VAT return/ VAT extension

General Information

In principle, every enterprise is obliged to file a tax return for the past calendar year. Small companys (section 6 paragraph 1 (27) of the Umsatzsteuergesetz (UStG)) are exempt from the obligation to file a VAT return if their turnover in the taxable period did not exceed 35,000 Euro and no VAT is to be paid for the taxable period (section 21 paragraph 6 of the UStG).

After the end of the assessment period, the VAT assessment is made (section 21 paragraph 4 UStG). As part of the assessment, the total of all payments or credits already made is compared with the amount shown in the VAT return. Ideally, the values should coincide, i.e. the annual VAT return is only a summary of the monthly or quarterly advance VAT returns. If the assessment results in an additional claim, this means that the advance payments made during the year were too low. An additional payment may result in a so-called "late payment surcharge" if it is not paid on time.

The decision on VAT assessment is issued in writing. An assessed VAT debt must be paid within one month of the date on which the decision is delivered (Section 210 paragraph 4 BAO).

Caution

In general, these rules also apply to entrepreneurs from EU Member States in Austria. These rules apply to companies from EU Member States as well as companies from non-member states. If foreign companies do not have to pay VAT in Austria, Austrian input tax may, where appropriate, be applied for using the input tax refund procedure. 

Enterprises Affected

Enterprises who provide deliveries subject to VAT and other services to customers and whose annual turnover exceeds 35,000 Euro are, in principle, obliged to file VAT returns.

The assessment period is generally the calendar year. Under certain circumstances, a different fiscal year may be chosen as the assessment period instead of the calendar year if the company also determines its profit for income tax purposes according to a different fiscal year. However, this is only possible if the company is subject to debit taxation, the preliminary reporting period is the calendar month and the fiscal year ends with the end of a calendar month. Furthermore, the company must declare in writing to the tax office that a different fiscal year is to be used. An informal letter is sufficient for this purpose (see section 20 UStG as well as Rz 2682 ff of the UStR).

Requirements

The following transactions are subject to VAT:

  • Deliveries and other services (e.g. freelance activities, tradesperson services, but also renting, leasing and assignment of licences), which are carried out by an entrepreneur domestically in return for payment as part of their business (line 1 of section 1 paragraph 1 (1) of the UStG)
  • Self-supply
  • Importing goods from a third country into Austria
  • Intra-Community acquisitions

Apart from the circumstances mentioned, tax liability can also arise as a result of an incorrect or unauthorised margin scheme.

Not all transactions subject to the UStG are taxable. The law includes a number of tax exemptions (section 6 of the UStG). The tax exemption for small company owners is particularly significant.

Deadlines

VAT returns are to be filed no later than 30 April of the following year or no later than 30 June of the following year for returns filed electronically via FinanzOnline (section 134 paragraph 1 of the BAO).

In individual cases, the deadline for submission of tax returns can be extended upon reasoned request (section 134 paragraph 2 of the BAO). Anyone making use of a ‘tax representative’ is usually given longer to file the tax return.

More information on FinanzOnline can be found in the "Electronic tax return" section.

Competent authority

In principle, the Tax Authority Austria (→ BMF)German text, provided that the Tax Authority for Large Traders is not responsible

Procedure

Please note that you are, in principle, obliged to submit the VAT return electronically via FinanzOnline. Where it is not feasible to submit the VAT return electronically due to a lack of electronic provisions (e.g. no internet connection), the official form (U1) must be used. When submitting the preliminary returns via a ‘tax representative’, the technical requirements relating to the representative shall apply.

Required documents

No specific documents have to be submitted.

Costs and fees

There are no notification costs (application, e.g.). No costs are incurred in filing the VAT return.

Further information

Where it is not compulsory to enter data via FinanzOnline (→ BMF)German text all the necessary forms are available in the Federal Ministry of Finance's VAT form overview (→ BMF)German text or from all the tax offices.

Related links

Legal bases

Expert Information

Umsatzsteuerrichtlinien 2000 (→ BMF)

Link to form

Translated by the European Commission, altered by the Federal Ministry of Finance
Last update: 1 January 2022

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Umsatzsteuererklärung/Umsatzsteuerveranlagung

Allgemeine Informationen

Grundsätzlich muss jedes Unternehmen für das abgelaufene Kalenderjahr eine Steuererklärung abgeben. Kleinunternehmen (§ 6 Abs 1 Z 27 UStG) sind dann von der Abgabe einer Umsatzsteuererklärung befreit, wenn ihre Umsätze im Veranlagungszeitraum nicht über 35.000 Euro liegen und für den Veranlagungszeitraum keine Umsatzsteuer zu entrichten ist (§ 21 Abs 6 UStG).

Nach Ablauf des Veranlagungszeitraums erfolgt die Umsatzsteuerveranlagung (§ 21 Abs 4 UStG). Im Rahmen der Veranlagung wird die Summe aller bereits erfolgten Zahlungen bzw. Gutschriften dem in der Umsatzsteuererklärung ausgewiesenen Betrag gegenübergestellt. Im Idealfall sollten sich die Werte decken, d.h. die Jahreserklärung stellt nur eine Zusammenfassung der monatlichen oder vierteljährlichen Voranmeldungen dar. Ergibt sich aufgrund der Veranlagung eine Nachforderung, so bedeutet dies, dass während des Jahres die Vorauszahlungen in zu niedriger Höhe geleistet wurden. Eine Nachzahlung kann bei nicht fristgerechter Entrichtung einen sogenannten "Säumniszuschlag" nach sich ziehen.

