Intra-Community distance selling

Intra-Community distance sales are sales of goods whereby a company transports or sends the goods from one Member State to certain recipients, e.g. consumers, in another Member State. Intra-Community distance sales must generally be taxed in the Member State where the transport ends (Member State of destination). By way of derogation, intra-Community distance sales by micro-businesses are taxable in the Member State where the transport begins.

The selling of new means of transport as well as sales falling within the application of the margin scheme are excluded from the rules for Intra-Community distance sales.

Please note

As of 1 July 2021, there will be some major changes to the rules on intra-Community distance sales. For example, the hitherto threshold will be abolished, and intra-Community distance sales will instead be taxable in the country of destination in most cases. Moreover, the taxpayer has the option to register in only one EU Member State (Member State of identification) to the EU-OSS and declare and pay the VAT on intra-Community distance sales for all EU Member States via the EU One Stop Shop. The new rules will apply to sales transactions effected on or after 1 July 2021.

Recipients of distance sales

The rules on distance sales are only applicable to the supply of goods to the following categories of person:

  • consumers
  • entrepreneurs who are not purchasing the item for their business
  • "certain businesses" who do not exceed the purchase threshold and also do not waive application thereof

The last point above on "certain businesses" covers the following businesses:

  • businesses that only effect tax exempt transactions which do not entitle the business to input VAT
  • SMEs
  • farmers eligible for flat-rate tax
  • legal persons that are not entrepreneurs or are not purchasing the item for their business (e.g. chambers of commerce, local government authorities)

Micro-business

There is a simplified rule for micro-businesses, which stipulates that intra-Community distance sales must be taxed in the Member State in which the transport of the goods begins. For this rule to apply, the taxpayer must only be established in one EU Member State, i.e. the taxpayer cannot have fixed establishments in another EU Member State and must not exceed a threshold of Euro 10,000. The threshold consists of all intra-Community distance sales plus services within the meaning of Article 3a, paragraph 5, first sentence of the Umsatzsteuergesetz (UStG - Austrian VAT Act). The simplification for micro-businesses can be waived.

Please note

The provisions on the purchase threshold and the exemption for micro-business (as well as the distance selling threshold) do not apply to sales of excisable goods. When such goods are delivered to Austria from other Member States, they are always subject to Austrian VAT or result in acquisition tax being incurred by the threshold purchaser.

Example 1:

U has her business in Austria and does not have fixed establishments in other EU Member States. In 2021, U only supplies goods within Austria (i.e. she does not have any Intra-Community distance sales). From January to August 2022, the supplies of goods within Austria amount to 15,000 Euro. In the same period, U carries out supplies of goods to consumers in other Member States:

  • supplies to Germany: 5,000 Euro
  • supplies to France: 4,900 Euro

In addition to the intra-Community distance sales mentioned above, U carries out another intra-Community distance sale on 4 September 2022 and receives 200 Euro as consideration.

Solution for example 1:

In 2021, U carries out only supplies within Austria and therefore does not exceed the threshold for micro-businesses.

In 2022, U is treated as micro-business for sales carried out before she exceeds the 10,000 Euro threshold. If U does not opt out of the micro-business simplification, these intra-Community sales are taxable in Austria.

U exceeds the 10,000 Euro threshold with the sale (200 Euro) on 4 September 2022. She cannot use the simplification for micro-businesses for sales carried out as of that time and has to tax these supplies in the Member State where the transport ends. This treatment also already applies to the sale of the goods for 200 Euro in September. U can avoid a registration in France, by registering in Austria to the EU-OSS and declaring and paying the VAT through the EU-OSS.

Example 2:

In 2021, the Austrian distance seller V effects intra-Community distance sales amounting to 200,000 Euro. V sells goods in 2022 to a consumer in Germany, whereby he sends the goods via a delivery service from Austria to Germany.

Solution for example 2:

Since the 10,000 Euro threshold was exceeded in the preceding year, V cannot use the simplification for micro-businesses. The intra-Community distance sales effected in 2022 are therefore taxable in the Member State where the transport ends (see Art 3 Abs 3 UStG).

Until 30 June 2021, if a company supplies goods from one Member State to consumers or certain other recipients in another Member State, this transaction is only taxable in the destination country if the distance selling threshold for the destination country in question is exceeded. The place of delivery relevant for taxation purposes only changes when the distance selling threshold in the Member State where the delivery or shipment ends is exceeded. Calculation of the distance selling threshold must take place separately for each Member State. Consequently, in the case of intra-Community distance selling to Austria, it is the Austrian distance selling threshold that must be applied.

