This website uses Cookies. You will accept these by click on the button "continue". For more information read our page "Private Policy".

Production and use of recycling building materials

General Information

The Recycling Building Material Ordinance regulates the production and use of recycling building materials.

Recycling materials as natural or recycled aggregate or as industrially produced aggregate as steel slag must exclusively be produced from waste that is listed in Annex 1, table 1 of the ordinance. This waste must be as free as possible from the contaminants listed in the ordinance (e.g. asbestos or mineral oil).

The manufacturer of recycling materials must check the suitability of the waste for the production of recycling building material as part of the incoming goods inspection. The waste must be checked for unlawful mixtures, unlawful waste or contaminants.

Recycling building materials must comply with the limit values as per Annex 2, on the basis of the quality assurance system as per Annex 3. Chemical analyses as part of the quality assurance are to be carried out by an accredited conformity assessment body.

Recycling building materials must be assigned to the relevant quality class and must comply with the structural engineering requirements in accordance with the state of the art.

A recycling building material must also correspond to the provisions of the EU Building Products Directive.

Recycling building materials are partially restricted in their application area. Depending on the quality class, the areas of application are limited or there are prohibitions on use for example in water conservation areas.

Recycling building material of the best quality class (quality class U-A) lose their waste characteristic when they are handed over to a third party by their manufacturer.

The manufacturer of a recycling building material of quality class U-A must issue a declaration of conformity about the implementation of quality assurance and compliance with the tolerance limits of quality class U-A and hand over a copy of this declaration of conformity to the transferee of the recycling building material product.

Caution

The special provision ‘Structural recovery on site’ (Section 10a of the Recycling-Baustoffverordnung (Recycling Building Material Ordinance) must be observed.

Enterprises Affected

  • Operators of facilities in which recycling building materials are produced.
  • Building contractors who manufacture recycling building materials for their own use
  • Building contractors who use recycling building materials

Competent Authority

For checking the manufacture of the recycling building materials: the district administrative authority in whose jurisdiction the activity is performed.

For reporting the manufacture of recycling building material products: the Federal Ministry for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology (→ BMK)

Procedure

Prior to the first delivery of recycling building materials of quality class U-A to third parties, the manufacturer of recycling building materials must send a report to the Federal Ministry for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology via the EDM portal: by copying the predefined text into the ‘Sonstige Tätigkeit’ (Other activity) field in the activity profile of the ZAReg master data register, these requirements can be met in one step.

Documents Required

The requirements for quality assurance and documentation are specified in particular in Annex 3 of the Recycling-Baustoffverordnung.

Expenses

No fees or charges are payable.

Additional Information

The manufacturer of recycling building materials must document the type, quantity, origin and location of waste for the manufacture of recycling building materials as per the provisions of the Abfallbilanzverordnung (Waste Balance Sheet Ordinance) according to Annex 5 and report them electronically.

Recycling building materials that were manufactured before the ordinance came into force could also be recycled until 31 December 2017 as per the provisions of the Bundes-Abfallwirtschaftsplans (→ BMK) (Federal Waste Management Plan) (Chapter 7.14).

Die Herstellerin/der Hersteller von Recycling-Baustoffen hat Art, Menge, Herkunft und Verbleib von Abfällen zur Herstellung von Recycling-Baustoffen gemäß den Bestimmungen der Abfallbilanzverordnung nach Maßgabe des Anhangs 5 aufzuzeichnen und elektronisch zu melden.

Weiterführende Links

Legal Basis

Expert Information

No expert information is available.

Translated by the European Commission
last update: 8 February 2021

responsible for content: Federal Ministry for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Herstellung und Verwendung von Recycling-Baustoffen

Allgemeine Informationen

Die Recycling-Baustoffverordnung regelt die Herstellung und Verwendung von Recycling-Baustoffen.

Recycling-Baustoffe als natürliche oder recyclierte Gesteinskörnung oder als industriell hergestellte Gesteinskörnung aus Stahlwerksschlacken dürfen ausschließlich aus Abfällen, die in Anhang 1, Tabelle 1 der Verordnung aufgelistet sind, hergestellt werden. Diese Abfälle müssen weitestgehend frei von in der Verordnung genannten Verunreinigungen (z.B. Asbest oder Mineralöl) sein.

