Intra-community distance sales to Austria

Please note

The regulations covering intra-community distance sales to Austria changed significantly on 1 July 2021.

Intra-community distance sales

As a rule, revenues from intra-community distance sales are taxable in Austria if the final destination for the goods is in Austria. However, if the items are dispatched by a micro-business, the resulting revenue is taxable in the member state where it begins its journey to its destination.

Please note

From 1 January 2021, VAT due in other EU member states in respect of intra-community distance sales can be declared in only one member state, using the EU One Stop Shop (EU OSS) system.

Until 30 June 2021, if a company supplied goods from one member state to a destination in another member state, and if the recipient was a private individual or fell into certain other categories, the revenue associated with those goods was only taxed in the country of destination if it exceeded the threshold applicable in the country of destination.

Example

A German company is sending items to private individuals in Austria. The value of the goods exceeds the delivery threshold under Austrian tax law. The place of delivery is deemed to be Austria (the final destination), not Germany. This means that the deliveries are treated as domestic deliveries in Austria, making them taxable in Austria. The German company is therefore obliged to register for VAT in Austria. The bills sent by the German company to Austrian private individuals are legally required to show Austrian VAT (see Article 11, Paragraph (1), Sentence (2) of the Umsatzsteuergesetz – UStG).

Exception

If the goods are sold by a foreign company within the meaning of Section 27, Paragraph (4) UStG, and if it undertakes intra-community distance sales to threshold purchasers, the recipients must retain the VAT payable on the goods and pay it to the tax office responsible for the supplier (Finanzamt Graz-Stadt).

Calculating the threshold for deliveries

The threshold for deliveries is calculated separately for each member state, Austria included. When calculating the threshold, only revenue within the definition of the Distance Sales Regulation (Versandhandelsregelung) should be taken into account.

Intra-community deliveries, considerations for the delivery of new vehicles, considerations for the delivery of goods subject to excise duty and revenue subject to differential taxation under the margin scheme are excluded for calculation purposes.

Companies based in other EU member states that supply goods to private individuals or threshold purchasers in Austria must invoice their goods inclusive of Austrian VAT as follows:

  • If they exceeded the threshold of 35,000 euros the previous year:
    Invoices must show Austrian VAT from the first revenue earned in the current year.
  • If they exceed the threshold of 35,000 euros in the current year:
    Invoices must show Austrian VAT from the delivery that takes the total value of the goods over the threshold.

The intra-community distance-selling regulation also applies up to and including 30 June 2021 if the company had introduced the object of the delivery into EU territory with severance payment in any EU member state other than Austria (as the destination member state). This meant that companies based in third countries and/or third territories could generate revenue that was taxable in Austria. Since 30 June 2021, such trade has been treated as imported distance sales trade.

Disclosure/voluntary disclosure

If a company has exceeded the intra-community distance sales threshold of 35,000 euros in previous calendar years, this revenue must also be declared retrospectively.

Companies can do this by filing a voluntary disclosure and/or by disclosing their revenues.

Tax representatives

Companies that are not based in the EU and do not have offices or facilities in the EU must appoint a tax representative within the meaning of Section 27, Paragraph 7 UStG unless a suitable administrative assistance agreement applies. The nominated representative must be authorised to receive official communications.

Declaring Value Added Tax (VAT) in Austria

Revenues from intra-community distance sales subject to taxation in Austria can be declared via the EU OSS. If the company is not registered with the EU OSS, the tax should be declared by filing a preliminary VAT return, followed by the annual VAT return.

Annual VAT return

Form: "U1" (for the relevant calender year) e.g.: U1 2013
Due date:  
Hard-copy 30 April of the following year
Electronic: 30 June of the following year

Preliminary VAT return

Form: "U30" (for the relevant calender year)  
Due date: No later than the 15th of the next-but-one calendar month
Deadline for paying tax due: No later than the 15th of the next-but-one calendar month
Annual revenues (net) Preliminary VAT return required
Up to 35,000 euros No submission required
35,000 to 100,000 euros Quarterly
Over 100,000 euros Monthly

You can find further information about filing your tax return electronically or the procedure for registering to do so on FinanzOnline (→ BMF).

