Excise regulations for wine and sparkling wine

General information

Wines and sparkling wines are not subject to excise duty in Austria. In addition, movements of wine and sparkling wine under duty suspension within Austria's tax territory are exempt from procedural obligations (EMCS). Austrian excise legislation does not impose any obligations either with regard to movements of wine and sparkling wine in free circulation within its tax territory.

However, as excise goods within the meaning of the Excise System Directive (EU) 2020/262, the production and cross-border movement of sparkling wine and wine are subject to certain EU procedural requirements. The tax revenue of those EU Member States where wines and/or sparkling wines are subject to excise duty is to be secured. The provisions of the duty suspension procedure continue to apply to movements of wine and sparkling wine even if the rate of excise duty applicable in every EU Member State involved in the movement is zero. Accordingly, movements of wine and sparkling wine in free circulation must be carried out using the "simplified accompanying document" (VSt 2).

The goods category "wine and other fermented beverages" includes the sub-categories "non-sparkling" and "sparkling".

Movements under the duty suspension procedure

Movements under duty suspension with other EU Member States must be carried out using the "Excise Movement and Control System" (EMCS). A permit from the Customs Office is required if shipping these items under the duty suspension procedure to another EU Member State (an exemption is in place for Small Wine Producers). With this permit, the business is considered to be a tax warehouse for the intra-Community shipment or procurement of wine or sparkling wine (tax warehouse fiction).

"Small Wine Producers"

Wine producers with an average production of less than 1,000 hectolitres per wine year (defined as 1 September of one year to 31 August of the following year) qualify as "Small Wine Producers." Although Small Wine Producers are still required to report shipments under duty suspension in the EMCS, there is provision for them to use a simplified approval procedure. Such businesses are deemed to have approval to send wine to other EU Member States under duty suspension, as soon as they notify the Customs Office in writing that they wish to commence the shipment. Although no formal tax warehouse permit will be issued in this situation, the business concerned will be issued with an ATV number and registered in the SEED database. Other obligations, in particular the obligation to issue an electronic administrative document (e-AD) when transporting goods under duty suspension to other EU Member States, also apply to "Small Wine Producers".

In order to be able to purchase wine or sparkling wine from other EU Member States from tax warehouses or registered consignors, you can apply for a permit as a registered consignee.

Movements in free circulation

Intra-Community procurement

The procedure for procurement for commercial purposes, including the obligation to notify the Customs Office before each purchase and the allocation of an excise number, must be applied.

Where wine or sparkling wine is sent to Austria for commercial purposes from the free circulation of other EU Member states, the simplified accompanying document is used. The formal procedure must be complied with at all times, even if no tax is payable on wine in the country of dispatch (e.g. Germany or Italy) and in Austria.

This provision does not apply to Small Wine Producers, provided that the wording "Wine in free circulation for tax purposes – Small Wine Producer pursuant to Article 40 of EU Directive 2020/262 of the Council of 16 December 2008" is clearly and legibly entered in another accompanying document to be issued in accordance with wine legislation. Under these circumstances, the accompanying document according to "wine law" replaces the simplified accompanying document VSt 2.

However, prior notification (by means of form VSt 21) and payment of the security deposit are not required for movements of wine and sparkling wine. In order to complete the procedure in the appropriate manner, the Customs Office, upon request and presentation of the simplified accompanying document, certifies that the wine has entered the consignee's premises.

From 13 February 2023, in implementation of Directive (EU) 2020/262, the EMCS procedure will be extended to the cross-border procurement of wines and sparkling wines in free circulation.

Intra-Community shipment

The simplified accompanying document is also used as accompanying documentation for intra-Community shipments for commercial purposes of wine and sparkling wine (an exemption is in place for Small Wine Producers). The requirement to notify the Customs Office in advance does not apply either to such shipments.

From 13 February 2023, in implementation of Directive (EU) 2020/262, the EMCS procedure will be extended to the cross-border shipment of wines and sparkling wines in free circulation.

Certified translation
Last update: 1 January 2022

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Wein und Schaumwein – Verbrauchsteuerrechtliche Bestimmungen

Allgemeines

Für Wein und Schaumwein fallen in Österreich keine Verbrauchsteuern an. Außerdem sind Beförderungen von Wein und Schaumwein unter Steueraussetzung im Steuergebiet von den Verfahrensverpflichtungen (EMCS) ausgenommen. Auch für Beförderungen von Wein und Schaumwein des steuerrechtlich freien Verkehrs innerhalb des Steuergebiets sieht das österreichische Verbrauchsteuerrecht keine Verpflichtungen vor.

Als verbrauchsteuerpflichtige Waren im Sinne der Verbrauchsteuer-Systemrichtlinie (EU) 2020/262 unterliegen die Herstellung und die grenzüberschreitende Beförderung von Schaumwein und Wein jedoch bestimmten EU-Verfahrensvorschriften. Das Steueraufkommen jener EU-Mitgliedstaaten, in denen eine Verbrauchsteuer auf Wein und/oder Schaumwein erhoben wird, soll gesichert werden. Für Beförderungen von Wein und Schaumwein gelten die Bestimmungen über das Steueraussetzungsverfahren auch dann, wenn in sämtlichen von einer Beförderung betroffenen EU-Mitgliedstaaten die Verbrauchsteuer Null beträgt. Dementsprechend müssen Beförderungen von Wein und Schaumwein im verbrauchsteuerrechtlich freien Verkehr unter Verwendung des "vereinfachten Begleitdokuments" (VSt 2) erfolgen.

