Double taxation agreements

General information on double taxation agreements

Austria has entered into agreements known as double taxation agreements with the most important countries to prevent traders who undertake cross-border activities from being taxed twice – that is, both in Austria and abroad.

A double taxation agreement (DTA) regulates which of the two countries may apply its domestic tax law – that is, which country can ultimately collect taxes – and which one has to forgo its taxes, in whole or in part. In all cases, the aim is to ensure effective single taxation. For a trader to make use of a DTA, it is a precondition that the trader should be resident in Austria and can prove this to the other country by presenting an Austrian Certificate of residence. The certificate of residence can be obtained by the trader from her/his tax office (Form ZS-A).

If the DTA gives the other country the right of taxation, then tax is applied (who, how, how much etc.) solely according to that country’s tax law. The trader must ensure for herself/himself that the taxation has been applied correctly. The Austrian tax office can offer no assistance in this respect. In particular, the trader must look to the relevant foreign tax authorities for information on the repayment process necessary in a number of countries.

As a rule, the taxation of employees depends on where they work. More information on taxation under double taxation agreements for employees (→ oesterreich.gv.at)German text is available on oesterreich.gv.at.

Further links

Forms

Certificate of Residence/Ansässigkeitsbescheinigung – ZS-A

Ground rules of double taxation agreements

Every double taxation agreement (DTA) is a separate bilateral state treaty (law) and may therefore differ from DTAs with other states. In each specific case, therefore, reference should always be made to the relevant DTA. As far as possible, however, DTA entered into by Austria are modelled on the OECD Model Tax Convention. According to this, the country where the activity is taking place is permitted to tax trading income if the trader has a permanent establishment there for the activity.

The activities of artists and sportspersons may for the most part be taxed in the country where they take place even if there is no permanent establishment (withholding tax).

If the trader forms a separate company for its activities in the other country, then the income of that company (profits, losses) is assessed for tax exclusively in that other country. Usually, only the distribution of profits of such foreign companies to the Austrian trader (dividends) will be taxed in Austria. If the trader is a corporation, special rules must be observed. Many DTAs allow the distribution of profits of such foreign companies to the Austrian trader (dividends) to be taxed in the other state, although as a rule the DTA restricts this withholding tax deduction (mostly to five percent in the case of inter-company dividends and to 15 percent for other dividends). Under EU-law, withholding tax on profit distributions to companies with a significant shareholding is not permitted in most cases.

If income under the DTA is taxable in the other country, then double taxation is avoided either by treating such income as free of tax in Austria (subject to the progression proviso [Progressionsvorbehalt]), or by offsetting the foreign tax against Austrian income tax or corporation tax. In all cases, such income must be entered on the tax return.

Ways of avoiding double taxation

DTAs provide for various ways of avoiding double taxation. There are two main methods for avoiding double taxation. Tax paid abroad can be credited to an individual's tax bill (the credit method). Alternatively, income earned abroad can be exempted from tax, even if it is still taken into account when calculating the progressive tax rate to which the individual is subject.

The basic idea behind the credit method is that the tax due in the source country (i.e. the state in which the individual is working) is credited against the individual's tax bill in their country of residence (up to a maximum limit).

Example

Ms E. works for a Swiss company in St Gallen. However, she lives in Austria with her family, meaning she is ordinarily resident in Austria. Her annual income is EUR 35,000, all of which comes from her employment. According to the principle that income should be taxed where it is earned, she is subject to tax in Switzerland. At the same time, since she is resident in Austria, Austria also has the right to tax her income. The DTA between Austria and Switzerland stipulates that the credit method should be used to prevent double taxation of income, provided that income is not earned on a self-employed basis. Ms E. has already paid tax worth EUR 2,700 in Switzerland.

Therefore, her Austrian income tax liability is calculated as follows:
(35,000 – 31,000) x 42 per cent + 5,950 - EUR 400 (transportation deduction) = EUR 7,230.00
- tax already paid in Switzerland                                                                                          EUR 2,700.00
Income tax due in Austria:                                                                                                      EUR 4,530.00

Under the exemption method, the country in which the individual is resident exempts earnings taxed in the source country from income tax. However, this income is still taken into account when calculating the (progressive) tax rate to which the individual is subject.

