Other organisational measures

Specimen signature sheets and evidence of activity

If a company has a managing director, an authorised representative (Prokurist) or an authorised agent (Handlungsbevollmächtigter), a specimen signature sheet may be required in certain circumstances. Form Verf 26 is used for this purpose. It is available at bmf.gv.at under "Forms".

We know that not every business is reputable. To protect responsible entrepreneurs, and in selected cases, your tax office may request proof of ID (i.e. a passport or national ID card) in addition to Verf 15, Verf 16 or Verf 24 forms, as well as an opening balance and evidence of activity. Your tax office may demand various supporting documents as evidence of activity, for example rental/leasing contracts for business premises, employee registrations, outgoing invoices or cash books.

Allocating a tax number

Once all the necessary documents have been examined, the entrepreneur will be registered with the tax office. The tax office will then issue them with a unique 9-digit tax number and open a new tax file. The entrepreneur will receive confirmation of their tax number (Steuernummer). The number is used to identify them in the tax system, and it should be quoted on all documents (receipts, proof of payment etc.) sent to the tax office. It is not unusual for tax office staff to visit business premises in person as part of this process. Visiting business premises to see how they operate gives the tax authorities a better understanding of the business than they would get sitting behind their desks in an office, and also gives them an opportunity to explain entrepreneurs' rights and responsibilities within the tax system.

Please note

Note that the tax number is not the same as the VAT ID Number (UID-Nummer).

Tax accounts

Once they are registered, entrepreneurs will have their own accounts with their tax office. The tax office will set up this account under the holder's name and tax number. All tax payments, including VAT, personal income tax, corporate income tax, wage-related taxes and Austria's standardised consumption tax (Normverbrauchsabgabe) should be made to this account.

The tax office's Tax Collection Department ["Abgabensicherung" (Abgabeneinhebung und -einbringung)] is responsible for recording your payments and operating your tax account under Section 213 of the Bundesabgabenordnung (BAO). Tax due is booked to the account as a charge, while payments are recorded as credit to your account. In principle, your tax account works according to the same principle as a bank account; your account can be in arrears or in credit.

If your account is in credit, you can use this credit to pay future tax bills. You can see activity in your tax account on FinanzOnline (under "Other Services" - "Tax Account").

If you are in credit, you can also ask for the credit to be paid back to a nominated bank account or transferred to a different tax account (see Section 239 BAO). Requests for refunds can be made in writing or electronically on FinanzOnline under "Other Services - Refunds" or "Other Services" - "Transfer"). You do not need to fill in any specific form to request a refund or transfer. Credit will be transferred immediately.

Traders registered on the business service portal (USP) are able to make use of FinanzOnline and many other online procedures with a single sign-on to the USP. More detailed information about registering with the USP can be obtained from the online advisor for USP registration.

Booking notifications

In exactly the same way as a bank sends regular statements of account, the tax office sends entrepreneurs sequentially numbered booking notifications. These notifications are free of charge and show all your transactions, when your tax payments are due, and the current balance of your tax account.

Each notification will contain the line "new account balance": This allows entrepreneurs to see at a glance whether they are in credit or arrears or whether their account is balanced. You can retrieve additional information about bookings on your tax account in FinanzOnline under "Requests"-"Tax Account".

Annual tax summary

You can also retrieve your annual tax summary from FinanzOnline. The summary includes a list of all your bookings, sorted by type of tax.

Further links

FinanzOnline (→ BMF)

Legal basis

Forms

Certified translation
Last update: 1 January 2021

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Sonstige organisatorische Maßnahmen

Unterschriftsprobenblatt und Tätigkeitsnachweis

Verfügt das Unternehmen über eine Geschäftsführerin/einen Geschäftsführer, Prokuristin/Prokuristen oder Handlungsbevollmächtigte/Handlungsbevollmächtigten, wird in ausgewählten Fällen, auch ein Unterschriftsprobenblatt verlangt. Diesen Zweck erfüllt das Formular Verf 26, das unter bmf.gv.at > Formulare erhältlich ist.

Da im Wirtschaftsleben nicht nur seriöse Unternehmerinnen/seriöse Unternehmer auftreten, lässt das Finanzamt zum Schutz der Unternehmerinnen/Unternehmer Vorsicht walten und ersucht in ausgewählten Fällen, neben den Formularen Verf 15, 16 oder 24 auch um einen Identitätsnachweis (Reisepass, Personalausweis), um eventuelle Beibringung einer Eröffnungsbilanz sowie eines Tätigkeitsnachweises. Als Tätigkeitsnachweise können z.B. Miet- oder Pachtverträge für das betriebene Geschäftslokal, Dienstnehmeranmeldungen, Ausgangsfakturen oder Kassenbücher verlangt werden.