Applying for allocation of a tax account number and/or VAT identification number

  • Verf. (Verfahren) 19 (Procedure 19): Tax assessment questionnaire
    • Additional requirements: State the sales channel used for your goods (e.g. Internet, catalogue etc.). Please note: VAT ID numbers are not normally issued to companies engaged in the distance selling sector. This is because any tax liability can be paid using their tax account number (Abgabenkontonummer), so, as a rule, there is no requirement for an additional VAT ID number. If you do need a VAT ID number, you must explain why on form Verf (Procedure) 19.
  • Verf (Procedure) 26: Specimen signature form
  • Valid VAT ID number or proof of status as an entrepreneur, issued by the tax office in the country where your company is based (original documents required)
  • Copy of your company's articles of association
  • Copy of the managing director's passport or national ID card
  • Copy of the relevant extract from the companies' register (Handelsregister)

Disclosure and voluntary disclosure

If the company does not meet the criteria for the micro-business exemption and/or has exceeded the relevant turnover threshold in the current or previous calendar years, this revenue must be declared retrospectively.

Companies can do this by filing a voluntary disclosure and/or by disclosing their revenues.

Tax office (Finanzamt) contact details

Applications to register for tax should be sent by post or fax to the address below:

Finanzamt Graz-Stadt (Graz-Stadt Tax Office)

FAO: BV31/BV32
Conrad von Hötzendorf-Straße 14 - 18
8018 Graz, Austria

Tel:+43 50233 333
Fax: +43 50233 5938041 (Business assessment BV 31) or
+43 50233 5938042 (Business assessment BV 32)

E-mail:
Post.FA68-BV11@bmf.gv.at (Business assessment BV 31) or
Post.FA68-BV12@bmf.gv.at (Business assessment BV 32)

Bank details for Finanzamt Graz-Stadt:
BIC: OPSKATWW
IBAN: AT70 6000 0000 0553 4681
Sort code: 60000
Account no.: 5534.681(Austrian Postal Savings Bank – Österreichische Postsparkasse)

Distance sales of goods subject to excise duty

In addition to the rules governing distance selling more generally, the following provisions must be observed in relation to items subject to excise duty:

Anyone who delivers items subject to excise duty within the meaning of the Austrian Alcohol Taxation Act (Alkoholsteuerungsgesetz), Beer Taxation Act (Biersteuerungsgesetz), Mineral Oils Taxation Act (Mineralölsteuergesetz), Tobacco Taxation Act (Tabaksteuergesetz) or Sparkling Wine Taxation Act (Schaumweinsteuergesetz) in free circulation in the EU member state in which their business is headquartered to private individuals in other member states, and who either sends the goods to the purchaser themselves or arranges for the goods to be sent to the purchaser, is deemed to be engaged in distance selling.

In this context, a private individual is anyone who does not declare themselves to the distance seller as a buyer whose intra-community acquisitions are subject to VAT according to the regulations of the UStG (i.e. they do not provide a VAT ID number).

Anyone wishing to supply items subject to excise duty into the taxation area as a distance seller must declare this intention to the Customs Authority Austria (Zollamt Österreich) and/or the Innsbruck Customs Office prior to each shipment, and must provide security. The requirement to pay excise duty arises when the items subject to excise duty are dispatched to the private individual within the taxation territory. The party liable to pay the excise duty is, as a rule, the distance seller. If the trader fails to comply with the distance-selling regulations, the recipient of the goods will also be held liable for tax.

If you regularly supply items subject to excise duty in the course of distance selling, upon application to the Innsbruck Customs Office, you can obtain general authorisation to deliver such goods into the taxation territory. For further details on the rules governing distance selling of items subject to excise duty, contact Innsbruck Customs Office.

The procedure for consumption tax described above also applies if VAT is declared and/or paid via the One-Stop-Shop.

Caution

Under the Austrian Tobacco Monopoly Act (Tabakmonopolgesetz), a general prohibition is in place against trade in tobacco, including snuff. The Austrian Tobacco Tax Act (Tabaksteuergesetz) also includes provisions prohibiting distance sales in tobacco (Section 30 TabStG). In addition, Section 2a of the Tobacco and Non-Smokers Protection Act (Tabak- und Nichtraucherinnenbzw. Nichtraucherschutzgesetz – TNRSG) prohibits distance sales of tobacco products; Section 2 TNRSG also prohibits chewing tobacco and snus from being brought onto the market. In practice, this means that it is illegal to order or purchase tobacco products obtained via the Internet or by other remote means of communication, including by telephone, home-shopping, e-mail and similar. This provision applies to supplies obtained from countries outside the EU and to supplies from EU member states, as well as within Austria according to the provisions of the TNRSG.

Any tobacco products ordered outside Austria and delivered into the taxation territory will be subject to Austrian tobacco duty, in respect of which both the distance seller and the purchaser will be held liable for tax.

Ordering tobacco products in defiance of a ban may result in financial criminal proceedings.