Example

Mr L. lives with his family in Austria. Between January and the end of August, he earns taxable income in Austria amounting to a total of EUR 23,000. In September, he starts work for a German shipping company, although Austria remains his sole place of residence. He earns a total of EUR 11,000 while working on the ship. According to the DTA between Germany and Austria, these German earnings are taxable in Germany. The total income tax due on these earnings in Germany amounts to EUR 2,400. Austria cannot tax these earnings a second time once they have been taxed in Germany. However, the Austrian authorities can take these earnings into account when calculating the rate of tax Mr L. should pay in Austria. This is calculated as follows:

Earnings taxable in Austria (EUR 23,000) + earnings taxable in Germany (EUR 11,000 Euro) = total earnings of EUR 34,000

Therefore, Mr L.'s income tax liability under Austrian law is:
Income tax theoretically due on all earnings: (34,000 – 31,000) x 42 per cent + 5,950 = EUR 7,210
Average tax rate: (EUR 7,210 / EUR 34,000) = 21.21 per cent
Actual tax payable: EUR 23,000 x 21.21 per cent - EUR 400 (transportation deduction) = EUR 4,478.30
Therefore, Mr L.'s total tax liability is: EUR 2,400 Euro (in Germany) + EUR 4,478.30 (in Austria) = EUR 6,878.30

Permanent establishment

A permanent establishment is any fixed business premises through which the business activities of a company are performed, in whole or in part. In double taxation agreements (DTAs) the following premises are designated a permanent establishment: management offices, branch offices, operations offices, manufacturing sites, workshops, mines, oilfields or gas fields, quarries. This is simply a list of typical permanent establishments and is not definitive – other fixed business premises may also be regarded as a permanent establishment. Building works and installations will always be regarded as forming a permanent establishment if they last for longer than twelve months (in some DTAs this timescale is different, so the terms of the relevant DTA should always be noted).

Buildings that are solely warehouses, exhibition spaces or distribution depots are usually not a permanent establishment, and neither are stocks of goods themselves. Similarly, purchasing or information-gathering facilities do not constitute a permanent establishment and neither do premises for preparatory or auxiliary activities. In such cases, too, however, attention should always be paid to the relevant DTA, since many DTAs include variations in their definition of a permanent establishment.

The DTAs also refer to a permanent establishment in cases where the business has an employed representative who holds the power to sign contracts and exercises such power (‘agency permanent establishment’). In such cases, the other country may tax those profits generated by the trader through the representative. Tax on commission is payable by the representative herself/himself. Brokers, merchants and other independent representatives do not give rise to a permanent establishment as long as they are performing their normal business activities.

Some DTAs provide that even without fixed business premises or a representative, a permanent establishment is deemed to exist if the entrepreneurial activity in the other country exceeds a specified period, mostly six months (‘service permanent establishment’). Since a general liability for tax in the country where the activity takes place is dependent on the presence of a permanent establishment (or agency permanent establishment or service permanent establishment), these matters should be clarified precisely.

If a permanent establishment is operating in the other country, the profits of the business must be divided between the permanent establishment and the parent company. Under DTA law, profits should be divided according to the arms-length principle. The arms-length principle requires that the business relationship between the permanent establishment and the parent company be handled in the same way as business relationships between independent businesses.

Further links

Associated companies and transfer pricing

Business relationships between associated companies (between parent companies and subsidiaries, for example, or between companies under the same control) must be managed in pricing terms according to the arms-length principle. This means that associated companies must apply transfer prices that correspond to those prices that would have been agreed between independent business partners.

Further links

Artists and sportspersons

For artists and sportspersons, double taxation agreements (DTAs) regularly specify that income from foreign appearances may be taxed in the country where the appearance took place, regardless of whether the person is self-employed or otherwise and also regardless of whether a permanent establishment exists there.

