This website uses Cookies. You will accept these by click on the button "continue". For more information read our page "Private Policy".

e-invoicing the public administration

Since 1 January 2014, it has been compulsory to e-invoice federal agencies. In accordance with Section 5 of the IKT-Konsolidierungsgesetz (IKTKonG), the contractual partners of federal agencies (e.g. suppliers, service providers) in the trade of goods and services are obliged to submit invoices exclusively in electronically structured form. Federal agencies no longer accept paper invoices. The only exception is for cash transactions.

Please note

These regulations apply in principle to all traders from EU Member States in Austria. Foreign contractual partners of federal agencies are only obliged to issue and transmit e-invoices in accordance with the technical possibilities. Paper invoices are therefore also still accepted. E-invoices can be submitted via USP.gv.at or PEPPOL. Foreign contractual partners with registered office in Austria are, however, subject to the e-invoicing obligation.

Several types of submission are available. After an initial check for formal errors, the electronic invoice is forwarded to the appropriate department. A copy of the invoice in PDF format is automatically generated and sent back to the e-mail address(es) specified in the electronic invoice as confirmation of the submission. If the invoice submission did not work, the sender is made aware of this by the system.

For reasons of synergy, the functions for the submission of e-invoices are also being made available to other public administrative units (e.g. provinces, municipalities, cities). There is currently no obligation for the contractual partners of these administrative units to submit invoices electronically.

A short filmGerman text explains how traders can benefit from the advantages of electronically invoicing the public administration. Two further videos contain helpful tips on submitting an e-invoice to the public administration:

Please note

Use of the "E-RECHNUNG.GV.AT" service requires registration in the undertaking service portal (USP). More detailed information on the assignment of authorisation for the service following successful registration can be found in the user guide Rechteverwaltung USP/E-RECHNUNG.GV.AT (PDF) . .

More detailed information on e-invoicing the public administration can be found in the information brochures of the Federal Ministry of Finance:

Related links

Legal basis

Translated by the European Commission
last update: 1 January 2021
responsible for content:
  • USP Editorial Staff
  • Federal Ministry of Finance

Rate this page and help us to improve.

e-Rechnung an die öffentliche Verwaltung

Seit 1. Jänner 2014 ist die e-Rechnung an Bundesdienststellen verpflichtend. Gemäß § 5 IKT-Konsolidierungsgesetz (IKTKonG) sind die Vertragspartnerinnen/Vertragspartner von Bundesdienststellen (z.B. Lieferantinnen/Lieferanten, Dienstleisterinnen/Dienstleister) im Waren- und Dienstleistungsverkehr verpflichtet, Rechnungen ausschließlich in elektronisch strukturierter Form einzubringen. Von den Bundesdienststellen werden keine Papierrechnungen mehr akzeptiert.

Achtung

Diese Regelungen gelten grundsätzlich für alle Unternehmerinnen/Unternehmer aus EU-Mitgliedstaaten in Österreich. Ausländische Vertragspartnerinnen/Vertragspartner von Bundesdienststellen sind nur nach Maßgabe der technischen Möglichkeiten zur Ausstellung und Übermittlung von e-Rechnungen verpflichtet. Papierrechnungen werden daher auch weiterhin akzeptiert. E-Rechnungen können über USP.gv.at oder PEPPOL eingebracht werden. Ausländische Vertragspartnerinnen/Vertragspartner mit Sitz im Inland (Österreich) fallen jedoch unter die e-Rechnungspflicht.

Mehrere Einbringungsarten stehen zur Auswahl. Nach einer ersten Prüfung auf formale Fehler wird die elektronische Rechnung an die entsprechende Dienststelle weitergeleitet. Eine Rechnungskopie im PDF-Format wird automatisch erzeugt und an die in der elektronischen Rechnung angegebene(n) E-Mail-Adresse(n) als Bestätigung der Einbringung rückübermittelt. Sollte die Rechnungseinbringung nicht funktioniert haben, wird die Absenderin/der Absender vom System darauf aufmerksam gemacht.

Aus Gründen der Synergie werden die Funktionen für die Einbringung von e-Rechnungen auch anderen öffentlichen Verwaltungseinheiten (z.B. Länder, Gemeinden, Städte) zur Verfügung gestellt. Eine Verpflichtung für die Vertragspartnerinnen/Vertragspartner dieser Verwaltungseinheiten Rechnungen elektronisch einzubringen, besteht derzeit nicht.

In den folgenden Videos finden sich hilfreiche Tipps zur Einbringung einer e-Rechnung an die öffentliche Verwaltung:

Hinweis

Voraussetzung für die Nutzung des Services "E-RECHNUNG.GV.AT" ist die Registrierung im Unternehmensserviceportal (USP). Nähere Informationen zur Vergabe der Berechtigung für das Service nach erfolgreicher Anmeldung finden sich im Benutzerleitfaden Rechteverwaltung USP/E-RECHNUNG.GV.AT (PDF)

Nähere Informationen zur e-Rechnung an die öffentliche Verwaltung finden sich in den Informationsbroschüren des Bundesministeriums für Finanzen:

Weiterführende Links

Rechtsgrundlagen

Letzte Aktualisierung: 1. Januar 2021
Für den Inhalt verantwortlich:
  • USP-Redaktion
  • Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.