Which sales can be declared through the EU-OSS?

Please note

The EU-OSS can only be used for sales carried out as from 1 July 2021.

Which sales can Austrian businesses and other EU businesses declare via the EU-OSS?

Services provided to consumers in an EU Member State can be declared via the EU-OSS. While this applies generally to services to consumers (e.g. cultural, artistic, scientific, educational, sporting or entertainment activities, passenger transport or the sale of apps or other electronic products per download), the EU-OSS can only be used to declare services that are taxable in a Member State in which the business providing the service is not established. This means that businesses must neither have their head office nor a fixed establishment in that Member State. Services, falling under the general place of supply rules and therefore being taxable in the Member State of the supplier (e.g. consulting services), can therefore not be declared through the EU-OSS. The VAT for services which are taxable in a Member State where the supplier is established must be declared in accordance with the applicable law of that Member State – i.e. outside the EU-OSS.

Intra-EU distance sales can also be declared through the EU-OSS. Sales of this type can be declared via the EU-OSS even if the supplier has his business or a fixed establishment in the Member State in which the intra-EU distance sale is taxable.

All sales of goods through a platform for which the platform is deemed to be a taxpayer in accordance with Section 3, Para. 3a (2) of the Umsatzsteuergesetz can be declared by the platform via the EU-OSS. This applies even if the beginning and end of the delivery take place in the same Member State.

Please note

If a taxpayer who is registered for the EU-OSS carries out also supplies which do not fall under the EU-OSS, the taxpayer has to declare these supplies under the “normal” procedure (preliminary VAT return).

U has a business in Austria and is supplying and transporting goods from Austria to consumers in Austria and to consumers in other EU Member States.

Solution:

If U is registered for the EU-OSS, she has to declare the VAT for all her intra-Community distance sales through the EU-OSS. A registration for these sales in other Member States is not necessary. In addition to the EU-OSS declaration, U has to declare the sales carried out within Austria through the “normal” procedure (preliminary VAT return).

Which sales can non-EU businesses declare via the EU-OSS?

Non-EU companies which have neither their business nor a fixed etablishment in the EU may only declare intra-EU distance sales and certain sales of goods as a platform via the EU-OSS. If a business not established in the EU provides services in the EU, these may, however, eventually be declared via the non-EU OSS.

Can the EU-OSS also be used only for services?

If a business decides to use the EU-OSS, all sales covered by this scheme must be declared via this electronic portal. There is no option to declare, for example, services to consumers via the EU-OSS and simultaneously declare intra-EU distance sales of goods in the conventional way (UVA [preliminary VAT return] and assessment procedure).

An Austrian business provides intra-EU distance sales of goods and other services to consumers in Germany and France. The Austrian business has a fixed establishment in Germany. They have no establishment in France.

Solution for intra-EU distance sales

If the business decides to use the EU-OSS, the VAT for the intra-EU distance sales to Germany and France must be declared and paid via the EU-OSS.

Solution for services

The services provided to consumers in France must also be declared via the EU-OSS. The services provided to Germany cannot be declared via the EU-OSS as the business has a fixed establishment there. The declaration and payment for VAT for services in Germany has to be made in accordance with the rules in German law.

Can sales of goods that are entirely domestic be declared via the EU-OSS?

Sales of goods that take place entirely in Austria cannot be declared through the EU-OSS. These sales must be declared following the conventional procedure (UVA [preliminary VAT return] and assessment procedure). An exception only applies for platforms that are deemed to have supplied the goods of another taxpayer in accordance with Section 3, Para. 3a (2) of the Umsatzsteuergesetz (see above).

Can sales of goods from a non-EU country to consumers in the EU be declared via the EU-OSS?

No. Supplies of goods which are delivered from a non-EU country to non-business consumers in the EU (distance sales of imported goods) can, however, be declared via the  IOSS.

Can the VAT for services and sales of goods to a Member State in which the business is registered for VAT purposes be declared via the EU-OSS?

Taxpayers can register for the OSS regardless of whether they have a VAT number in another Member State. They can also declare and pay the VAT for Member States in which they have a VAT identification number through the OSS.

An Austrian business that uses the EU-OSS provides a service to a consumer in Slovakia. While the business is registered in Slovakia for VAT purposes and also has a Slovakian VAT ID number, they do not have a fixed establishment in Slovakia. The sales must be included in the EU-OSS declaration.

Translated by the European Commission, altered by the Federal Ministry of Finance
Last update: 15 April 2021

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Rate this page and help us to improve.

Welche Umsätze können über den EU-OSS erklärt werden?

Hinweis

Der EU-OSS kann erst für Umsätze ab 1. Juli 2021 verwendet werden.

Welche Umsätze können österreichische Unternehmen und andere EU-Unternehmen über den EU-OSS erklären?