Regulations regarding the purchase and small business thresholds (Article 3, Paragraph 4, Item (2) and Article 3, Paragraph 5 UStG) do not apply to the supply of goods subject to excise duty. All such consignments from other EU member states are always subject to Austrian VAT or purchase tax.

Attention is drawn to the fact that goods are likely to be checked by customs and tax authorities in order to enforce compliance with customs regulations and tax administration, and tax bases can be estimated pursuant to section 184 of the Bundesabgabenordnung (BAO - Federal Fiscal Code).

Further information

Forms

All of the forms mentioned here are available for download from the website of the Austrian Federal Ministry of Finance, under menu item 'Forms'German text.

Certified Translation
Last update: 17 June 2021

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.

Innergemeinschaftlicher Versandhandel nach Österreich

Hinweis

Mit 1. Juli 2021 werden die Regelungen zum innergemeinschaftlichen Versandhandel umfassend geändert.

Innergemeinschaftlicher Versandhandel

Innergemeinschaftliche Versandhandelsumsätze sind grundsätzlich in Österreich zu versteuern, wenn die Beförderung der Waren in Österreich endet. Abweichend davon ist der innergemeinschaftliche Versandhandel durch Kleinstunternehmen in dem Mitgliedstaat zu versteuern, in dem die Beförderung beginnt.

Achtung

Ab 1. Jänner 2021 kann die in anderen Mitgliedstaaten zu entrichtende Umsatzsteuer auf innergemeinschaftliche Versandhandelsumsätze über den EU-OSS in nur einem Mitgliedstaat erklärt werden.

Liefert ein Unternehmen Waren aus einem Mitgliedstaat in einen anderen Mitgliedstaat an private oder bestimmte andere Abnehmerinnen/Abnehmer, ist diese Lieferung bis 30. Juni 2021 nur dann im Bestimmungsland zu versteuern, wenn die Lieferschwelle des jeweiligen Bestimmungslandes überschritten wird.

Beispiel

Ein deutsches Unternehmen versendet Gegenstände an Privatpersonen in Österreich. Die Lieferschwelle in Österreich wird überschritten. Der Lieferort verlagert sich von Deutschland nach Österreich, an das Ende der Versendung. Die Lieferungen sind in Österreich als Inlandslieferungen steuerbar und steuerpflichtig. Das deutsche Unternehmen muss sich in Österreich umsatzsteuerlich registrieren lassen. Die Rechnungen an die österreichischen Privatpersonen sind − verpflichtend − mit österreichischer Umsatzsteuer auszustellen ( Art. 11 Abs. 1 zweiter Satz UStG).

Variante
Handelt es sich um ein ausländisches Unternehmen im Sinne des § 27 Abs. 4 UStG und tätigt es innergemeinschaftliche Versandhandelsumsätze an Schwellenerwerberinnen/Schwellenerwerber, so haben diese Empfängerinnen/Empfänger die auf die Lieferung entfallende Umsatzsteuer einzubehalten und an das für die Lieferantin/den Lieferanten zuständige Finanzamt (Graz-Stadt) abzuführen.

Berechnung der Lieferschwelle

Die Berechnung der Lieferschwelle ist für jedes Mitgliedsland, daher auch für Österreich, gesondert vorzunehmen. Bei der Berechnung der Lieferschwelle sind nur Umsätze aus der Versandhandelsregelung zu berücksichtigen.

Außer Ansatz bleiben innergemeinschaftliche Lieferungen, Entgelte für die Lieferung neuer Fahrzeuge, Entgelte für die Lieferung verbrauchsteuerpflichtiger Waren und Umsätze, die der Differenzbesteuerung unterliegen.

Unternehmen aus anderen EU-Staaten, die in Österreich an Privatpersonen bzw. Schwellenerwerberinnen/Schwellenerwerber liefern, müssen ab folgendem Zeitpunkt mit österreichischer Umsatzsteuer fakturieren:

  • bei Überschreiten der Lieferschwelle iHv 35.000 Euro im Vorjahr:
    Fakturierung mit österreichischer Umsatzsteuer ab dem 1. Umsatz des laufenden Jahres
  • bei Überschreiten der Lieferschwelle iHv 35.000 Euro im laufenden Jahr:
    Fakturierung mit österreichischer Umsatzsteuer ab jenem Umsatz, mit dem die Lieferschwelle überschritten wurde

Die innergemeinschaftliche Versandhandelsregelung kommt bis 30.6.2021 auch zur Anwendung, wenn das Unternehmen den Gegenstand der Lieferung in das Gemeinschaftsgebiet eingeführt hat und die Abfertigung in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat als in Österreich (als Bestimmungsmitgliedstaat) erfolgt. Somit können auch Unternehmen aus Drittländern bzw. Drittgebieten in Österreich solche steuerpflichtigen Umsätze tätigen. Ab 30. Juni 2021 liegt diesfalls ein Einfuhr-Versandhandelsumsatz vor.