Dividends, interest, licences (licensing fees)

Under many DTAs the source country has no right of taxation, although some DTAs do recognise a (limited) right of taxation at source. Whether the source country waives the retention of the source tax at the point of payment or allows the deduction of source tax with subsequent repayment on request will depend on the law in the source country. If the source country permits payment without deduction of tax at source, the trader will need to present to the foreign source of the interest/dividends/licensing fees a certificate of residence. The certificate of residence can be obtained by the trader from her/his tax office (Form ZS-A). The repayment procedure is determined by domestic law in the source country. Thought should be given at the time of investment to the fact that countries are increasingly specifying expensive supporting documents (e.g. certified copies of ID documents, declarations from intermediaries) as a condition of repayment.

If the source country requires the deduction of tax at source and makes the repayment in accordance with the DTA only on request, the trader must submit the request to the responsible authority in the source country using the applicable withholding tax form from that country.

Further links

Relief from foreign withholding taxes (→ BMF)German text

Forms

Ansässigkeitsbescheinigung/Certificate of Residence – ZS-A

Double taxation in spite of double taxation agreements: mutual agreement procedure

It can happen that both Austria and the foreign country seek to charge tax, even though a DTA is in existence. The most common reason for this is that the two countries assess the same set of facts differently (e.g. does a particular facility that the trader is using in the foreign country already meet the criteria of a permanent establishment?) or interpret a term in the DTA differently (e.g. ‘employer’ in the case of staff postings).

In such cases, an Austrian trader who has tried and failed to get both the foreign country and the Austrian tax office to treat the matter in the same way has the option of applying for a mutual agreement procedure to be applied. The competent authorities will then work with the foreign country to find a solution that will avoid double taxation.

Traders who represent the facts of the case differently to the foreign country from the way they represent it to the Austrian tax office, or who give rise to a possible conflict over taxation by misrepresenting the matter, cannot expect to receive the support of a mutual agreement procedure.

Further links

Inheritance and gifts

As a result of the abolition of tax on inheritances and gifts in Austria, cases of international double taxation in this area can no longer arise. If business assets or real estate located in a foreign country are given away or bequeathed, then the foreign country has the right of taxation under the rules of the DTA. In the case of assets belonging to a foreign permanent establishment, therefore, tax may be payable in that country if its tax law provides for this. Existing DTAs cannot prevent this in the field of inheritance and gift tax since the right of taxation for such assets is assigned to the foreign country and no double taxation arises.

Weiterführende Links

List of Austrian double taxation agreements in the field of inheritance and gift taxes (→ BMF)German text

Translated by the European Commission, altered by certified translator
Last update: 1 January 2022

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen

Allgemeines zu Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen

Österreich hat mit den wichtigsten Staaten Verträge abgeschlossen (sogenannte Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen), die verhindern, dass Unternehmerinnen/Unternehmer, die grenzüberschreitende Aktivitäten setzen, sowohl in Österreich als auch im Ausland – also doppelt – besteuert werden.

Ein Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen (DBA) regelt, welcher der beiden Staaten sein innerstaatliches Steuerrecht anwenden darf, also letzten Endes besteuern darf, und welcher Staat ganz oder teilweise auf seine Besteuerung verzichten muss. Ziel ist jedenfalls eine effektive Einmalbesteuerung. Voraussetzung dafür, dass sich die Unternehmerin/der Unternehmer auf ein DBA berufen kann, ist, dass sie/er in Österreich ansässig ist, was sie/er gegenüber dem anderen Staat durch Vorlage der österreichischen Ansässigkeitsbestätigung belegen kann. Die Ansässigkeitsbestätigung erhält die Unternehmerin/der Unternehmer bei ihrem/seinem Finanzamt (Formular ZS-A).

