Recapitulative Statement ( ZM)

General Information

The Member States of the European Union operate a joint information exchange system for intra-Community deliveries and specific cross-border services (MIAS).

The companys participating in the internal market have to submit a recapitulative statement for certain transactions with foreign reference. The information contained in the recapitulative statement is shared by the Member States.

Intra-Community deliveries, spendings and cross-border services, where the tax liability passes to a recipient of a service in the EU Community territory (in another Member State owing to the place of delivery there in accordance with section 3a of the UStG) pursuant to article 196 of the Directive on the VAT system, must be recorded in the recapitulative statement. The recapitulative statement must include details of the VAT Identification Number of the respective business partners and the total value of all intra-Community transactions for the reporting period.

The recapitulative statement is considered to be a tax return.

In cases where no intra-Community deliveries, spending or cross-border services are carried out in a reporting period, it is not necessary to submit a recapitulative statement.

Sales recapitulative statement
0 Euro - 35,000 Euro
(small company owners)
Quarter
0 Euro - 35,000 Euro
(waiver of exemption for small company owners)
Quarter
35,000 Euro - 100,000 Euro Quarter
Over 100,000 Euro Month

Enterprises Affected

Please note

Since 1 January 2020, intra-Community deliveries are only tax-free where the delivering company complies with its obligation to submit a recapitulative statement within the deadline stated in article 21 paragraph 3 of the UStG 1994.

Where no recapitulative statement for the delivery is submitted or where an incomplete or incorrect recapitulative statement is submitted, the intra-Community delivery is only tax free where the delivering company provides proper reasons for its failure (non-submission, incompleteness or inaccuracy) to satisfy the competent tax authorities and makes appropriate corrections to or subsequently submits the recapitulative statement (see Rz 3994 and Rz 4203 of the UStR).

In addition, since 1 January 2020, when transporting goods into another EU Member State it has been possible to make use of the consignment stock regulations (article 1a of the UStG 1994). When applying the consignment stock regulations, intra-Community spending in the warehouse, any return shipments, cancellation or change in purchaser must be included in the recapitulative statement. For procedures of this kind, the company has to select the corresponding consignment stock code in the recapitulative statement and indicate the purchaser’s VAT Identification Number (or the VAT Identification Number of the new purchaser in the event of a change of purchaser).

Deadlines

The recapitulative statement (ZM) must be submitted before the end of the calendar month following the reporting period (calendar month or calendar quarter).

Example

The information on the recapitulative statement for the August 2020 reporting period must be submitted electronically no later than on 30 September 2020.

Competent authority

The recapitulative statement (ZM) must be filed with the tax office (→ BMF) responsible for collecting VAT.

Procedure

Please note that you are, in principle, obliged to submit the recapitulative statement electronically via FinanzOnline. If it is infeasible to submit the recapitulative statement electronically due to a lack of the necessary technology (e.g. no internet connection), the official form (U13 or U14) must be used. When submitting the recapitulative statement via a tax representative, the technical requirements relating to the representative shall apply.

Expert Information

Umsatzsteuerrichtlinien 2000 (→ BMF)

Link to form

Translated by the European Commission
Last update: 1 January 2022

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Zusammenfassende Meldung (ZM)

Allgemeine Informationen

Die Mitgliedstaaten der EU unterhalten ein gemeinsames System des Informationsaustausches für innergemeinschaftliche Lieferungen und bestimmte grenzüberschreitende Dienstleistungen (MIAS). Die am Binnenmarkt beteiligten Unternehmen haben eine Zusammenfassende Meldung für bestimmte Umsätze mit Auslandsbezug einzureichen. Die in den ZM enthaltenen Informationen werden von den Mitgliedstaaten ausgetauscht.

