Duties of Austrian companies employing foreign workers in Austria

General information

The regulations regarding wage tax apply irrespective of whether the employee is resident in Austria or not. The same provisions apply in respect of short-term employment (for example, for seasonal work). Double tax conventions (DTC) only prevent an employee from being taxed in Austria under taxation law if they carry out their work outside Austria.

Wage tax deduction

Wage tax should be deducted for employees resident outside Austria in the same way as for Austrian-based staff, except for the single-earner tax credit (Alleinverdienerabzug) and the single-parent tax credit (Alleinerzieherabsetzbetrag).

The only situation in which wage tax according to tariff levels is not deducted is when an employee resident outside Austria carries out work that would trigger special withholding tax if they were working on a self-employed basis. Here, a fixed-rate wage tax deduction is applied, amounting to 20 per cent or 25 per cent.

You can find further information about levels of taxation (both gross and net) and activities that trigger the application of special withholding taxes on our "Obligations on Austrian traders regarding activities in Austria by foreign traders" page, in the section headed 'Special withholding tax under section 99 of the Einkommensteuergesetz (Income Tax Act)'.

Provision of workers by third parties

Even if the Austrian employer of workers provided by a third party qualifies as an (economic) employer from an inter-governmental point of view (i.e. for the purposes of applying a double tax convention), this does not affect the applicability of domestic law. Under domestic law, employers employing workers provided by third parties often do not qualify as employers for tax purposes. If they do not qualify as employers, no wage tax deduction should be made. However, workers provided in this manner can still be taxed in Austria. There are two ways to meet the requirement to tax these workers within Austria:

1. Withholding tax pursuant to Section 99 of the Income Tax Act (Einkommensteuergesetz – EStG)

The fee paid by the Austrian employer to the labour provider based outside Austria is subject to a withholding tax obligation pursuant to Section 99 EStG. From an economic point of view, withholding tax covers the tax due on the wages of these temporary staff. If the labour provider is based outside Austria and does not have its own premises in Austria, they can generally apply for a refund of any withholding tax paid. However, the refund will only be provided to the extent the withholding tax collected exceeds the amount that would have been collected if the temporary staff had themselves been subject to wage tax in Austria.

2. Voluntary wage tax deduction (exemption notice)

The other way of meeting the taxation requirement is to enrol for voluntary wage tax deduction. The tax can be deducted by the labour provider or, alternatively, by the temporary workers' domestic employer. Under this system, a convention can be applied for formal discharge from the withholding tax that would otherwise be due on the fee for providing the temporary staff, pursuant to Section 5, Paragraph 3 of the DTC Tax Relief Ordinance (DBA-Entlastungsverordnung). This relief is provided by means of an exemption notice from tax at source. Applications for such exemptions must be submitted to the Tax Authority for Large Traders (Finanzamt für Großbetriebe – FAG) using the web form (known as BEFBESCH).

Further links

Legal basis

Certified Translation
Last update: 20 April 2021

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.

Pflichten österr. Unternehmer bei Inlandsbeschäftigung ausl. Arbeitnehmer

Allgemeines

Die lohnsteuerlichen Vorschriften sind davon unabhängig, ob die Arbeitnehmerin/der Arbeitnehmer in Österreich oder im Ausland ansässig ist. Dies gilt auch für kurzfristige Beschäftigungen, z.B. bei Saisonniers. Die Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen (DBA) entziehen Österreich sein Besteuerungsrecht nur so weit, wie die Arbeit außerhalb Österreichs ausgeübt wird.

Lohnsteuerabzug

Der tarifmäßige Lohnsteuerabzug ist bei Arbeitnehmerinnen/Arbeitnehmern, die im Ausland ansässig sind, so vorzunehmen wie bei Arbeitnehmerinnen/Arbeitnehmern, die in Österreich ansässig sind, ausgenommen Alleinverdiener- und Alleinerzieherabsetzbetrag.

Lediglich dann, wenn eine im Ausland ansässige Arbeitnehmerin/ein im Ausland ansässiger Arbeitnehmer Tätigkeiten ausführt, welche – wären sie selbstständig tätig – die besondere Abzugsteuer auslösen würden, fällt nicht die tarifmäßige, sondern eine fixe Lohnsteuer an. Diese fixe Lohnsteuer beträgt 20 Prozent bzw. 25 Prozent. Nähere Informationen zur Höhe der Besteuerung (brutto und netto) und zu den die besondere Abzugsteuer auslösenden Tätigkeiten finden sich auf unserer Seite "Pflichten österreichischer Unternehmer bei Inlandsaktivitäten ausländischer Unternehmer" im Kapitel "Besondere Abzugsteuer nach § 99 Einkommensteuergesetz".

Arbeitskräftegestellung

Auch wenn die inländische Beschäftigerin/der inländische Beschäftiger auf zwischenstaatlicher Ebene (das heißt im Rahmen der Anwendung von DBA) als (wirtschaftliche) Arbeitgeberin/(wirtschaftlicher) Arbeitgeber anzusehen ist, ändert das nichts an der Anwendung des innerstaatlichen Rechts, wonach es häufig zu keiner Arbeitgebereigenschaft der Beschäftigerin/des Beschäftigers kommt und kein Lohnsteuerabzug vorzunehmen ist. Die gestellten Arbeitskräfte dürfen aber in Österreich besteuert werden. Um dieser inländischen Besteuerungspflicht nachzukommen, gibt es zwei Möglichkeiten:

1. Abzugsteuer gemäß § 99 EStG

Das Gestellungsentgelt, das die österreichische Beschäftigerin/der österreichische Beschäftiger an die ausländische Gestellerin/den ausländischen Gesteller zahlt, unterliegt der Abzugsteuerpflicht gemäß § 99 EStG 1988. Mit der Abzugsteuer ist wirtschaftlich auch die Besteuerung der Löhne der überlassenen Arbeitskräfte miterfasst. Unterhält die ausländische Gestellerin/der ausländische Gesteller keine Betriebsstätte in Österreich, kann in der Regel eine Rückerstattung der Abzugsteuer beantragt werden. Eine Rückerstattung wird jedoch nur in dem Ausmaß gewährt, als die einbehaltene Abzugsteuer jenen Betrag übersteigt, der sich ergeben würde, wenn die überlassenen Arbeitskräfte in Österreich der Lohnsteuer unterworfen würden. 

2. Freiwilliger Lohnsteuerabzug (Befreiungsbescheid) 

Die zweite Möglichkeit, der Besteuerungspflicht nachzukommen, ist im Wege des freiwilligen Lohnsteuerabzugs, der durch die Gestellerin/den Gesteller oder – alternativ – durch die inländische Beschäftigerin/den inländischen Beschäftiger vorgenommen werden kann. Diesfalls kann eine (abkommensrechtlich gebotene) Entlastung von der Abzugsteuer auf das Gestellungsentgelt gemäß § 5 Abs. 3 DBA-Entlastungsverordnung durch Bescheid an der Quelle zugelassen werden (Befreiungsbescheid). Befreiungsanträge sind unter Verwendung des dafür vorgesehenen Webformulars (BEFBESCH) beim Finanzamt für Großbetriebe (FAG) einzubringen. 

Weiterführende Links

Rechtsgrundlagen

Letzte Aktualisierung: 20. April 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.