This website uses Cookies. You will accept these by click on the button "continue". For more information read our page "Private Policy".

Reverse Charge System

General Information

VAT is usually paid by the company delivering the goods or providing the service. It has to pay the VAT to the tax office. However, under the "reverse charge system" it is not the company providing the service but the company receiving the service that is liable to pay the VAT. In this case, the recipient company is responsible for paying the VAT to the tax office.

Caution

In general, these rules also apply to entrepreneurs from EU Member States in Austria.

The reverse charge system may be used, for example, when a foreign company that does not operate within Austria or has no business premises there provides a service or supplies works to an Austrian company and where the service or works are taxable in Austria under the place of performance rules set out in Section 3a, paragraph 6 of the Umsatzsteuergesetz (UStG - Austrian VAT Act). The reverse charge system cannot be applied to permission to use federal highways subject to payment of a fee or to the services set out in Section 3a, paragraph 11a UStG.

Tax liability may also be transferred in the case of certain domestic deliveries or services. Some examples are transfers of greenhouse gas emission certificates, delivery of mobile phone devices and construction works (see Section 19, paragraphs 1a to 1e UStG, the Austrian regulation on VAT applicable to scrap (Schrott-Umsatzsteuerverordnung) and the Umsatzsteuerbetrugsbekämpfungsverordnung (Austrian anti-VAT-fraud regulation). Tax liability can be transferred in the case of construction works where the recipient themselves was contracted to perform the works or usually performs construction works themselves (Section 19, paragraph 1a UStG).

Reverse charge invoice

When the reverse charge system is applied, the recipient company will be issued an invoice by the company providing the service stating only the net amount (no tax statement) and is responsible for paying the VAT due. This can then be deducted should they be entitled to input tax deduction. The invoice must be issued by the 15th of the calendar month following the month in which the service was provided.

When issuing an invoice under the reverse charge system, the following should be borne in mind (Section 11, paragraph 1a UStG):

  • The invoice must provide information on transfer of tax liability to the recipient(s) of the service.
  • The VAT registration (UID) number of the company providing the service and the VAT registration number of the recipient(s) should be indicated.
  • The regulations on separate tax statements do not apply.

Competent Authority

Competent authority is the tax office.German text

Legal Basis

Expert Information

Umsatzsteuerrichtlinien 2000 (UStR 2000)

Translated by the European Commission
last update: 1 January 2021

responsible for content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Reverse Charge System

Allgemeine Informationen

Die Umsatzsteuer wird grundsätzlich von dem Unternehmen geschuldet, das die Warenlieferung oder Dienstleistung erbringt. Sie/er hat die Umsatzsteuer an das Finanzamt abzuführen. Im Rahmen des sogenannten Reverse Charge Systems (Übergang der Steuerschuld), ist jedoch nicht das Unternehmen, das die Leistung erbringt, sondern das Unternehmen, das die Leistung empfängt, Schuldner der Umsatzsteuer. Das empfangende Unternehmen trifft in diesem Fall die Verpflichtung, die Umsatzsteuer an das Finanzamt abzuführen.

Achtung

Diese Regelungen gelten grundsätzlich auch für Unternehmerinnen/Unternehmer aus EU-Mitgliedstaaten und Drittländern in Österreich.

Zum Übergang der Steuerschuld kann es etwa kommen, wenn ein ausländisches Unternehmen, das nicht im Inland betrieben wird bzw im Inland auch keine Betriebsstätte hat, eine Dienstleistung oder eine Werklieferung an ein österreichisches Unternehmen erbringt und diese aufgrund der Leistungsortregeln in § 3a Abs. 6 UStG in Österreich zu versteuern ist. Von der Reverse Charge Regelung ausgenommen ist die entgeltliche Duldung der Benützung von Bundesstraßen und die in § 3a Abs. 11a UStG genannten Leistungen.

Auch bei gewissen inländischen Lieferungen oder Dienstleistungen kann es zum Übergang der Steuerschuld kommen. Z.B. bei der Übertragungen von Treibhausgasemissionszertifikaten, bei der Lieferung von Mobilfunkgeräten und bei Bauleistungen (siehe § 19 Abs 1a bis 1e UStG und Schrott-Umsatzsteuerverordnung sowie Umsatzsteuerbetrugsbekämpfungsverordnung). Bei Bauleistungen kommt es zum Übergang der Steuerschuld, wenn die Empfängerin/der Empfänger selbst mit der Bauleistung beauftragt wurde oder üblicherweise selbst Bauleistungen erbringt (§ 19 Abs 1a UStG).

Reverse Charge Rechnung

Im Falle des Reverse Charge erhält das Unternehmen, dass die Leistung empfängt, vom leistenden Unternehmen lediglich eine Rechnung über den Nettobetrag (kein Steuerausweis) und schuldet die darauf entfallende Umsatzsteuer, die – soweit Vorsteuerabzugsberechtigung besteht – wiederum als Vorsteuer abgezogen werden kann. Die Rechnung ist bis zum 15. des auf die Leistungserbringung folgenden Kalendermonats auszustellen.

Bei der Rechnungsausstellung im Rahmen des Reverse Charge Systems, muss Folgendes beachtet werden (§ 11 Abs. 1a UStG):

  • Hinweis auf den Übergang der Steuerschuld auf die Leistungsempfänger/den Leistungsempfänger
  • Angabe der UID-Nummer des leistenden Unternehmens und die UID-Nummer der Empfängerin/des Empfängers
  • Die Vorschrift über den gesonderten Steuerausweis findet keine Anwendung

Zuständige Stelle

Zuständige Stelle ist das Finanzamt.

Rechtsgrundlagen

Experteninformation

Umsatzsteuerrichtlinien 2000 (UStR 2000)

Letzte Aktualisierung: 1. Januar 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.