However, it is also possible to waive application of the distance selling threshold. In the case of distance sales from Austria to the rest of the Community territory, the Austrian tax office (→ BMF)German text must be notified in writing that the waiver is being applied. This waiver can be issued separately for each Member State. This shifts the place of delivery to the country of destination right from the first sale, irrespective of the number of transactions carried out.

The distance selling threshold does not apply to excisable goods.

Translated by the European Commission, altered by the Federal Ministry of Finance
Last update: 1 January 2021

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.

Innergemeinschaftlicher Versandhandel

Ein innergemeinschaftlicher Versandhandel liegt vor, wenn ein Unternehmen Waren aus einem Mitgliedstaat in einen anderen Mitgliedstaat an private oder andere bestimmte Abnehmerinnen/Abnehmer liefert. Innergemeinschaftliche Versandhandelsumsätze sind grundsätzlich in dem Mitgliedstaat zu versteuern, in dem die Beförderung endet (Bestimmungsland). Abweichend davon ist der innergemeinschaftliche Versandhandel durch Kleinstunternehmen in dem Mitgliedstaat, in dem die Beförderung beginnt, steuerbar.

Kein innergemeinschaftlicher Versandhandel liegt bei der Lieferung neuer Fahrzeuge oder bei Anwendung der Differenzbesteuerung vor.

Hinweis

Mit 1. Juli 2021 werden die Regelungen zum innergemeinschaftlichen Versandhandel umfassend geändert. Zum Beispiel wird die Lieferschwelle abgeschafft und innergemeinschaftliche Versandhandelsumsätze sind generell im Bestimmungsland zu versteuern. Zudem kann die innerhalb der EU zu entrichtende Umsatzsteuer auf innergemeinschaftliche Versandhandelsumsätze über den EU-OSS in nur einem EU-Mitgliedstaat (Mitgliedstaat der Registrierung) erklärt und abgeführt werden. Die Neuregelung gilt für Umsätze, die am 1. Juli 2021 oder danach ausgeführt werden.

Abnehmerkreis im Versandhandel

Die Versandhandelsregelung kommt nur bei Lieferungen an die folgenden Personen zur Anwendung:

  • Konsumentinnen/Konsumenten
  • Unternehmen, die den Gegenstand nicht für ihr Unternehmen erwerben
  • Schwellenerwerberinnen/Schwellenerwerber, die die Erwerbschwelle nicht überschreiten und auch nicht auf die Anwendung dieser verzichten

Schwellenerwerberinnen/Schwellenerwerber sind folgende Unternehmen:

  • Unternehmen, die nur steuerfreie Umsätze ausführen, die zum Vorsteuerausschluss führen
  • Kleinunternehmen
  • Pauschalierte Landwirtinnen/pauschalierte Landwirte
  • Eine juristische Person, die nicht Unternehmerin ist oder die den Gegenstand nicht für ihr Unternehmen erwirbt (z.B. Kammern, Gemeinden)

Kleinstunternehmen

Für Kleinstunternehmen gibt es eine Vereinfachung, nach der die Besteuerung von innergemeinschaftlichen Versandhandelsumsätzen in jenem Mitgliedstaat erfolgt, in dem die Beförderung der Waren beginnt. Voraussetzung ist, dass das Unternehmen nur in einem EU-Mitgliedstaat niedergelassen ist, d.h. über keine Betriebsstätte in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat verfügt, und innergemeinschaftliche Versandhandelsumsätze und Dienstleistungen iSd Art. 3a Abs. 5 Z 1 UStG von insgesamt maximal 10.000 Euro tätigt. Auf die Anwendung dieser Vereinfachungsregelung kann verzichtet werden.

Hinweis

Die Vorschriften über die Erwerbsschwelle und die Ausnahme für Kleinstunternehmen (bzw. Lieferschwelle) gelten nicht für die Lieferung verbrauchsteuerpflichtiger Waren. Derartige Lieferungen aus anderen Mitgliedstaaten nach Österreich sind immer der österreichischen Umsatzsteuer zu unterwerfen oder führen bei der Schwellenerwerberin/beim Schwellenwerber zur Erwerbsbesteuerung.