Offenlegung/Selbstanzeige

Sollte das Unternehmen die innergemeinschaftliche Versandhandelsgrenze in der Höhe von 35.000 Euro in vorangegangen Kalenderjahren überschritten haben, sind diese auch im Nachhinein zu erklären.

Dazu steht die Möglichkeit einer Selbstanzeige bzw. Offenlegung der Umsätze zur Verfügung.

Fiskalvertreterin/Fiskalvertreter

In jenen Fällen, in denen ein Unternehmen in der EU weder seinen Wohnsitz, noch Sitz oder Betriebsstätte hat und auch kein entsprechendes Amtshilfeabkommen vorliegt, ist die Bestellung einer Fiskalvertreterin/eines Fiskalvertreters im Sinne des § 27 Abs 7 UStG, die/der auch Zustellungsbevollmächtigte/Zustellungsbevollmächtigter sein muss, erforderlich.

Erklärung der Umsatzsteuer in Österreich 

In Österreich zu versteuernde innergemeinschaftliche Versandhandelsumsätze können über den EU-OSS erklärt werden. Ist das Unternehmen nicht zum EU-OSS registriert, erfolgt die Erklärung der Umsatzsteuer im Wege der UVA und der Umsatzsteuerjahreserklärung. 

Umsatzsteuerjahreserklärung

Formular: "U1" (des jeweiligen Kalenderjahres) z.B.: U1 2013
Abgabetermin:  
in Papierform 30. April des Folgejahres
elektronisch 30. Juni des Folgejahres

Umsatzsteuervoranmeldung

Formular: "U30" (des jeweiligen Kalenderjahres)  
Abgabetermin: bis zum 15. Tag des zweitfolgenden Kalendermonats
Entrichtung des Steuerbetrages: bis zum 15. Tag des zweitfolgenden Kalendermonats
Höhe der Umsätze pro Jahr (Netto) Abgabe der Umsatzsteuervoranmeldung
Bis 35.000 Euro Keine Abgabe notwendig
35.000 Euro bis 100.000 Euro vierteljährlich
Ab 100.000 Euro monatlich

Information zur elektronischen Abgabe der Steuererklärung bzw. für die dazu notwendige Registrierung finden sich auf FinanzOnline (→ BMF).

Antrag auf Vergabe einer Abgabenkontonummer bzw. UID-Nummer

  • Verf 19: Fragebogen für das Veranlagungsverfahren
    • Zusätzlich: Angabe der Vertriebskanäle (z.B.: Homepage, Katalog etc.) Hinweis: Die Vergabe einer UID-Nummer für Unternehmen, die im Bereich Versandhandel tätig sind, ist grundsätzlich nicht vorgesehen, da zur Entrichtung der Steuerschuld lediglich eine Abgabenkontonummer benötigt wird. Sollte dennoch eine UID-Nummer benötigt werden, ist dies im Formular Verf 19 ausreichend zu begründen.
  • Verf 26: Unterschriftsprobeblatt
  • Gültige UID-Nummer oder Nachweis über die Unternehmereigenschaft ausgestellt vom Finanzamt im Ansässigkeitsstaat (Original)
  • Kopie des Gesellschaftsvertrages
  • Kopie des Reisepasses/Personalausweis der Geschäftsführerin/des Geschäftsführers
  • Kopie des Handelsregisterauszuges

Offenlegung und Selbstanzeige

Sollte das Unternehmen die Voraussetzungen für die Ausnahme als Kleinstunternehmen nicht erfüllen bzw. die hierfür maßgebliche Umsatzgrenze im laufenden oder im vorangegangen Kalenderjahren überschritten haben, sind diese auch im Nachhinein zu erklären.

Dazu steht die Möglichkeit einer Selbstanzeige bzw. Offenlegung der Umsätze zur Verfügung.