Wenn das DBA dem anderen Staat ein Besteuerungsrecht gibt, so erfolgt die Besteuerung (was, wie, wie viel etc.) ausschließlich nach dortigem Steuerrecht. Die Unternehmerin/der Unternehmer muss sich um die korrekte Versteuerung in diesem Staat kümmern. Das österreichische Finanzamt kann dabei keine Hilfe leisten. Insbesondere muss sich die Unternehmerin/der Unternehmer für Informationen über das in manchen Staaten erforderliche Rückerstattungsverfahren an die jeweiligen ausländischen Steuerbehörden wenden.

Die Besteuerung von Arbeitnehmerinnen/Arbeitnehmern richtet sich in der Regel danach, wo sie tätig werden. Nähere Informationen zur Besteuerung nach Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen bei Arbeitnehmerinnen/Arbeitnehmern (→ oesterreich.gv.at) finden sich auf oesterreich.gv.at.

Weiterführende Links

Formulare

Ansässigkeitsbescheinigung/Certificate of Residence – ZS-A

Grundregeln der Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen

Jedes Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen (DBA) ist für sich ein eigener bilateraler Staatsvertrag (Gesetz) und kann daher von den DBA mit anderen Staaten abweichen. Im konkreten Einzelfall ist daher immer das jeweilige DBA heranzuziehen. Die von Österreich abgeschlossenen DBA orientieren sich aber weitestgehend am sogenannten OECD-Musterabkommen. Demnach darf der Aktivitätsstaat unternehmerische Einkünfte zumeist dann besteuern, wenn dort für die Aktivität eine Betriebsstätte besteht.

Aktivitäten der Künstlerinnen/Künstler und Sportlerinnen/Sportler dürfen zumeist auch ohne Vorliegen einer Betriebsstätte im Auftrittsstaat besteuert werden (Quellensteuer).

Gründet die Unternehmerin/der Unternehmer für ihre/seine Aktivität im anderen Staat eine eigene Gesellschaft, dann werden die Einkünfte (Gewinne, Verluste) dieser Gesellschaft ausschließlich im anderen Staat steuerlich erfasst. Es wird in der Regel erst die Gewinnausschüttung einer solchen ausländischen Gesellschaft an die österreichische Unternehmerin/den österreichischen Unternehmer (Dividende) in Österreich besteuert. Ist die Unternehmerin/der Unternehmer eine Körperschaft, so sind besondere Regelungen zu beachten. Eine Dividende darf nach manchen DBA im anderen Staat besteuert werden, wobei das DBA in der Regel diesen Quellensteuerabzug begrenzt (bei Schachteldividenden zumeist mit 5 Prozent, bei anderen Dividenden mit 15 Prozent). Nach Unionsrecht (EU-Recht) besteht bei Gewinnausschüttungen an eine wesentlich beteiligte Gesellschaft zumeist ein Quellensteuerverbot. 

Wenn Einkünfte nach dem DBA im anderen Staat besteuert werden dürfen, dann erfolgt die Vermeidung der Doppelbesteuerung entweder dadurch, dass diese Einkünfte in Österreich (unter Progressionsvorbehalt) steuerfrei sind, oder durch Anrechnung der Auslandssteuer auf die österreichische Einkommensteuer bzw. Körperschaftsteuer. Jedenfalls sind diese Einkünfte in der Steuererklärung anzuführen.

Methoden zur Vermeidung der Doppelbesteuerung

DBA sehen unterschiedliche Methoden zur Vermeidung einer Doppelbesteuerung vor. Bei diesen Methoden zur Vermeidung einer Doppelbesteuerung wird zwischen Anrechnungsmethode und Befreiungsmethode mit Progressionsvorbehalt unterschieden.

Die Anrechnungsmethode sieht im Wesentlichen vor, dass die im Quellenstaat (= Staat, in dem die Tätigkeit ausgeübt wird) erhobene Steuer auf die Steuer im Ansässigkeitsstaat (= Wohnsitzstaat) angerechnet wird (bis zum Anrechnungshöchstbetrag).

