This website uses Cookies. You will accept these by click on the button "continue". For more information read our page "Private Policy".

Declaration and payment in the IOSS

How can the declaration be submitted?

The declaration is submitted similarly to the submission of a declaration in the EU-OSS (electronically via FinanzOnline). Unlike with the EU-OSS and the non-EU-OSS, the declaration period in the IOSS is the calendar month.

How is the tax due paid?

Tax payments for sales declared through the IOSS are made via an account set up by the tax administration for the purpose of the IOSS. Payment is made by an indication of the underlying tax declaration.

When does the declaration need to be submitted in the IOSS and when does the VAT need to be paid?

Distance sales of imported goods must be included in the calender month in which payment is accepted. This also applies regardless of whether the supply is carried out much later or the actual payment is only made much later. The business has one month after the end of the declaration period to submit the declaration and pay the tax.

In accordance with Art. 61b VO (EU) 282/2011 (→ EU), the time of payment is defined as

  • the time at which the payment was verified or
  • the payment approval notice or a payment pledge, depending on which is earlier.

On 30 December 2022, an Austrian consumer orders goods from a business that is registered for the IOSS (payment method: credit card). In January 2023, the payment is debited from the customer’s credit card. On 10 January 2023, the mail order company sends the goods from Switzerland to Austria.

Solution

The relevant point in time for determining the relevant IOSS declaration period is 30 December 2022. The sale must be included in the December 2022 declaration period. The business has time until the end of January to submit the IOSS declaration and pay the VAT.

Do declarations also need to be submitted for declaration periods in which the business does not make any sales?

Yes. If the business decides to use the IOSS, declarations must be submitted even if no mail order sales of imported goods are made in a month (zero reporting). If a business repeatedly fails to submit a declaration, they will be excluded and banned from using the One-Stop-Shop-schemes.

What information must be provided in the IOSS declaration?

The Member State in which the tax is payable (Member State of Consumption), the (net) tax base (net sales in euros) and the applicable tax rate must be provided in the declaration. The fixed establishment to which the sales are ascribed to does not need to be stated in the declaration.

Where can I find out what tax rate is applicable?

By analogy, see the information on the applicable tax rate in the EU-OSS

In what currency do the sums need to be reported?

By analogy, see the information on the relevant currency in the EU-OSS.

A customer has returned a good or receives an after-purchase rebate. How can a correction be made to the IOSS declaration?

Corrections of IOSS declarations already submitted are made in a similar manner as a correction in the EU-OSS. Corrections can be made up to a maximum of three years from the day in which the original declaration had to be submitted.

Translated by the European Commission, altered by the Federal Ministry of Finance
last update: 23 February 2021

responsible for content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Erklärung und Zahlung im IOSS

Wie kann die Erklärung abgegeben werden?

Die Abgabe der Erklärung erfolgt sinngemäß wie die Abgabe der Erklärung im EU-OSS (elektronisch über FinanzOnline). Anders als beim EU-OSS und beim Nicht-EU-OSS ist der Erklärungszeitraum im IOSS der Kalendermonat.

Wie erfolgt die Zahlung der geschuldeten Steuer?

Die Zahlung der Steuer für die über den IOSS erklärten Umsätze erfolgt über ein von der Finanzverwaltung für die Zwecke des IOSS eingerichtetes Konto. Die Zahlung erfolgt unter Hinweis auf die zugrundeliegende Steuererklärung.

Wann muss die Erklärung im IOSS abgeben und die Umsatzsteuer bezahlt werden?

Die Einfuhr-Versandhandelsumsätze sind in jenes Quartal aufzunehmen, in dem die Zahlungsannahme erfolgt. Dies gilt auch dann, wenn das Unternehmen der Sollbesteuerung unterliegt oder wenn die tatsächliche Zahlung erst sehr viel später erfolgt. Das Unternehmen hat nach Ablauf des Erklärungszeitraums einen Monat Zeit, um die Erklärung abzugeben und die Steuer zu bezahlen.

Als Zeitpunkt der Zahlungsannahme gilt gemäß Art. 61b VO (EU) 282/2011 (→ EU)

  • der Zeitpunkt, zu dem die Zahlung bestätigt wurde oder
  • die Zahlungsgenehmigungsmeldung oder eine Zahlungszusage je nachdem, welcher Zeitpunkt der frühere ist.

Am 30. Dezember 2022 bestellt eine österreichische Konsumentin Waren bei einem zum IOSS registrierten Unternehmen (Zahlungsart: Kreditkarte). Im Jänner 2023 wird die Zahlung von der Kreditkarte der Kundin abgebucht. Am 10. Jänner 2023 versendet der Versandhändler die Waren aus der Schweiz nach Österreich.

Lösung

Der für die Bestimmung des IOSS Erklärungszeitraums maßgebliche Zeitpunkt ist der 30. Dezember 2022. Der Umsatz ist in den Erklärungszeitraum Dezember 2022 aufzunehmen. Das Unternehmen hat bis Ende Jänner Zeit die IOSS-Erklärung abzugeben und die Umsatzsteuer zu entrichten.

Müssen Erklärungen auch für Erklärungszeiträume abgegeben werden, in denen das Unternehmen keine Umsätze erbringt?

Ja. Entscheidet sich das Unternehmen für die Anwendung des IOSS, müssen Erklärungen auch dann eingereicht werden, wenn in einem Monat keine Einfuhr-Versandhandelsumsätze getätigt werden (Nullmeldungen). Unterlässt ein Unternehmen dies wiederholt, kann es zum Ausschluss und zu einer Sperre kommen.

Was ist in der IOSS Erklärung anzugeben?

In der Erklärung sind der Mitgliedstaat, in dem die Steuer zu entrichten ist (Mitgliedstaat des Verbrauchs), die Bemessungsgrundlage für die Steuer (Netto – Umsatz in Euro) und der anzuwendende Steuersatz anzugeben. Die Angabe einer Betriebsstätte ist in der Erklärung nicht notwendig.

Woher weiß ich welcher Steuersatz anzuwenden ist?

Siehe sinngemäß die Informationen zum anzuwendenden Steuersatz im EU-OSS.

In welcher Währung sind die Beträge anzugeben?

Siehe sinngemäß die Informationen zur relevanten Währung im EU-OSS.

Ein Kunde hat eine Ware retourniert oder bekommt nachträglich einen Rabatt. Wie kann eine Korrektur in der IOSS Erklärung vorgenommen werden?

Korrekturen von bereits übermittelten IOSS Erklärungen erfolgen sinngemäß wie die Korrektur im EU-OSS. Korrekturen können bis maximal drei Jahre ab dem Tag, an dem die ursprüngliche Erklärung abzugeben war, vorgenommen werden.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 23. Februar 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.