Die Herstellerin/der Hersteller von Recycling-Baustoffen hat im Rahmen der Eingangskontrolle die Eignung der Abfälle für die Herstellung von Recycling-Baustoffen zu prüfen. Insbesondere ist der Abfall auf unzulässige Vermischungen, unzulässige Abfälle oder Verunreinigungen zu untersuchen.

Recycling-Baustoffe haben – auf Basis des Qualitätssicherungssystems gemäß Anhang 3 – die Grenzwerte gemäß Anhang 2 einzuhalten. Chemische Analysen im Rahmen der Qualitätssicherung sind von einer dafür akkreditierten Konformitätsbewertungsstelle durchzuführen.

Recycling-Baustoffe müssen der entsprechenden Qualitätsklasse zugeordnet und den bautechnischen Anforderungen gemäß dem Stand der Technik entsprechen.

Ein Recycling-Baustoff hat auch den Vorgaben der EU-Bauprodukte-Verordnung zu entsprechen.
Recycling-Baustoffe sind in ihrem Einsatzgebiet teilweise beschränkt. Je nach Qualitätsklasse sind die Einsatzbereiche beschränkt bzw. herrschen Verwendungsverbote z.B. in Wasserschutzgebieten.

Recycling-Baustoffe der besten Qualitätsklasse (Qualitätsklasse U-A) verlieren mit der Übergabe durch deren Herstellerin/Hersteller an eine Dritte/einen Dritten ihre Abfalleigenschaft.

Die Herstellerin/der Hersteller eines Recycling-Baustoffes der Qualitätsklasse U-A hat eine Konformitätserklärung über die Durchführung der Qualitätssicherung sowie die Einhaltung der Grenzwerte der Qualitätsklasse U-A auszustellen und eine Kopie dieser Konformitätserklärung der Übernehmerin/dem Übernehmer des Recycling-Baustoff-Produktes zu übergeben.

Achtung

Die Sonderbestimmung "Bautechnische Verwertung vor Ort" (§ 10a Recycling-Baustoffverordnung) ist zu beachten.

Betroffene Unternehmen

  • Betreiberinnen/Betreiber von Anlagen, in denen Recycling-Baustoffe hergestellt werden
  • Bauunternehmerinnen/Bauunternehmer, die Recycling-Baustoffe für die eigene Verwendung herstellen
  • Bauunternehmerinnen/Bauunternehmer, die Recycling-Baustoffe einsetzen

Zuständige Stelle

Für die Kontrolle der Herstellung der Recycling-Baustoffe: die Bezirksverwaltungsbehörde, in deren Sprengel die Tätigkeit ausgeübt wird.

Für die Meldung der Herstellung von Recycling-Baustoff-Produkten: das Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Energie, Mobilität, Innovation und Technologie (→ BMK).

Verfahrensablauf

Vor der erstmaligen Übergabe von Recycling-Baustoffen der Qualitätsklasse U-A an Dritte muss durch die Herstellerin/den Hersteller von Recycling-Baustoffen eine Meldung an das Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Energie, Mobilität, Innovation und Technologie über das EDM-Portal erfolgen: durch Übertragung des vordefinierten Textes in das Feld "Sonstige Tätigkeit" im Tätigkeitsprofil des Stammdatenregisters ZAReg werden diese Anforderungen in einem Schritt erfüllt.

Erforderliche Unterlagen

Die Anforderungen an Qualitätskontrolle und Dokumentation sind insbesondere im Anhang 3 der Recycling-Baustoffverordnung angegeben.

Kosten

Es fallen keine Gebühren und Abgaben an.

Zusätzliche Informationen

Die Herstellerin/der Hersteller von Recycling-Baustoffen hat Art, Menge, Herkunft und Verbleib von Abfällen zur Herstellung von Recycling-Baustoffen gemäß den Bestimmungen der Abfallbilanzverordnung nach Maßgabe des Anhangs 5 aufzuzeichnen und elektronisch zu melden.

Recycling-Baustoffe, die vor dem Inkrafttreten der Verordnung hergestellt wurden, konnten bis 31. Dezember 2017 auch gemäß den Vorgaben des Bundes-Abfallwirtschaftsplans (→ BMK) (Kapitel 7.14) verwertet werden.

Weiterführende Links

Rechtsgrundlagen

Experteninformation

Es steht keine Experteninformation zur Verfügung.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 8. Februar 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Energie, Mobilität, Innovation und Technologie

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.