Standardised consumption tax ( NoVA)

The standardised consumption tax (NoVA) is a one-off tax in Austria that is payable a.o. upon the delivery or first registration (→ oesterreich.gv.at) (import, move) of passenger cars (class M1) as well as motorcycles and quad bikes (class L cubic capacity above 125 cm³). Light commercial (class N1) vehicles are not subject to the NoVA until 30 June 2021. They will be subject to taxation from 1 July 2021.

NoVA liability

Purchase of a new motor vehicle in Austria

When purchasing a new motor vehicle that has not yet been registered in Austria, the buyer pays the NoVA tax to the dealer, who then forwards the payment to the tax office (→ BMF).German text

This does not apply to acquisitions of motor vehicles in the country and  to intra-EU acquisitions by authorised vehicle dealers for the purpose of onward delivery.

The tax is also payable on gifts, inheritances and transfers of personal property.

When calculating the NoVA, account is also taken of standard equipment (e.g. car radio) and special equipment (e.g. ABS, airbag, air conditioning, sunroof). Only subsequently installed accessories (e.g. alarm systems, additional headlights) are not subject to the NoVA. However, subsequently installed accessories must be placed as part of a separate order with the vehicle dealer and must be invoiced separately.

Car leasing

Leased vehicles kept permanently in Austria are also subject to the NoVA, even if the lessor has their place of business abroad. It is therefore the place of use of the motor vehicle, not the registered office or the permanent establishment of the lessor, that determines whether or not the tax is payable.

Own import

In the case of own import (→ oesterreich.gv.at)German text of a new or used motor vehicle for first registration (→ oesterreich.gv.at) in Austria (also classed as a transfer of personal property), the NoVA is also payable by private individuals, who must calculate the amount due and send it to the tax office themselves. The ‘NOVA2’ form must be used for calculating the amount of NoVA tax payable by private individuals (see also the explanatory notes on filling in the NOVA2 - NOVA2a form).

Delivery/own consumption/change in preferential use

In addition to the delivery of a motor vehicle exempt from NoVA (demonstration motor vehicle, rental car, cab, etc.), the obligation to pay NoVA also arises in the event of own consumption or a change in the preferential use of a previously exempt motor vehicle (e.g. the withdrawal of a cab vehicle from business assets).

Amount of the NoVA

In principle, the NoVA is to be calculated on the basis of the legal situation in force at the time of completion (e.g. time of delivery or registration (→ oesterreich.gv.at)). As a rule, the NoVA is calculated as a percentage of the vehicle value (excl. VAT and possibly NoVA) depending on the CO2 emissions. If a certain CO2 limit is exceeded, a CO2 penalty is also due. For passenger cars, station wagons, motor homes and light commercial vehicles, a fixed amount is then deducted from the calculated tax.

Exemptions

Certain motor vehicles (e.g. electric vehicles, motor vehicles for people with disabilities, demonstration vehicles, etc.) are exempt from NoVA (direct exemption). In addition, the NoVA for certain motor vehicles (e.g. escort vehicles for special transports, driving school vehicles, rental, cab and guest cars, etc.) can be claimed by way of reimbursement if the predominant use (more than 80 percent) of the motor vehicle for the privileged purpose is proven.

Due date

The application must be submitted no later than on the 15th day (due date) of the second month following the calendar month in which the tax liability arose. The applicants must calculate the amount payable on their application themselves. The tax must be paid no later than the due date.

Please note

Car dealers, commercial rental companies or private individuals (registration holders) who can provide evidence that a motor vehicle on which the NoVA has been paid has been transported or delivered abroad may claim a pro rata refund of the NoVA from the tax office (→ BMF)German text within five years. In order to obtain a refund, the motor vehicle must be blocked in the approval database at the time of application and no longer be registered for use on the road in Austria.

More information on the standard fuel consumption tax for traders can be found here:

Detailed information on "registration blocks / checking if a vehicle has been blocked by the tax office (→ oesterreich.gv.at)"German Text can be found at oesterreich.gv.at.

Further links

Forms

Translated by the European Commission, altered by the Federal Ministry of Finance
Last update: 1 January 2023

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Normverbrauchsabgabe (NoVA)

Die Normverbrauchsabgabe (NoVA) ist eine einmalig zu entrichtende Steuer, die u.a. bei der Lieferung oder der erstmaligen Zulassung (→ oesterreich.gv.at) (Import, Übersiedlung) von Personenkraftwagen (Klasse M1) sowie Motorrädern und Quads (Klasse L über 125 cm³) in Österreich fällig wird. Für leichte Nutzfahrzeuge wird bis zum 30. Juni 2021 keine NoVA erhoben, ab 1. Juli 2021 unterliegen auch leichte Nutzfahrzeuge (Klasse N1) der NoVA.

NoVA-Pflicht

Kauf eines neuen Kraftfahrzeuges in Österreich

Bei Kauf eines neuen Kraftfahrzeuges, das in Österreich noch nicht zugelassen wurde, bezahlt die Käuferin/der Käufer die NoVA bei der Händlerin/dem Händler und diese/dieser führt sie an das Finanzamt (→ BMF) ab.
Ausgenommen ist der Kraftfahrzeugerwerb im Inland und der innergemeinschaftliche Erwerb durch befugte Fahrzeughändlerinnen/Fahrzeughändler zur Weiterlieferung.
Die Abgabe ist auch im Falle von Schenkungen, Erbschaften und Übersiedelungen zu entrichten.

