IOSS Intermediary

General

There are two options for registration for the IOSS: Either a company registers itself directly or via an IOSS intermediary. Third country businesses which are not established in the EU can only register for the IOSS with an IOSS intermediary. The IOSS intermediary must submit the IOSS declarations and pay the VAT for the businesses represented by the intermediary. IOSS intermediaries are liable for ensuring the accurate declaration and payment of VAT for their importers.

Caution

If the IOSS declaration made by an importer is in error or if the VAT for the declaration is not paid, the tax authorities approach the IOSS intermediary directly and may hold her/him liable for payment.

Registration

Not everyone can register as an IOSS intermediary. To become an IOSS intermediary in Austria, a specific professional qualification is required. This professional qualification requirement is always met by the following professional groups: Certified public accountants, attorneys and notaries and shipping companies that are members of the trade association of the Austrian Chamber of Commerce. Further, the intermediary must be established in Austria. Another requirement is that the intermediary must have an authorization to represent the business and is not blocked from the IOSS. Duplicate registrations in multiple Member States are not possible.

Registration for the IOSS is performed in the Member State in which the intermediary has her/his place of business. If the place of business is in a third country and the intermediary has an establishment in the EU, the registration must be performed in the Member State where the establishment is located or, if there are multiple establishments, in a state where an establishment is located. Third country businesses cannot be IOSS intermediaries.

Registration in Austria:

Step 1: Send registration application via FinanzOnline

If the conditions are met, registration as an IOSS intermediary can be performed via FinanzOnline. An Austrian VAT number is required for registration. When registering, the IOSS intermediary can at the same time indicate which importers they are representing. A registration can only be performed if at least one importer is provided.

Step 2: Deposit letter of attorney

As soon as the registration application has been submitted, the intermediary can submit the power to represent the taxpayer to the responsible tax office. This power to represent has to be submitted for each importer. Certified public accountants, attorneys and notaries generally do not need to submit a letter of attorney to the tax office.

Once the tax office has reviewed and approved the registration application, the IOSS intermediary and the importers they represent are registered. The IOSS numbers for the importers represented are sent to the intermediary. If additional importers are to be represented after registration, they can be added directly via the business profile in the IOSS. Thereafter, the power to represent the added importer must again be provided to the responsible tax office.

Declaration and payment

The IOSS intermediary performs the declaration and payment of value added tax. A separate declaration and payment must be made for each importer.

Ending participation and exclusion

The IOSS intermediary can end the participation of an importer or their own participation at any time directly in the IOSS. If an IOSS intermediary ends her/his participation or is excluded from the IOSS, the importers are automatically excluded. Persistent failures to submit IOSS declarations for an importer or pay the VAT for an importer are attributable to the intermediary, the IOSS intermediary will be held liable. This may result in an exclusion of two years for the IOSS intermediary.

If an IOSS intermediary does not represent any importers in the IOSS for six consecutive months, the intermediary is automatically excluded.

Translated by the European Commission, altered by the Federal Ministry of Finance
Last update: 23 February 2021

Responsible for the content: Federal Ministry of Finance

Rate this page and help us to improve.

IOSS-Vertreter

Allgemeines

Es gibt zwei Möglichkeiten sich zum IOSS zu registrieren: Entweder ein Unternehmen registriert sich direkt oder über eine IOSS-Vertreterin/einen IOSS-Vertreter. Für Drittlandsunternehmen, die weder einen Sitz noch eine Betriebsstätte in der EU haben, ist eine Registrierung nur über eine IOSS-Vertreterin/einen IOSS-Vertreter möglich. Die IOSS-Vertreterin/der IOSS-Vertreter hat die IOSS-Erklärung und die Zahlung der Umsatzsteuer für die von ihm im IOSS vertretenen Unternehmen (Importeure) vorzunehmen. IOSS-Vertreterinnen/Vertreter haften für die korrekte Erklärung und Entrichtung der Umsatzsteuer ihrer Importeure.

Achtung

Ist die IOSS-Erklärung eines Importeurs fehlerhaft oder wird die Umsatzsteuer für die IOSS-Erklärung eines Importeurs nicht entrichtet, wenden sich die Steuerbehörden direkt an die IOSS-Vertreterin/den IOSS-Vertreter und ziehen diese/diesen ggfs. zur Zahlung heran.