Der Umsatzsteuerbescheid ergeht schriftlich. Eine festgesetzte Umsatzsteuerschuld ist binnen Monatsfrist – gerechnet ab Zustellung des Bescheides – zu zahlen (§ 210 Abs 4 BAO).

Achtung

Diese Regelungen gelten grundsätzlich auch für Unternehmen aus EU-Mitgliedstaaten sowie für Unternehmen aus Drittländern. Sofern ausländische Unternehmen in Österreich keine Umsatzsteuer abführen müssen, können österreichische Vorsteuern gegebenenfalls im Wege des Vorsteuererstattungsverfahrens beantragt werden.

Betroffene Unternehmen

Unternehmen, die gegenüber Kundinnen/Kunden bestimmte, der Umsatzsteuer unterliegende Lieferungen und sonstige Leistungen erbringen und deren Jahresumsatz 35.000 Euro übersteigt, sind grundsätzlich zur Abgabe von Umsatzsteuererklärungen verpflichtet.

Veranlagungszeitraum ist grundsätzlich das Kalenderjahr. Unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen kann anstelle des Kalenderjahres ein abweichendes Wirtschaftsjahr als Veranlagungszeitraum gewählt werden, wenn das Unternehmen seinen Gewinn auch ertragsteuerlich nach einem abweichenden Wirtschaftsjahr ermittelt. Dies ist jedoch nur möglich, wenn das Unternehmen der Sollbesteuerung unterliegt, Voranmeldungszeitraum der Kalendermonat ist und das Wirtschaftsjahr mit Ablauf eines Kalendermonats endet. Weiters hat das Unternehmen dem Finanzamt schriftlich zu erklären, dass ein abweichendes Wirtschaftsjahr verwendet werden soll. Hierfür genügt ein formloses Schreiben (siehe § 20 UStG sowie Rz 2682 ff der UStR).

Voraussetzungen

Der Umsatzsteuer (USt) unterliegen folgende Umsätze:

  • Die Lieferungen und sonstigen Leistungen (z.B. freiberufliche Tätigkeiten, Handwerkerleistungen, aber auch die Vermietung, Verpachtung und Lizenzüberlassung), die eine Unternehmerin/ein Unternehmer im Inland gegen Entgelt im Rahmen ihres/seines Unternehmens ausführt (§ 1 Abs 1 Z 1 UStG)
  • Der Eigenverbrauch
  • Die Einfuhr von Gegenständen aus einem Drittland ins Inland
  • Der innergemeinschaftliche Erwerb

Abgesehen von den genannten Tatbeständen kann eine Steuerschuld auch aufgrund einer unrichtigen oder unberechtigten Rechnungslegung entstehen.

Nicht alle dem UStG unterliegenden Umsätze sind steuerpflichtig. Das Gesetz enthält eine Reihe von Steuerbefreiungen (§ 6 UStG). Insbesondere die Steuerbefreiung für Kleinunternehmen ist von Bedeutung.

Fristen

Die Umsatzsteuererklärung ist bis 30. April des Folgejahres bzw. bei elektronischer Übermittlung über FinanzOnline bis 30. Juni des Folgejahres einzureichen (§ 134 Abs 1 BAO).

Im Einzelfall kann auf begründeten Antrag die Frist zur Abgabe der Steuererklärung verlängert werden (§ 134 Abs 2 BAO). Wer von einer "steuerlichen Vertreterin"/einem "steuerlichen Vertreter" vertreten wird, hat für die Einreichung der Steuererklärung in der Regel länger Zeit.

Nähere Informationen zu FinanzOnline finden sich im Abschnitt "Elektronische Steuererklärung".

Zuständige Stelle

Im Normalfall das Finanzamt Österreich (→ BMF), sofern nicht das Finanzamt für Großbetriebe zuständig ist

Verfahrensablauf

Beachten Sie bitte, dass Sie grundsätzlich verpflichtet sind, die Umsatzsteuererklärung elektronisch über FinanzOnline einzureichen. Ist die elektronische Übermittlung mangels technischer Voraussetzungen (z.B. fehlender Internet-Anschluss) unzumutbar, ist der amtliche Vordruck (U1) zu verwenden. Bei Abgabe der Voranmeldungen über die "steuerliche Vertreterin"/den "steuerlichen Vertreter" sind die technischen Voraussetzungen bei der Vertreterin/dem Vertreter maßgeblich.

Erforderliche Unterlagen

Es sind keine besonderen Unterlagen einzureichen.

Kosten

Es fallen keine Kosten für die Anzeige (Antragstellung etc.) an. Für die Abgabe der Umsatzsteuererklärung fallen keine Kosten an.

Zusätzliche Informationen

Soweit die Dateneingabe nicht verpflichtend mittels FinanzOnline (→ BMF) zu erfolgen hat, stehen alle erforderlichen Formulare (→ BMF) in der Formularübersicht Umsatzsteuer auf den Seiten des Bundesministeriums für Finanzen oder bei allen Finanzämtern zur Verfügung.

Weiterführende Links

Rechtsgrundlagen

Experteninformation

Umsatzsteuerrichtlinien 2000 (→ BMF)

Zum Formular

Letzte Aktualisierung: 1. Januar 2022

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.