Beispiel

Frau E. arbeitet für einen Schweizer Arbeitgeber in St. Gallen. Sie lebt jedoch mit ihrer Familie in Österreich und ist daher in Österreich ansässig. Ihr Jahreseinkommen beträgt 35.000 Euro, wobei sie nur Einkünfte aus ihrer nichtselbständigen Tätigkeit erzielt. Für dieses Einkommen ist sie aufgrund des Tätigkeitsortprinzips in der Schweiz steuerpflichtig. Allerdings hat Österreich als Ansässigkeitsstaat ebenfalls ein Besteuerungsrecht. Laut DBA Österreich-Schweiz wird bei unselbständigen Einkünften eine Doppelbesteuerung mittels Anrechnungsmethode vermieden. In der Schweiz hat Frau E. bereits 2.700 Euro an Steuern bezahlt.

Einkommensteuer nach österreichischem Steuertarif:
(35.000 – 31.000) x 42 Prozent + 5.950 - 400 Euro (Verkehrsabsetzbetrag) = 7.230,00 Euro
- anrechenbare Steuer aus der Schweiz                                                                      2.700,00 Euro
Einkommensteuer in Österreich:                                                                                   4.530,00 Euro

Bei der Befreiungsmethode mit Progressionsvorbehalt befreit der Ansässigkeitsstaat die im Quellenstaat versteuerten Einkünfte, bezieht diese Einkünfte jedoch für die Berechnung des (progressiven) Steuersatzes mit ein.

Beispiel

Herr L. lebt mit seiner Familie in Österreich und bezieht von Jänner bis August Einkünfte, die in Österreich steuerpflichtig sind, in Höhe von insgesamt 23.000 Euro. Ab September arbeitet er für ein deutsches Schifffahrtsunternehmen, wobei sein alleiniger Wohnsitz in Österreich bleibt. Er verdient auf dem Schiff 11.000 Euro. Laut DBA Deutschland-Österreich sind diese Einkünfte in Deutschland steuerpflichtig. Die Einkommensteuer in Deutschland beträgt für diese Einkünfte insgesamt 2.400 Euro. Österreich darf die in Deutschland versteuerten Einkünfte nicht nochmals besteuern, allerdings den Progressionsvorbehalt anwenden:

Einkünfte, für die Österreich das Besteuerungsrecht hat (23.000 Euro) + Einkünfte, für die Deutschland das Besteuerungsrecht hat (11.000 Euro) = Gesamteinkünfte (34.000 Euro)

Einkommensteuer nach österreichischem Steuertarif:
Steuer für Gesamteinkünfte: (34.000 – 31.000) x 42 Prozent + 5.950 = 7.210 Euro
Durchschnittssteuersatz: (7.210 Euro / 34.000 Euro) = 21,21 Prozent
Tatsächliche Steuer: 23.000 Euro x 21,21 Prozent - 400 Euro (Verkehrsabsetzbetrag) = 4.478,30 Euro
Gesamtsteuerbelastung des Herrn L.: 2.400 Euro (DE) + 4.478,30 Euro (AT) = 6.878,30 Euro

Betriebsstätte

Betriebsstätte ist jede feste Geschäftseinrichtung, durch die die Geschäftstätigkeit eines Unternehmens ganz oder teilweise ausgeübt wird. In den Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen (DBA) werden folgende Einrichtungen als Betriebsstätte bezeichnet: Ort der Leitung, Zweigniederlassung, Geschäftsstelle, Fabrikationsstätte, Werkstätte, Bergwerk, Öl- oder Gasvorkommen, Steinbruch. Diese Aufzählung nennt nur typische Betriebsstätten, ist aber nicht abschließend, sodass auch andere feste Geschäftseinrichtungen als Betriebsstätte in Betracht kommen können. Für Bauausführungen oder Montagen gilt, dass sie jedenfalls dann eine Betriebsstätte begründen, wenn ihre Dauer zwölf Monate überschreitet (diese Frist weicht bei einigen DBA ab, sodass hier jedenfalls das jeweilige DBA zu beachten ist).