In die Zusammenfassende Meldung sind innergemeinschaftliche Lieferungen, Verbringungen und grenzüberschreitende Dienstleistungen, bei denen die Steuerschuld gemäß Art. 196 der Mehrwertsteuersystemrichtlinie auf eine Leistungsempfängerin/einen Leistungsempfänger im EU-Gemeinschaftsgebiet (in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat aufgrund des dortigen Leistungsorts nach § 3a UStG) übergeht, aufzunehmen. In der ZM sind die UID-Nummern der jeweiligen Geschäftspartnerinnen/Geschäftspartner sowie der Gesamtwert aller an diese ausgeführten innergemeinschaftlichen Umsätze für den Meldezeitraum anzugeben.

Die ZM gilt als Steuererklärung.

Wenn in einem Meldezeitraum weder innergemeinschaftliche Lieferungen, noch Verbringungen oder grenzüberschreitende Dienstleistungen ausgeführt werden, ist keine ZM zu übermitteln.

Umsatz ZM
0 Euro - 35.000 Euro
(Kleinunternehmer)
Quartal
0 Euro - 35.000 Euro
(Verzicht auf Kleinunternehmerbefreiung)
Quartal
35.000 Euro - 100.000 Euro Quartal
Über 100.000 Euro Monat

Betroffene Unternehmen

Hinweis

Seit 1. Jänner 2020 sind innergemeinschaftliche Lieferungen nur steuerfrei, wenn das liefernde Unternehmen seiner Pflicht zur Abgabe einer Zusammenfassenden Meldung innerhalb der in Art 21 Abs 3 UStG 1994 angeführten Frist nachgekommen ist.

Wird keine oder nur eine unvollständige oder unrichtige Zusammenfassende Meldung für die Lieferung abgegeben, ist die innergemeinschaftliche Lieferung nur steuerfrei, wenn das liefernde Unternehmen sein Versäumnis (Nichtabgabe, Unvollständigkeit oder Unrichtigkeit) zur Zufriedenheit der zuständigen Steuerbehörde ordnungsgemäß begründet und die Zusammenfassende Meldung entsprechend berichtigt bzw. nachträglich abgibt (siehe UStR Rz 3994 und Rz 4203).

Weiters besteht seit 1. Jänner 2020 beim Verbringen von Waren in einen anderen EU-Mitgliedstaat die Möglichkeit, zur Vereinfachung die Konsignationslagerregelung in Anspruch zu nehmen (Art 1a UStG 1994). Bei Anwendung der Konsignationslagerregelung ist das innergemeinschaftliche Verbringen in das Lager, ein etwaiger Rückversand, eine Stornierung oder ein Erwerberwechsel in die Zusammenfassende Meldung aufzunehmen. Bei solchen Vorgängen hat das Unternehmen in der Zusammenfassenden Meldung den entsprechenden KL-Code auszuwählen und die UID der Erwerberin/des Erwerbers (bzw. bei Erwerberwechsel die UID der neuen Erwerberin/des neuen Erwerbers) anzugeben.

Fristen

Die ZM ist bis zum Ablauf des auf den Meldezeitraum (Kalendermonat oder Kalendervierteljahr) folgenden Kalendermonates einzureichen.

Beispiel

Die Daten der Zusammenfassenden Meldung für den Meldezeitraum August 2020 sind auf elektronischem Wege bis spätestens 30. September 2020 zu übermitteln.

Zuständige Stelle

Die ZM ist bei dem für die Erhebung der Umsatzsteuer zuständigen Finanzamt (→ BMF) einzureichen.

Verfahrensablauf

Beachten Sie bitte, dass Sie grundsätzlich verpflichtet sind, die ZM elektronisch über FinanzOnline einzureichen. Ist die elektronische Übermittlung mangels technischer Voraussetzungen (z.B. fehlender Internet-Anschluss) unzumutbar, ist der amtliche Vordruck (U13 bzw. U14) zu verwenden. Bei Abgabe der ZM über die steuerliche Vertreterin/den steuerlichen Vertreter sind die technischen Voraussetzungen bei der Vertreterin/dem Vertreter maßgeblich.

Experteninformation

Umsatzsteuerrichtlinien 2000 (→ BMF)

Zum Formular

Letzte Aktualisierung: 1. Januar 2022

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.