Kontakt - Finanzamt

Der Antrag auf steuerliche Erfassung ist per Post oder Fax an nachstehende Adresse zu richten:

Finanzamt Graz-Stadt

z.H.: BV31 /BV32
Conrad von Hötzendorf-Straße 14 - 18
A - 8018 Graz

Telefon:+43 50233 333
Fax: +43 50233 5938041 (BV 31) bzw.
+43 50233 5938042 (BV 32)

 

E-Mail:
Post.FA68-BV11@bmf.gv.at
(BV 31) bzw.
Post.FA68-BV12@bmf.gv.at (BV 32)

Bankverbindung des Finanzamtes Graz-Stadt:
BIC: OPSKATWW
IBAN: AT70 6000 0000 0553 4681
BLZ: 60000
Konto-Nr.: 5534.681(Österreichische Postsparkasse)

Versandhandel mit verbrauchsteuerpflichtigen Waren

Zusätzlich zu den Regelungen des Umsatzsteuergesetzes sind für den Versandhandel mit verbrauchsteuerpflichtigen Waren folgende Bestimmungen zu beachten:

Versandhandel betreibt, wer verbrauchsteuerpflichtige Waren im Sinne des Alkohol-, des Bier-, des Mineralöl-, Tabak- oder des Schaumweinsteuergesetzes aus dem freien Verkehr des Mitgliedstaates, in dem er seinen Geschäftssitz hat, an Privatpersonen in anderen Mitgliedstaaten liefert und den Versand an die Erwerberin/den Erwerber selbst durchführt oder durchführen lässt.

Als Privatperson gilt in diesem Fall jeder, der sich gegenüber der Versandhändlerin/dem Versandhändler nicht als Abnehmerin/Abnehmer deklariert, dessen innergemeinschaftliche Erwerbe nach den Vorschriften des UStG der Umsatzsteuer unterliegen (Keine Angabe der UID).

Wer verbrauchsteuerpflichtige Waren als Versandhändlerin/Versandhändler in das Steuergebiet liefern will, hat dies für jede Lieferung vor der Versendung dem Zollamt Innsbruck anzuzeigen und Sicherheit zu leisten. Die Verbrauchsteuerschuld entsteht mit Auslieferung der verbrauchsteuerpflichtigen Ware an die Privatperson im Steuergebiet. Steuerschuldnerin/Steuerschuldner ist grundsätzlich die Versandhändlerin/der Versandhändler. Wird das Verfahren des Versandhandels nicht eingehalten, wird auch die Empfängerin/der Empfänger zur Steuerschuldnerin/zum Steuerschuldner.

Sollen verbrauchsteuerpflichtige Waren nicht nur gelegentlich im Versandhandel geliefert werden, kann beim Zollamt Innsbruck auf Antrag die Zulassung zu Lieferungen in das Steuergebiet allgemein erteilt werden. Für nähere Auskünfte zum Versandhandel ist das Zollamt Innsbruck zu kontaktieren.

Achtung

Für Tabakwaren (gilt auch für Schnupftabak und Kautabak) besteht auf Grund des Tabakmonopolgesetzes ein generelles Handelsverbot. Auch das Tabaksteuergesetz verbietet den Versandhandel mit Tabakwaren (§ 30 TabStG). Das bedeutet, dass die Bestellung sowie der Bezug von Tabakwaren über das Internet oder andere Fernkommunikationsmittel wie Telefon, Teleshopping, E-Mail und dgl. verboten ist. Dies gilt sowohl bei einem Bezug aus Nicht-EU-Staaten als auch bei einem Bezug aus EU-Staaten.

Für im Ausland bestellte und ins Steuergebiet gelieferte Tabakwaren entsteht in Österreich die Steuerschuld, wobei die Erwerberin/der Erwerber neben der Versandhändlerin/dem Versandhändler zur Steuerschuldnerin/zum Steuerschuldner wird.

Die verbotswidrige Bestellung von Tabakwaren kann zu einem Finanzstrafverfahren führen.

Die Vorschriften über die Erwerbsschwelle und die Kleinstunternehmergrenze (Art 3 Abs 4 Z 2 und Abs 5 UStG) gelten nicht für die Lieferung verbrauchsteuerpflichtiger Waren. Derartige Lieferungen aus anderen Mitgliedstaaten sind immer der österreichischen Umsatzsteuer zu unterwerfen oder führen zur Erwerbsbesteuerung.

Es wird darauf hingewiesen, dass hinsichtlich der Einhaltung der zoll- und steuerrechtlichen Bestimmungen mit Kontrollen, sowohl durch die Zoll- als auch durch die Finanzverwaltung, gerechnet werden muss und die Bemessungsgrundlagen gemäß § 184 BAO geschätzt werden können.

Weiterführende Informationen

Formulare

Alle angeführten Formulare finden Sie auf der Homepage des Bundesministeriums für Finanzen unter dem Menüpunkt "Formulare".

Letzte Aktualisierung: 1. Januar 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.