Registrierung

Nicht jede/jeder kann sich als IOSS-Vertreterin/-Vertreter registrieren. Um als IOSS-Vertreterin/Vertreter in Österreich tätig zu werden, muss insbesondere eine bestimmte fachliche Qualifikation vorliegen. Die fachliche Qualifikation wird jedenfalls von folgenden Berufsgruppen erfüllt: Wirtschaftstreuhänderinnen/Wirtschaftstreuhänder, Rechtsanwältinnen/Rechtsanwälte und Notarinnen/Notare mit Betriebsstätte in Österreich sowie Spediteurinnen/Spediteure, die Mitgliederinnen/Mitglieder des Fachverbandes der Wirtschaftskammer Österreich sind. Voraussetzung ist weiters, dass die Vertreterin/der Vertreter Zustellungsbevollmächtigte/Zustellungsbevollmächtigter ist und keine Sperrfrist aufrecht ist. Eine doppelte Registrierung in mehreren Mitgliedstaaten ist nicht möglich.

Die Registrierung zum IOSS erfolgt in jenem Mitgliedstaat, in dem die Vertreterin/der Vertreter den Sitz der wirtschaftlichen Tätigkeit hat. Liegt der Sitz im Drittland und hat die Vertreterin/der Vertreter eine Betriebsstätte in der EU, ist die Registrierung im Mitgliedstaat der Betriebsstätte vorzunehmen bzw. bei mehreren Betriebsstätten, im Betriebsstättenstaat ihrer/seiner Wahl. Drittlandsunternehmen können nicht IOSS-Vertreterin/Vertreter sein.

Registrierung in Österreich:

Schritt 1: Registrierungsantrag über FinanzOnline abschicken

Liegen die Voraussetzungen vor, kann eine Registrierung als IOSS-Vertreterin/Vertreter über FinanzOnline vorgenommen werden. Für die Registrierung ist eine österreichische UID-Nummer notwendig. Bei der Registrierung kann die IOSS-Vertreterin/der IOSS-Vertreter gleich die Importeurinnen/Importeure angeben, die vertreten werden. Eine Registrierung ist nur möglich, wenn zumindest eine Importeurin/ein Importeur angegeben wird.

Schritt 2: Vollmacht hinterlegen

Sobald der Registrierungsantrag abgeschickt wurde, kann die Vertreterin/der Vertreter die notwendige schriftliche Vollmacht beim zuständigen Finanzamt vorlegen. Für jede Importeurin/jeden Importeur ist eine eigene Vollmacht notwendig. Wirtschaftstreuhänderinnen/Wirtschaftstreuhänder, Rechtsanwältinnen/Rechtsanwälte und Notarinnen/Notare haben grundsätzlich keine Vollmacht beim Finanzamt vorzulegen.

Sobald das Finanzamt den Registrierungsantrag überprüft und genehmigt hat, werden die IOSS-Vertreterin/der IOSS-Vertreter sowie die vertretenen Importeurinnen/Importeure registriert. Die IOSS-Nummern der vertretenen Importeurinnen/Importeure werden der Vertreterin/dem Vertreter zugestellt. Wenn nach der Registrierung noch weitere Importeurinnen/Importeure im IOSS vertreten werden sollen, können diese im Unternehmensprofil direkt im IOSS hinzugefügt werden. Danach ist wiederum eine Vollmacht beim zuständigen Finanzamt nachzuweisen.

Erklärung und Zahlung

Die Erklärung und Zahlung der Umsatzsteuer erfolgt durch die IOSS-Vertreterin/den IOSS-Vertreter. Für jede Importeurin/jeden Importeur ist eine eigene Erklärung und Zahlung vorzunehmen.

Beendigung und Ausschluss

Die IOSS-Vertreterin/der IOSS-Vertreter kann die Teilnahme der Importeurinnen/Importeure am IOSS bzw. ihre/seine eigene Teilnahme jederzeit direkt im IOSS beenden. Beendet eine IOSS-Vertreterin/ein IOSS-Vertreter die Teilnahme am IOSS oder wird ausgeschlossen, erfolgt ein automatischer Ausschluss der Importeurinnen/Importeure. Wird die IOSS-Erklärung für eine Importeurin/einen Importeur wiederholt nicht abgegeben oder die Umsatzsteuer wiederholt nicht entrichtet, ist dies der IOSS-Vertreterin/dem IOSS-Vertreter zuzurechnen. Dies kann zu einer Sperrfrist von zwei Jahren für die IOSS-Vertreterin/den IOSS-Vertreter führen.

Wenn eine IOSS-Vertreterin/ein IOSS-Vertreter für sechs aufeinanderfolgende Monate keine Importeurinnen/Importeure im IOSS vertritt, erfolgt ein automatischer Ausschluss.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 23. Februar 2021

Für den Inhalt verantwortlich: Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Bewerten Sie diese Seite und geben Sie uns Tipps, wie wir sie noch besser gestalten können.