This website uses Cookies. You will accept these by click on the button "continue". For more information read our page "Private Policy".

Income tax for EU citizens working in Austria

Tax liability in Austria

Only natural persons are liable for income tax in Austria. The Austrian Income Tax Act distinguishes between unrestricted and restricted liability for tax. The nationality of the person is not a material factor.

Unrestricted tax liability

The nationality of the person is not a material factor. Persons who have a domicile in Austria or for whom Austria is their usual place of residence have unrestricted tax liability. Those who have a home in the Austrian federal territory that they have regularly used as such over a longer period of time have a domicile in Austria. The home does not need to be their main home but it does have to meet the personal requirements of a home.

Persons have their usual place of residence in Austria if, rather than merely staying there temporarily (e.g. for a holiday or for business travel), they clearly spend longer periods in the federal territory. After a stay in Austria of six months, unrestricted tax liability applies in all cases – and on a retrospective basis.

If a person is subject to unrestricted tax liability, then all of their income in Austria and abroad (worldwide income) is assessed for tax in Austria.

Restricted tax liability

Persons employed in Austria or in receipt of income (e.g. a pension) in Austria, but who have no domicile or usual residence in Austria – regardless of their nationality – are subject to restricted tax liability.

Employees with restricted tax liability can apply for an assessment of income that is subject to salary tax, which makes it possible to offset certain expenses against tax. For those subject to restricted tax liability, however, such an assessment adds the sum of 9.000 Euro to their tax base, which does not apply to those working under payroll accounting terms. The reason for this is that the tax-free minimum subsistence level is taken into account by the country of residence. Since the tax-free limit in Austria is 11.000 Euro, this means that those with restricted tax liability have a remaining tax-free basic income of 2.000 Euro.

EU and EEA citizens who are not resident in Austria but whose main income is in Austria (that is, 90 percent of their income comes from Austria, or income from other countries amounts to no more than 11.000 Euro in total) can apply for unrestricted tax liability. In such cases, despite the unrestricted tax liability, only Austrian income is assessed for tax purposes and the full tax-free minimum subsistence level of 11.000 Euro is taken into account. Moreover, personal tax credits and exceptional costs can be applied.

Tax liability in Austria can be reduced on the basis of double taxation agreements if, for example, the employee has a foreign employer and is working only short-term in Austria. The most important points about double taxation agreements can be found on the website of the Austrian Federal Ministry of Finance (BMF) (see further links).

Paying taxes in Austria

In Austria, there are essentially two different systems for collecting income tax. Employees and pensioners pay a salary tax, while the self-employed pay income tax. The tax rates are the same but salary tax is a special form of income tax and is collected by the employer at the point at which the wage or salary payment is made, and remitted direct to the tax office.

Income tax is collected as part of the assessment process. For this purpose, an income tax return must be submitted to the tax office (generally electronically via FinanzOnline).

For employees, since tax is deducted by the employer, the employees themselves are not required to submit a tax return as a rule. In certain cases, however, they are subject to compulsory assessment, for instance if during the calendar year they have, at least for a time, received two or more incomes simultaneously that were subject to salary tax. Further information on reasons for compulsory assessments can be found on the BMF website (see further links). In particular, if you are resident in Austria and receive your income from an employer located outside Austria, or if you live abroad and receive an Austrian income, it may be useful to find out from the competent tax office what you need to do regarding the correct assessment of income tax.

Those subject to salary tax will have their income tax assessed by means of the ‘employee assessment’ process. Applications for employee assessment can be submitted to the tax office electronically via FinanzOnline. Using the appropriate forms, it is also possible to send the application by post or to submit it in person to the competent tax office. Should this result in a retrospective tax demand, the application for employee assessment can be withdrawn unless there are grounds for compulsory assessment.

FinanzOnline

Before starting to use FinanzOnline, a one-time registration is required. You can register with FinanzOnline online on the FinanzOnline home page, in person at a tax office or in writing.

On the FinanzOnline home page, under 'Initial online registration’, an electronic registration form can be opened and registration details entered. Only natural persons can submit an initial online registration to FinanzOnline.

Further links

Translated by the European Commission
last update: 1 January 2021

responsible for content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Einkommensteuer bei Berufstätigkeit von EU-Bürgern in Österreich

Steuerpflicht in Österreich

Einkommensteuerpflichtig in Österreich sind nur natürliche Personen. Das österreichische Einkommensteuergesetz unterscheidet zwischen unbeschränkter und beschränkter Steuerpflicht. Welche Staatsbürgerschaft eine Person besitzt, ist dabei nicht entscheidend.

Unbeschränkte Steuerpflicht

Welche Staatsbürgerschaft eine Person besitzt, ist dabei nicht entscheidend. Unbeschränkt steuerpflichtig sind Personen, die in Österreich ihren Wohnsitz oder ihren gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt haben. Einen Wohnsitz in Österreich haben Personen, die im Bundesgebiet über eine Wohnung verfügen, die sie offensichtlich über einen längeren Zeitraum immer wieder als solche nutzen. Die Wohnung muss nicht der Hauptwohnsitz sein, sie muss aber den persönlichen Verhältnissen entsprechend zum Wohnen geeignet sein.

Personen haben ihren gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt in Österreich, wenn sie sich nicht nur vorübergehend (z.B. für einen Urlaub, eine Geschäftsreise etc.), sondern offensichtlich über längere Zeit im Bundesgebiet aufhalten. Nach sechs Monaten Aufenthalt in Österreich tritt die unbeschränkte Steuerpflicht auf jeden Fall ein − und zwar rückwirkend.

Ist eine Person unbeschränkt steuerpflichtig, werden alle ihre in- und ausländischen Einkünfte (Welteinkommen) in Österreich steuerlich erfasst.

