Tax base

The tax base for deliveries and other services is the fee. The fee is everything that the customer has to spend (including voluntary payments) in order to receive the delivery made or the other service provided (section 4 paragraph 1 of the Umsatzsteuergesetz – UStG). This also includes ancillary costs charged (expenditure), such as, for example, on packing, postage and shipping costs, service charge, taxes (e.g. excise duty, advertising charge), which are carried out on their own behalf.

Caution

VAT (USt) itself is not included in the tax base.

In practice, VAT (USt) is dependent on the agreed purchase price or fee. Only in certain cases, ‘the default value’ (section 4 paragraph 9 of the UStG) must be used as the tax base.

Tax base for self-supply

In the case of self-supply through withdrawal or use of an object the VAT is assessed according to the purchase price or the cost price (at the time of the withdrawal or use of an object). In the case of services for personal use, the VAT is assessed according to the accrued costs (section 4 paragraph 8 of the UStG).

Taxation of advance payments

Where an entrepreneur receives an advance payment for a service to be provided in the future, VAT must be paid on the monetary amount for the month of collection (first line, point a of section 19 paragraph 2 (1a) of the Umsatzsteuergesetz – UStG).

Where the person paying is an entrepreneur, an invoice must be drawn up for him/her, with the VAT being listed separately. This invoice entitles him/her – if the other legal requirements are met – to deduct input tax.

Further links

VAT information on the Steuerreformgesetz 2015/2016 (→ BMF)German text

Legal basis

Sections 4 and 19 of the Umsatzsteuergesetz (UStG)

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 1 January 2022

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Bemessungsgrundlage

Die Bemessungsgrundlage für die Umsatzsteuer auf Lieferungen und sonstige Leistungen ist das Entgelt. Entgelt ist alles, was die Kundin/der Kunde aufzuwenden hat (auch freiwillige Zahlungen), um die getätigte Lieferung oder erbrachte sonstige Leistung zu erhalten (§ 4 Abs 1 UStG). Dazu zählen auch weiterverrechnete Nebenkosten (Aufwendungen), wie z.B. Verpackungs-, Beförderungs- und Portokosten, Bedienungszuschlag, Steuern (z.B. Verbrauchsteuern, Werbeabgabe), die im eigenen Namen getätigt werden.

Achtung

Die Umsatzsteuer selbst zählt nicht zur Bemessungsgrundlage!

In der Praxis hängt die Umsatzteuer also von dem vereinbarten Kaufpreis bzw. Honorar ab. Nur in gewissen Fällen ist "der Normalwert" (§ 4 Abs. 9 UStG) als Bemessungsgrundlage heranzuziehen.

Bemessungsgrundlage beim Eigenverbrauch

Beim Eigenverbrauch wird im Falle der Entnahme bzw. Verwendung eines Gegenstandes die Umsatzsteuer nach dem Einkaufspreis bzw. den Selbstkosten (im Zeitpunkt der Entnahme bzw. Verwendung eines Gegenstandes) bemessen. Bei Dienstleistungen für den privaten Bedarf wird die Umsatzsteuer nach den darauf entfallenden Kosten bemessen (§ 4 Abs. 8 UStG).

Besteuerung von Anzahlungen

Falls ein Unternehmen eine Anzahlung für eine künftig zu erbringende Leistung erhält, ist der empfangene Geldbetrag bereits für den Monat der Vereinnahmung der Umsatzsteuer zu unterziehen (§ 19 Abs 2 Z 1 lit a UStG).

Ist die Anzahlende/der Anzahlende ein Unternehmen, so muss eine Rechnung ausgestellt werden, in der die Umsatzsteuer gesondert ausgewiesen ist. Diese berechtigt – bei Vorliegen der sonstigen gesetzlichen Voraussetzungen – zum Vorsteuerabzug.

Weiterführende Links

Umsatzsteuer Info zum Steuerreformgesetz 2015/2016 (→ BMF)

Rechtsgrundlagen

§§ 4 und 19 Umsatzsteuergesetz (UStG)

Letzte Aktualisierung: 1. Januar 2022

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.