Dienstleistungen, die innerhalb der EU ausgeführt werden und an Nichtunternehmerinnen/Nichtunternehmer erbracht werden, können über den EU-OSS erklärt werden. Dies gilt für jede Art von Dienstleistung an Nichtunternehmerinnen/Nichtunternehmer (z.B. kulturelle, künstlerische, wissenschaftliche, unterrichtende, sportliche oder unterhaltende Dienstleistungen, Personenbeförderungsleistungen oder der Verkauf von Apps oder anderen digitalen Produkten per Download). Es können jedoch nur jene Dienstleistungen über den EU-OSS erklärt werden, die in einem Mitgliedstaat erbracht werden, in dem das Unternehmen, das die Dienstleistung erbringt, nicht niedergelassen ist. Das heißt das Unternehmen darf weder seinen Sitz, noch eine Betriebsstätte in diesem Mitgliedstaat haben. Ist das Unternehmen dort niedergelassen, ist die Umsatzsteuer für die dort erbrachten Dienstleistungen nach dem dort geltenden Recht – außerhalb des EU-OSS – zu erklären. 

Innergemeinschaftliche Versandhandelsumsätze können ebenfalls über den EU-OSS erklärt werden. Solche Umsätze können auch dann über den EU-OSS erklärt werden, wenn das liefernde Unternehmen in jenem Mitgliedstaat einen Sitz oder eine Betriebsstätte hat, in dem der innergemeinschaftliche Versandhandelsumsatz ausgeführt wird. 

Lieferungen einer Plattform, für die die Plattform nach § 3 Abs. 3a Z 2 UStG 1994 Steuerschuldnerin ist, kann die Plattform über den EU-OSS erklären. Dies gilt auch dann, wenn der Beginn und das Ende der Lieferung im selben Mitgliedstaat liegen. 

Welche Umsätze können Drittlandsunternehmen über den EU-OSS erklären?

Drittlandsunternehmen, die weder einen Sitz noch eine Betriebsstätte in der EU haben, können nur innergemeinschaftliche Versandhandelsumsätze und bestimmte Lieferungen als Plattform über den EU-OSS erklären. Erbringt ein Drittlandsunternehmen Dienstleistungen innerhalb der EU können diese jedoch gegebenenfalls über den Nicht-EU-OSS erklärt werden.

Kann der EU-OSS auch nur für Dienstleistungen verwendet werden?

Entscheidet sich ein Unternehmen für die Verwendung des EU-OSS sind alle unter diese Regelung fallenden Umsätze über dieses Portal zu erklären. Es besteht nicht die Möglichkeit z.B. Dienstleistungen an Nichtunternehmen über den EU-OSS und gleichzeitig innergemeinschaftliche Versandhandelsumsätze im herkömmlichen Wege (UVA und Veranlagungsverfahren) zu erklären.

Ein österreichisches Unternehmen hat innergemeinschaftliche Versandhandelsumsätze sowie sonstige Leistungen an Nichtunternehmerinnen/Nichtunternehmer in Deutschland und Frankreich. In Deutschland hat das österreichische Unternehmen eine Betriebsstätte. In Frankreich hat das Unternehmen keine Betriebsstätte.

Lösung für innergemeinschaftliche Versandhandelsumsätze

Wenn sich das Unternehmen für die Nutzung des EU-OSS entscheidet, ist die Umsatzsteuer für die innergemeinschaftlichen Versandhandelsumsätze nach Deutschland und Frankreich über den EU-OSS zu erklären und zu entrichten. 

Lösung für Dienstleistungen

Die Dienstleistungen an Nichtunternehmerinnen/Nichtunternehmer in Frankreich sind ebenfalls über den EU-OSS zu erklären. Die Dienstleistungen nach Deutschland können nicht über den EU-OSS erklärt werden, weil dort eine Betriebsstätte besteht. Die Erklärung und Zahlung der Umsatzsteuer für die Dienstleistungen in Deutschland richtet sich nach deutschem Recht.

Können auch rein inländische Lieferungen über den EU-OSS erklärt werden? 

Rein innerstaatliche Lieferungen können nicht über den EU-OSS erklärt werden. Diese Umsätze sind im herkömmlichen Verfahren zu erklären (UVA und Veranlagungsverfahren. Eine Ausnahme besteht nur für Plattformen, die gemäß § 3 Abs. 3a Z 2 UStG 1994 zur Steuerschuldnerin fingiert werden (siehe oben). 

Können auch Lieferungen aus einem Drittland an Nichtunternehmer in der EU über den EU-OSS erklärt werden? 

Nein. Versandhandelsumsätze bei denen die Waren aus einem Drittland an Nichtunternehmerinnen/Nichtunternehmer in der EU geliefert werden (Einfuhr-Versandhandel) können jedoch über den IOSS erklärt werden. 

Kann die Umsatzsteuer für Leistungen und Lieferungen in einen Mitgliedstaat in dem das Unternehmen für umsatzsteuerliche Zwecke registriert ist über den EU-OSS erklärt werden?

Eine Registrierung in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat ist nicht schädlich.

Ein österreichisches Unternehmen, das den EU-OSS verwendet, erbringt eine Dienstleistung an einen Nichtunternehmer in der Slowakei. Das Unternehmen ist in der Slowakei zwar für umsatzsteuerliche Zwecke registriert und hat auch eine slowakische UID-Nummer, verfügt aber in der Slowakei über keine Betriebsstätte. Die Umsätze sind in die EU-OSS-Erklärung aufzunehmen.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 15. April 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.