Vergabe einer Steuernummer

Nachdem die Unterlagen geprüft wurden, wird die Unternehmerin/der Unternehmer beim Finanzamt registriert: Das Finanzamt erteilt eine 9 Stellige Steuernummer die Ihr Ordnungsbegriff ist und legt einen neuen Steuerakt an. Die Steuernummer wird der Unternehmerin/dem Unternehmer mitgeteilt. Er dient zur Identifikation und sollte daher auf allen Schriftstücken (Belegen, Zahlungsabschnitten usw.), welche dem Finanzamt übermittelt werden, angeführt werden. Es ist durchaus nichts Ungewöhnliches, dass im Zuge der Neuaufnahme eines Unternehmens ein Außendienstorgan des Finanzamtes dem jeweiligen Betrieb einen Besuch abstattet. Ein derartiger "Antrittsbesuch" vor Ort vermittelt der Behörde zweifellos ein besseres Bild, als wenn die Dinge lediglich von der "Amtsstube" aus beurteilt werden und dient auch als Servicemaßnahme der Aufklärung über die Rechte und Pflichten als Unternehmerin/Unternehmer.

Hinweis

Von der Steuernummer zu unterscheiden ist die Umsatzsteuer-Identifikationsnummer (UID).

Abgabenkonto

Ab dem Zeitpunkt der Registrierung besitzen Unternehmerinnen/Unternehmer ein Konto bei ihrem Finanzamt. Unter dem jeweiligen Namen und der Steuernummer richtet das Finanzamt ein Abgabenkonto ein. Auf dieses Konto haben in der Folge sämtliche Zahlungen, wie z.B. für Umsatz-, Einkommen-, Körperschaftsteuer, lohnabhängige Abgaben, Normverbrauchsabgabe etc. zu erfolgen.

Die Verbuchung der Beträge und die gesamte Kontengebarung (§ 213 Bundesabgabenordnung – BAO) erledigt im Finanzamt die Abteilung "Abgabensicherung" (Abgabeneinhebung und -einbringung). Gemeldete oder vorgeschriebene Abgaben werden als Belastung, die entsprechenden Zahlungen als Gutschrift gebucht. Die Bewegungen auf dem Abgabenkonto ergeben sich analog zu einem Bankkonto: Neben Rückständen (Schulden) können auch Guthaben auftreten.

Weist das Konto ein Guthaben auf, so kann dieses gleich zur Abdeckung einer zukünftigen fälligen Abgabe verwendet werden. Die Kontengebarung ist auch in FinanzOnline (Weitere Services//Steuerkonto) ersichtlich.

Bei einem Guthaben besteht u.a. die Möglichkeit, die Rückzahlung (Überweisung auf ein zu benennendes Bankkonto) oder eine Umbuchung/Überrechnung auf ein anderes Abgabenkonto zu beantragen (§ 239 BAO). Der Rückzahlungsantrag kann entweder formlos, schriftlich oder elektronisch in FinanzOnline (Weitere Services/Rückzahlung bzw. Weitere Services/Übertragung) eingebracht werden. Die Überweisung des Guthabens erfolgt umgehend.

Im USP registrierte Unternehmerinnen/Unternehmer haben die Möglichkeit, FinanzOnline und viele weitere Online-Verfahren mit einem einzigen Einloggen im USP zu nutzen. Nähere Informationen zur Registrierung im USP finden sich im Online Ratgeber zur USP-Registrierung.

Buchungsmitteilungen

So wie von einer Bank Kontoauszüge verschickt werden, sendet das Finanzamt der Unternehmerin/dem Unternehmer ebenfalls – spesenfrei – laufend nummerierte Buchungsmitteilungen zu, die über alle Bewegungen, die Fälligkeiten von Abgaben und den aktuellen Saldo informieren.

Jede Buchungsmitteilung enthält u.a. die Zeile "neuer Kontostand": So sieht die Unternehmerin/der Unternehmer, ob sie/er über einen Rückstand, ein Guthaben oder einen ausgeglichenen Kontostand verfügt. Informationen zu den Buchungen auf dem Steuerkonto können auch in FinanzOnline unter Abfragen/Steuerkonto abgerufen werden.

Jahreszusammenstellung

Als zusätzliches Service kann über FinanzOnline eine Jahreszusammenstellung abgerufen werden. Die Jahreszusammenstellung enthält eine nach Abgabenarten geordnete Übersicht aller Buchungen.

Weiterführende Links

FinanzOnline (→ BMF)

Rechtsgrundlagen

Formulare

Letzte Aktualisierung: 1. Januar 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.