In die Berechnung der NoVA werden auch das serienmäßige Zubehör (z.B. Autoradio) und Sonderausstattungen (z.B. ABS, Airbag, Klimaanlage, Schiebedach) miteinbezogen. Nur nachträglich eingebautes Zubehör (z.B. Alarmanlage, Zusatzscheinwerfer) unterliegt nicht der NoVA. Der nachträgliche Einbau bedarf jedoch eines gesonderten Auftrages und einer gesonderten Rechnung der Fahrzeughändlerin/des Fahrzeughändlers.

Kfz-Leasing

Leasingfahrzeuge mit dauerndem Standort in Österreich unterliegen ebenfalls der NoVA, selbst wenn die Leasinggeberin/der Leasinggeber ihre/seine Niederlassung im Ausland hat. Es ist also der Ort der Verwendung des Kraftfahrzeuges und nicht der Sitz bzw. die Niederlassung der Leasinggeberin/des Leasinggebers entscheidend für die Steuerpflicht.

Eigenimport

Im Falle des Eigenimports (→ oesterreich.gv.at) eines neuen oder gebrauchten Kraftfahrzeuges zur erstmaligen Zulassung (→ oesterreich.gv.at) in Österreich (gilt auch als Übersiedelungsgut) ist die NoVA auch von Privatpersonen selbst zu berechnen und an das zuständige Finanzamt abzuführen. Für die Abfuhr der NoVA von Privatpersonen ist das Formular "NoVA 2" zu verwenden (siehe dazu auch die Erläuterungen zum Formular NoVA 2 – NoVA 2a).

Lieferung/Eigenverbrauch/Änderung der begünstigten Nutzung

Neben der Lieferung eines von der NoVA befreiten Kraftfahrzeuges (Vorführkraftfahrzeug, Mietwagen, Taxi usw.) entsteht die Pflicht zur Leistung der NoVA auch bei einem Eigenverbrauch oder einer Änderung der begünstigten Nutzung eines zuvor befreiten Kraftfahrzeuges (z.B. die Entnahme eines Taxifahrzeugs aus dem Betriebsvermögen).

Höhe der NoVA

Grundsätzlich ist die NoVA anhand der Rechtslage zu berechnen, die im Zeitpunkt der Tatbestandsverwirklichung (z.B. Zeitpunkt der Lieferung oder der Zulassung (→ oesterreich.gv.at)) in Kraft steht. Die NoVA wird im Regelfall abhängig von den CO2-Emissionen als Prozentsatz vom Fahrzeugwert (exkl. Umsatzsteuer und unter Umständen NoVA) berechnet. Bei Überschreitung eines gewissen CO2-Grenzwerts ist darüber hinaus ein CO2-Malus fällig. Bei Pkw, Kombis, Wohnmobilen und leichten Nutzfahrzeugen wird von der errechneten Steuer anschließend ein Fixbetrag abgezogen.

Befreiungen

Bestimmte Kraftfahrzeuge (z.B. Elektrofahrzeuge, Kraftfahrzeuge für Menschen mit Behinderungen, Vorführkraftfahrzeuge etc.) sind von der NoVA befreit (direkte Befreiung). Außerdem kann die NoVA für gewisse Kraftfahrzeuge (z.B. Begleitfahrzeuge für Sondertransporte, Fahrschulfahrzeuge, Miet-, Taxi- und Gästewägen etc.) im Wege der Vergütung geltend gemacht werden, wenn die vorwiegende Verwendung (mehr als 80 Prozent) des Kraftfahrzeuges für den begünstigten Zweck nachgewiesen wird.

Fälligkeit

Die Anmeldung muss spätestens am 15. Tag (Fälligkeitstag) des auf den Kalendermonat, in dem die Steuerschuld entstanden ist, zweitfolgenden Monats abgegeben werden. In der Anmeldung ist der zu bezahlende Betrag selbst zu berechnen. Die Abgabe muss spätestens am Fälligkeitstag bezahlt werden.

Hinweis

Händlerinnen/Händler von Kraftfahrzeugen, gewerbliche Vermieterinnen/Vermieter oder Privatpersonen (Zulassungsbesitzerin/Zulassungsbesitzer), die ein mit der NoVA belastetes Kraftfahrzeug nachweislich ins Ausland verbringen bzw. liefern, können binnen fünf Jahren beim zuständigen Finanzamt (→ BMF) die anteilige Rückvergütung der NoVA beantragen. Voraussetzung ist u.a. die Sperre in der Genehmigungsdatenbank zum Zeitpunkt des Antrages und dass das Kraftfahrzeug nicht mehr im Inland zum Verkehr zugelassen ist. Nähere Informationen zur Rückvergütung der NoVA finden Sie unter "Weiterführende Links".

Nähere Informationen zur NoVA für Unternehmerinnen/Unternehmer finden Sie unter folgenden Links:

Ausführliche Informationen zum Thema "Zulassungssperre/Finanzsperrauskunft (→ oesterreich.gv.at)" finden sich auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Weiterführende Links

Formulare

Letzte Aktualisierung: 1. Januar 2022

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.