Beispiel 1:

Die Unternehmerin U betreibt ihr Unternehmen in Österreich und verfügt über keine Betriebsstätte in anderen EU-Mitgliedstaaten. Im Jahr 2021 führt U nur Lieferungen innerhalb von Österreich aus (d.h. keine innergemeinschaftlichen Versandhandelsumsätze). Von Jänner bis August 2022 erzielt U Umsätze aus Lieferungen innerhalb von Österreich iHv 15.000 Euro und überdies Umsätze aus Lieferungen von Österreich an Konsumenten in anderen Mitgliedstaaten in folgender Höhe:

  • Nach Deutschland: 5.000 Euro
  • Nach Frankreich: 4.900 Euro

Am 4. September 2022 liefert U zusätzlich zu diesen innergemeinschaftlichen Versandhandelsumsätzen eine Ware um 200 Euro an einen Konsumenten in Frankreich.

Lösung zu Beispiel 1:

Im Jahr 2021 erzielte U nur Umsätze innerhalb von Österreich und überschreitet die Umsatzgrenze für Kleinstunternehmen daher nicht. Im Jahr 2022 ist U bis zum Überschreiten der Umsatzgrenze noch als Kleinstunternehmerin zu behandeln. Sofern U nicht auf die Kleinstunternehmerregelung verzichtet, sind ihre innergemeinschaftlichen Versandhandelsumsätze in Österreich zu versteuern.

Mit dem Verkauf der Ware um 200 Euro am 4. September 2022 überschreitet U die Umsatzgrenze und ist ab diesem Zeitpunkt nicht mehr als Kleinstunternehmerin zu behandeln. Ab Überschreiten der Umsatzgrenze ausgeführte innergemeinschaftliche Versandhandelsumsätze sind daher in jenem Mitgliedstaat steuerbar, in dem die Beförderung bzw. Versendung endet. Dies gilt auch für den im September ausgeführten innergemeinschaftlichen Versandhandelsumsatz iHv 200 Euro. Um eine Registrierung zur Umsatzsteuer in Frankreich zu vermeiden, kann sich U zum EU-OSS registrieren und die Umsatzsteuer für den innergemeinschaftlichen Versandhandelsumsatz über diesen erklären.

Beispiel 2:

Im Jahr 2021 erzielt der österreichische Versandhändler V innergemeinschaftliche Versandhandelsumsätze iHv 200.000 Euro. V verkauft im Jahr 2022 eine Ware an eine Konsumentin in Deutschland und versendet diese über einen Spediteur von Österreich aus.

Lösung zu Beispiel 2:

Da die Umsatzgrenze für Kleinstunternehmen im vorangegangenen Jahr überschritten wurde, ist V im Jahr 2022 nicht als Kleinstunternehmen zu behandeln. Die im Jahr 2022 ausgeführten innergemeinschaftlichen Versandhandelsumsätze sind daher zur Gänze am Ende der Beförderung zu versteuern (Art. 3 Abs. 3 UStG).

Liefert ein Unternehmen Waren aus einem Mitgliedstaat in einen anderen Mitgliedstaat an private oder an bestimmte andere Abnehmerinnen/Abnehmer, ist diese Lieferung bis 30. Juni 2021 nur dann im Bestimmungsland zu versteuern, wenn die Lieferschwelle des jeweiligen Bestimmungslandes überschritten wird. Der für die Besteuerung maßgebliche Ort der Lieferung verlagert sich nur bei Überschreiten der Lieferschwelle dorthin, wo die Beförderung oder Versendung endet. Die Berechnung der Lieferschwelle ist für jeden Mitgliedstaat gesondert vorzunehmen. Beim innergemeinschaftlichen Versandhandel nach Österreich ist daher die österreichische Lieferschwelle zu beachten.

Es besteht die Möglichkeit, auf die Anwendung der Lieferschwelle zu verzichten. Dieser Verzicht ist bei Versandhandelsumsätzen von Österreich in das übrige Gemeinschaftsgebiet schriftlich beim österreichischen Finanzamt (→ BMF) einzubringen und kann für jeden Mitgliedstaat gesondert abgegeben werden. Durch den Verzicht verlagert sich der Ort der Lieferung unabhängig von der Höhe der ausgeführten Umsätze bereits ab dem ersten Umsatz in das Bestimmungsland.

Für verbrauchsteuerpflichtige Waren gilt die Lieferschwelle nicht.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 27. Mai 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.