Keine Betriebsstätte sind in der Regel reine Lager, Ausstellungsräume oder Auslieferungslager, sowie die Warenbestände selbst. Auch reine Einkaufs- oder Informationsbeschaffungseinrichtungen begründen ebenso wenig eine Betriebsstätte wie Einrichtungen für bloße Vorbereitungs- und Hilfstätigkeiten. Auch in diesen Fällen ist jedoch immer das jeweilige DBA zu beachten, da in manchen DBA Abweichungen bei der Betriebsstättendefinition vorgesehen sind.

Die DBA sprechen auch dann von einer Betriebsstätte, wenn für das Unternehmen eine abhängige Vertreterin/ein abhängiger Vertreter tätig wird, der Abschlussvollmacht besitzt und diese auch gewöhnlich ausübt ("Vertreterbetriebsstätte"). In diesem Fall darf der andere Staat jene Gewinne, die die Unternehmerin/der Unternehmer durch die Vertreterin/den Vertreter erwirtschaftet, besteuern. Die Provision hat die Vertreterin/der Vertreter selbst zu versteuern. Maklerinnen/Makler, Kommissionärinnen/Kommissionäre oder andere unabhängige Vertreterinnen/andere unabhängige Vertreter führen zu keiner Vertreterbetriebsstätte, sofern sie im Rahmen ihrer ordentlichen Geschäftstätigkeit handeln.

Manche DBA sehen vor, dass auch ohne feste Geschäftseinrichtung und ohne Vertreterin/Vertreter eine Betriebsstätte anzunehmen ist, wenn die unternehmerische Tätigkeit im anderen Staat einen bestimmten Zeitraum, zumeist sechs Monate, übersteigt ("Dienstleistungsbetriebsstätte"). Da im Staat der Aktivität eine allfällige Steuerpflicht an das Vorliegen einer Betriebsstätte (Vertreterbetriebsstätte, Dienstleistungsbetriebsstätte) knüpft, sollten diesbezügliche Fragen genau abgeklärt werden.

Wird im anderen Staat eine Betriebsstätte betrieben, müssen die Gewinne des Unternehmens zwischen der Betriebsstätte und dem Stammhaus aufgeteilt werden. Nach dem Recht der DBA erfolgt die Gewinnaufteilung nach dem Fremdvergleichsgrundsatz. Der Fremdvergleichsgrundsatz erfordert es, dass Geschäftsbeziehungen zwischen der Betriebsstätte und dem Stammhaus in gleicher Weise behandelt werden wie Geschäftsbeziehungen zwischen unabhängigen Unternehmen.

Weiterführende Informationen

Verbundene Unternehmen und Verrechnungspreise

Geschäftsbeziehungen zwischen verbundenen Unternehmen (also zum Beispiel zwischen Mutter- und Tochtergesellschaften oder Unternehmen unter derselben Kontrolle) sind nach dem Fremdvergleichsgrundsatz zu verrechnen. Das bedeutet, dass verbundene Unternehmen Verrechnungspreise ansetzen müssen, die jenen Preisen entsprechen, die zwischen unabhängigen Geschäftspartnern vereinbart worden wären.

Weiterführende Informationen

Künstler und Sportler

Für Künstlerinnen/Künstler und Sportlerinnen/Sportler sehen Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen (DBA) regelmäßig vor, dass die Einkünfte aus Auslandsauftritten im Staat des Auftritts besteuert werden dürfen, und zwar unabhängig davon, ob sie nicht selbstständig oder selbstständig tätig sind, und auch unabhängig davon, ob eine Betriebsstätte vorliegt.