In der Warenkategorie "Wein und andere gegorene Getränke" befinden sich die Unterkategorien "nicht schäumend" und "schäumend".

Beförderungen im Verfahren der Steueraussetzung

Beförderungen unter Steueraussetzung mit anderen EU-Mitgliedstaaten haben im "Excise Movement and Control System" (EMCS) zu erfolgen. Für die Verbringung im Steueraussetzungsverfahren in einen anderen EU-Mitgliedstaat ist eine Bewilligung vom Zollamt erforderlich (Ausnahmeregelung für kleine Weinerzeuger). Mit dieser Bewilligung gilt der Betrieb für den innergemeinschaftlichen Versand oder Bezug von Wein oder Schaumwein als Steuerlager (Steuerlagerfiktion).

"Kleine Weinerzeuger"

Weinherstellungsbetriebe mit einer durchschnittlichen Erzeugung von weniger als 1.000 Hektolitern Wein pro Weinwirtschaftsjahr (1. September eines Jahres bis 31. August des folgenden Jahres) gelten als "Kleine Weinerzeuger". Die Verbringung von Wein unter Steueraussetzung ist zwar auch von kleinen Weinerzeugern (Kleinerzeugern) im EMCS zu erfassen, es ist jedoch ein vereinfachtes Bewilligungsverfahren vorgesehen. Diesen Betrieben gilt die Bewilligung zum Versand von Wein in andere EU-Mitgliedstaaten unter Steueraussetzung als erteilt, sobald sie schriftlich dem Zollamt anzeigen, dass sie den Versand aufnehmen wollen. Eine förmliche Steuerlagerbewilligung wird zwar nicht erteilt, es erfolgt jedoch die Vergabe einer ATV-Nummer und die Registrierung in der Datenbank SEED. Die sonstigen Verpflichtungen, insbesondere die Pflicht zur Ausstellung eines elektronischen Verwaltungsdokuments (e-VD) bei der Beförderung unter Steueraussetzung in andere EU-Mitgliedstaaten gelten auch für "Kleine Weinerzeuger".

Um aus anderen EU-Mitgliedstaaten Wein oder Schaumwein aus Steuerlagern oder von registrierten Versenderinnen/registrierten Versendern lediglich beziehen zu können, kann eine Bewilligung als registrierte Empfängerin/registrierter Empfänger beantragt werden.

Beförderungen im steuerrechtlich freien Verkehr

Innergemeinschaftlicher Bezug

Das Verfahren beim Bezug zu gewerblichen Zwecken inkl. der Anzeigepflicht vor jedem Bezug sowie der Vergabe einer Verbrauchsteuernummer müssen angewendet werden.

Wenn Wein oder Schaumwein zu gewerblichen Zwecken aus dem freien Verkehr anderer EU-Mitgliedstaaten nach Österreich versendet werden, wird als Begleitpapier das Vereinfachte Begleitdokument verwendet. Auch wenn im Versandland (z.B. Deutschland oder Italien) und in Österreich keine Steuer für Wein zu entrichten ist, muss das formale Verfahren eingehalten werden.

Das gilt nicht für kleine Weinerzeuger, soweit in einem anderen nach weinrechtlichen Vorschriften auszustellenden Begleitdokument deutlich sichtbar und gut lesbar die Worte "Wein des steuerrechtlich freien Verkehrs – Kleiner Weinerzeuger gemäß Art. 40 der Richtlinie (EU) 2020/262 des Rates vom 16. Dezember 2008" eingetragen sind. Das Begleitdokument nach "Weinrecht" ersetzt unter diesen Umständen das Vereinfachte Begleitdokument VSt 2.

Allerdings entfällt bei Wein und Schaumwein die vorherige Anzeige (mittels Formular VSt 21) sowie die Einzahlung der Sicherheitsleistung. Um das Verfahren ordnungsgemäß abzuschließen, bescheinigt das Zollamt auf Antrag und Vorlage des Vereinfachten Begleitdokuments die Aufnahme des Weins in den Betrieb des Empfängers.

Ab dem 13. Februar 2023 wird in Umsetzung der Richtlinie (EU) 2020/262 das EMCS Verfahren auf den grenzüberschreitenden Bezug von Wein und Schaumwein im steuerrechtlich freien Verkehr ausgeweitet.

Innergemeinschaftliche Verbringung

Bei der innergemeinschaftlichen Verbringung zu gewerblichen Zwecken von Wein und Schaumwein wird ebenso das Vereinfachte Begleitdokument als Begleitpapier verwendet (Ausnahmeregelung für kleine Weinerzeuger). Allerdings entfallen auch hier die vorherigen Meldungen an das Zollamt.

Ab dem 13. Februar 2023 wird in Umsetzung der Richtlinie (EU) 2020/262 das EMCS Verfahren auf die grenzüberschreitende Verbringung von Wein und Schaumwein im steuerrechtlich freien Verkehr ausgeweitet.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 1. Januar 2022

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.