements, Austria is obliged to give preference to new EU citizens over third-country nationalsGerman text when admitting workers to the labour market (Community preference), in implementation of the Ausländerbeschäftigungsgesetz (AuslBG).

Detailed information can be found on the migration portal of the Austrian Federal Government.

Form

Further Links

Legal basis

Translated by the European Commission
last update: 1 July 2020

responsible for content: Federal Ministry of Labour, Family and Youth

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Bürger aus EU-/ EWR-Staaten

Beschäftigung von Bürgern aus EU-/EWR-Mitgliedstaaten

Bürgerinnen/Bürger aus den EU-Mitgliedstaaten und den EWR-Staaten Island, Norwegen und Liechtenstein haben freien Zugang zum österreichischen Arbeitsmarkt und benötigen daher keine arbeitsmarktbehördliche Berechtigung zur Arbeitsaufnahme (sie genießen Arbeitnehmerfreizügigkeit). Das gilt auch für Arbeitskräfte aus der Schweiz (EU-Schweiz-Personenfreizügigkeitsabkommen).

Auch die sie begleitenden oder ihnen nachziehenden

  • Ehegatten oder eingetragenen Partner,
  • eigenen Verwandten und die Verwandten ihrer Ehegatten oder eingetragenen Partner in gerader absteigender Linie, die noch nicht 21 Jahre alt sind (Kinder, Enkelkinder) und über dieses Alter hinaus, sofern ihnen von diesen Unterhalt tatsächlich gewährt wird, und
  • eigenen Verwandten und die Verwandten ihrer Ehegatten oder eingetragenen Partner in gerader aufsteigender Linie, sofern ihnen von diesen Unterhalt tatsächlich gewährt wird (Eltern, Großeltern)

haben – ungeachtet der Staatsangehörigkeit – freien Zugang zum österreichischen Arbeitsmarkt, den sie sich vom Arbeitsmarktservice (AMS) bestätigen lassen können. Verwenden Sie zur Antragstellung das Formular "Ausnahmebestätigung nach § 3 Abs 8".

Achtung

EU-/EWR-Bürgerinnen/-Bürger bzw. Schweizerinnen/Schweizer müssen innerhalb von drei Monaten nach ihrer Niederlassung in Österreich die Ausstellung einer "Anmeldebescheinigung" bei der jeweils zuständigen österreichischen Fremdenbehörde beantragen.

Informationen zum gemeinschaftlichen Niederlassungsrecht finden sich auf der Website oesterreich.gv.at im Kapitel "Aufenthalt in Österreich".

Nähere Informationen finden Sie auf dem Migrationsportal der österreichischen Bundesregierung.

Formular

Weiterführende Links

Rechtsgrundlagen

Letzte Aktualisierung: 23. April 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Arbeit

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.