Dividenden, Zinsen, Lizenzen (Lizenzgebühren)

Nach manchen der DBA hat der Quellenstaat kein Besteuerungsrecht, doch sehen einige DBA sehr wohl ein (eingeschränktes) Quellenbesteuerungsrecht vor. Ob der Quellenstaat gleich bei der Zahlung auf die Einbehaltung der Quellensteuer verzichtet oder den Abzug einer Quellensteuer mit nachfolgender Rückzahlung über Antrag vorsieht, hängt vom Recht des Quellenstaates ab. Erlaubt der Quellenstaat die Auszahlung ohne Quellensteuerabzug, so wird die Unternehmerin/der Unternehmer der ausländischen Schuldnerin/dem ausländischen Schuldner der Zinsen/Dividenden/Lizenzgebühren eine Ansässigkeitsbestätigung vorlegen müssen. Die Ansässigkeitsbestätigung erhält die Unternehmerin/der Unternehmer bei ihrem/seinem Finanzamt (Formular ZS-A). Das Rückerstattungsverfahren richtet sich nach dem innerstaatlichen Recht des Quellenstaates. Bereits zum Zeitpunkt der Investitionsentscheidung sollte bedacht werden, dass Staaten für die Rückerstattung zunehmend kostenpflichtige Unterlagen (z.B. beglaubigte Ausweiskopien, Bestätigungen von Zwischenhändlern) voraussetzen.

Verlangt der Quellenstaat den Abzug einer Quellensteuer und führt er die DBA-konforme Steuerentlastung nur über Antrag auf Rückzahlung durch, so muss die Unternehmerin/der Unternehmer bei der zuständigen Behörde des Quellenstaates den Antrag stellen und dabei das jeweilige Quellensteuerformular dieses Staates verwenden.

Weiterführende Links

Entlastung von ausländischen Quellensteuern (→ BMF)

Formulare

Ansässigkeitsbescheinigung/Certificate of Residence – ZS-A

Doppelte Besteuerung trotz Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen: Verständigungsverfahren

Es kann vorkommen, dass sowohl Österreich als auch das Ausland besteuern wollen, obwohl ein DBA besteht. Der häufigste Grund dafür ist, dass die beiden Staaten den gleichen Sachverhalt unterschiedlich beurteilen (z.B.: Erfüllt eine bestimmte Einrichtung, die die Unternehmerin/der Unternehmer im Ausland nutzt, bereits die Voraussetzungen einer Betriebsstätte?) oder einen Begriff des DBA unterschiedlich auslegen (z.B.: Arbeitgeberin/Arbeitgeber bei der Personalentsendung).

In solchen Fällen besteht für eine österreichische Unternehmerin/einen österreichischen Unternehmer, die/der erfolglos versucht hat, im Ausland die gleiche Beurteilung wie durch das österreichische Finanzamt zu erhalten, die Möglichkeit, die Einleitung eines Verständigungsverfahrens zu beantragen. Die zuständigen Behörden suchen dann gemeinsam mit dem Ausland nach einer Lösung zur Vermeidung der Doppelbesteuerung.

Unternehmerinnen/Unternehmer, die den Sachverhalt gegenüber dem Ausland anders darstellen als gegenüber dem österreichischen Finanzamt oder durch eine missbräuchliche Gestaltung Anlass für einen möglichen Steuerkonflikt geben, können mit keiner Unterstützung durch ein Verständigungsverfahren rechnen.

Weiterführende Links

Erbschaft und Schenkung

Internationale Doppelbesteuerungen können sich infolge der Abschaffung der Erbschafts- und Schenkungsbesteuerung in Österreich in diesem Bereich nicht mehr ergeben. Wird im Ausland gelegenes Betriebsvermögen oder Grundbesitz geschenkt oder vererbt, so hat das Ausland auch nach den Regeln eines DBA das Besteuerungsrecht. Bei zu einer Auslandsbetriebsstätte gehörendem Vermögen kann es daher dort zu einer Besteuerung kommen, wenn dies das dortige Steuerrecht vorsieht. Die bestehenden DBA auf dem Gebiet der Erbschafts- und Schenkungssteuer können dies nicht verhindern, da das Besteuerungsrecht an diesen Vermögenswerten dem ausländischen Staat zugeteilt wird und keine Doppelbesteuerung vorliegt.

Weiterführende Links

Liste der österreichischen Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen auf dem Gebiet der Erbschafts- und Schenkungssteuern (→ BMF)

Letzte Aktualisierung: 1. Januar 2022

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.