Beschränkte Steuerpflicht

Personen, die in Österreich als Arbeitnehmerin/Arbeitnehmer beschäftigt sind oder in Österreich Einkünfte (z.B. Pension) beziehen, jedoch in Österreich keinen Wohnsitz oder gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt haben, sind – unabhängig von ihrer Staatsbürgerschaft – beschränkt steuerpflichtig.

Beschränkt steuerpflichtige Arbeitnehmerinnen/beschränkt steuerpflichtige Arbeitnehmer können in Österreich eine Veranlagung lohnsteuerpflichtiger Einkünfte beantragen und dadurch bestimmte Ausgaben steuerlich absetzen. Bei beschränkt Steuerpflichtigen wird jedoch im Rahmen der Veranlagung ein Betrag von 9.000 Euro zur Steuerbemessungsgrundlage hinzugerechnet, der bei der laufenden Lohnverrechnung nicht miteinbezogen wird. Der Grund dafür ist, dass das steuerfreie Existenzminimum durch den Wohnsitzstaat zu berücksichtigen ist. Aufgrund der in Österreich geltenden Steuerfreigrenze von 11.000 Euro verbleibt für beschränkt Steuerpflichtige somit ein steuerfreies Basiseinkommen von 2.000 Euro.

EU- und EWR-Bürgerinnen/EU- und EWR-Bürger, die zwar keinen Wohnsitz, aber ihre Haupteinkünfte in Österreich haben (90 Prozent der Einkünfte werden in Österreich erzielt oder die Auslandseinkünfte betragen insgesamt nicht mehr als 11.000 Euro), können die unbeschränkte Steuerpflicht beantragen. Dabei werden trotz unbeschränkter Steuerpflicht nur die österreichischen Einkünfte steuerlich erfasst und es wird das volle steuerfreie Existenzminimum von 11.000 Euro berücksichtigt. Außerdem können persönliche Absetzbeträge und außergewöhnliche Belastungen geltend gemacht werden.

Die Steuerpflicht in Österreich kann aufgrund von Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen eingeschränkt werden, zum Beispiel, wenn die Arbeitnehmerin/der Arbeitnehmer eine ausländische Arbeitgeberin/einen ausländischen Arbeitgeber hat und nur kurzfristig in Österreich tätig wird. Die wichtigsten Informationen zu den Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen finden sich auf der Homepage des BMF (siehe weiterführende Links).

Steuern zahlen in Österreich

In Österreich wird bei der Einkommensteuer im Wesentlichen zwischen zwei Erhebungsformen unterschieden. Arbeiternehmerinnen/Arbeitnehmer und Pensionistinnen/Pensionisten zahlen Lohnsteuer, Selbstständige zahlen Einkommensteuer. Der Steuertarif ist gleich, die Lohnsteuer ist allerdings eine spezielle Form der Einkommensteuer und wird von der Arbeitgeberin/dem Arbeitgeber bereits bei der Gehalts- bzw. Lohnauszahlung eingehoben und direkt an das Finanzamt abgeführt.

Die Einkommensteuer wird im Veranlagungsweg erhoben. Dazu ist eine Einkommensteuererklärung beim Finanzamt (grundsätzlich elektronisch über FinanzOnline) abzugeben.

Da für Arbeitnehmerinnen/Arbeitnehmer der Steuerabzug durch die Arbeitgeberin/den Arbeitgeber erfolgt, sind Arbeitnehmerinnen/Arbeitnehmer in der Regel nicht verpflichtet, eine Steuererklärung abzugeben. In bestimmten Fällen müssen sie jedoch eine Pflichtveranlagung durchführen, z.B. weil sie im Kalenderjahr zumindest zeitweise gleichzeitig zwei oder mehrere lohnsteuerpflichtige Einkünfte bezogen haben. Zusätzliche Informationen zu Gründen für eine Pflichtveranlagung finden sich auf den Seiten des BMF (siehe weiterführende Links). Insbesondere, wenn Sie in Österreich Ihren Wohnsitz haben und Ihr Einkommen von einer ausländischen Arbeitgeberin/einem ausländischen Arbeitgeber beziehen oder im Ausland wohnen und ein österreichisches Einkommen erhalten, kann es sinnvoll sein, sich beim zuständigen Finanzamt zu erkundigen, wie Sie mit Ihrer Veranlagung der Einkommensteuer korrekt umzugehen haben.

Bei Lohnsteuerpflichtigen wird die Einkommensteuer im Rahmen der sogenannten "Arbeitnehmerveranlagung" berechnet. Der Antrag zur Arbeitnehmerveranlagung kann über FinanzOnline elektronisch an das Finanzamt übermittelt werden. Es ist auch möglich, den Antrag mit Hilfe der entsprechenden Formulare per Post zu senden oder persönlich beim zuständigen Finanzamt abzugeben. Sollte es zu einer Steuernachzahlung kommen, kann der Antrag auf Arbeitnehmerveranlagung wieder zurückgezogen werden, sofern kein Pflichtveranlagungsgrund vorliegt.

FinanzOnline

Der Einstieg in FinanzOnline erfordert eine einmalige Registrierung. Die Anmeldung zu FinanzOnline kann entweder online auf der Startseite von FinanzOnline, persönlich bei einem Finanzamt oder schriftlich durchgeführt werden.

Auf der Startseite von FinanzOnline kann unter dem Punkt "Online-Erstanmeldung" ein elektronisches Anmeldeformular geöffnet und die Anmeldedaten eingegeben werden. Nur natürliche Personen können eine Online-Erstanmeldung zu FinanzOnline durchführen.

Weiterführende Links

Letzte Aktualisierung: 1. Januar 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.